We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good stylish restaurant in heart of Cannes” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Cave

La Cave
Ranked #49 of 768 Restaurants in Cannes
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $27 - $77
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Warsaw
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good stylish restaurant in heart of Cannes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Great food, especially seafoof & fishes! Bustling atmosphere. Reservation needed. It's easy to find, in the city centre, close to the Palais. The portions are satisfaying so value for money

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ola K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    89
    23
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boracay, Philippines
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“When in Cannes...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

My wife and I had dinner at La Cave on April 8, 13, and 15. 'nuff said.
Since we were only two we would show up and try our luck with no reservations. Alain always accommodated us except for one time where he couldn't do anything since they were packed. But he was kind enough to personally escort us to Bivi which turned out to be an excellent surprise.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Migueling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Typically French”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Excellent food with a wde and varied menu, extensive al a carte and a 34 euro 3 course menu. Dined there 4 nights as it was so good - if you want french food thia is the place

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Roger539
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very French”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

This was recommended by the Concierge at our hotel and we did enjoy it. The tables are very close to each other but the food was delicious and they have a daily table d'hote menu at a very reasonable price...right in the centre off rue d"Antibes and an easy walk if you are staying in town.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank 19Maxine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
159 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Tried again and disappointed again”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

This was our fourth visit to this cosy little French restaurant but probably won't go again, the service is a bit arrogant, the menu selection is limited, and the specials are not that special. On each occasion we have found the tables to be far too close together for comfort, they have just crammed in too many tables, it's very claustrophobic. In fairness they have now redecorated and upgraded the 'facilities' but I still can't find the same words of praise I had on the first experience? The entrecote steak, like, so any times in France was pitifully undercooked, I had requested 'a point' but got 'saignant', not good enough. I always try to speak French, but feel irritated when I go to a shop or restaurant and get a 'free enforced French lesson' ! Get over it, at least I try! The wine list is superb, however, extensive and expensive, but nevertheless some good choices. For the food, I am still amazed that the French consistently overcook vegetables, and even more amazed by the lack of choice of good vegetables. The complimentary Grappa offered at the end of the meal is horrid, poor quality and not at all in line with the high standard they are trying to achieve with their wine list, it really does leave a bad taste in the mouth. If you are looking for a cosy private dinner find somewhere bigger, so that you can talk without being overheard, even if it is a different language!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Magnums2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cave also viewed

Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to La Cave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing