We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Botanic wonder, gastronomic delight and sensory feast”
Review of Mas Provencal

Mas Provencal
Ranked #23 of 39 Restaurants in Eze
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Brisbane
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Botanic wonder, gastronomic delight and sensory feast”
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We had visited Eze before and thought the best eateries were in the old town with its spectacular views. Little did we know what lay just 200 metres up the road from the old town car park.
We were taken for dinner at a surprise location. All we were told was that everything was real!
I can only describe the restaurant as a magical secret garden! As we entered through the doorway of Restaurant Mas Provençal, it was like going through the wardrobe into Narnia or falling down the rabbit hole like Alice! The ceiling groaned with orchids, ferns and edible treats such as bunches of grapes, sprays of cherry tomatoes and flowers with dates nestled in their folds! Each table was adorned with decorative arrangements of raw vegetables that became the crudités to eat with a variety of dips and canapés! A huge wheel of Parmesan was used to serve and flavor a delectable risotto for entree, a succulent rack of lamb for the main and a mouth puckering tarte tatin for desert accompanied by some memorable reds added to the sheer splendor of the surroundings! A gastronomic and sensory feast! Une experience spectaculiere!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daniel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    25
    8
    10
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Out of this world dining experience - unforgettable.”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We just happened to dine here as we were staying across the road for a night. We were tired and decided to go across even though it looked expensive - and it was but it was certainly worth it. The surroundings are like nothing i've ever seen before, like a magical bower filled with flowers and colour and delightful finishes everywhere. The food was magnificent - lots of little appetisers, wonderful lamb and pork, and just so beautifully presented. We were dressed a little too casually, but nevertheless by the end of the night were made to feel very special - with a little help from our waiter who had worked in Sydney some years back. For me it was the very essence of Eze and was a truly amazing and unforgettable experience.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kibrannan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A fairytale dining experience”
Reviewed July 14, 2012

It's not often you come across a truly unique restaurant, but Mas Provencal is just that. The owner spends four hours every day decorating the interior with flowers, vines, fruit and branches to create an exotic floral wonderland. This extraordinary environment is complemented by two wonderful musicians, friendly staff, and lovely food - particularly the risotto which is served hot from a round of reggiano parmesan cheese. This was truly a once in a lifetime experience that I cannot recommend highly enough.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaco-Ville, Monaco
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Will go again”
Reviewed June 16, 2012

We had hired a yacht for the week and we were looking for somewhere to take some Russian friends.
We listened to the local radio in English ans an ad came on with some Russian on it. The ad made the place sound great. They said bring a camera so we did. The welcome was nice. We were a party of 8.

The service is like a show. The setting was wonderful. The singer was poor but got better the more we drank!
You need to see the place. We looked at radio station riviera radio for the pictures and more information. It was very helpful

The food was very good. We liked the risotto and the sliced beef.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
142 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Flower day 2012”
Reviewed May 4, 2012

One of those memorable places. Expensive but how often are you going to be in Eze for dinner?
The risotto was superb,roasted meats tasty. Probably even more impressive during the day

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mas Provencal also viewed

Eze, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Eze, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Eze, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Eze, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Eze, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Eze, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Mas Provencal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing