We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food but they didn't honour our reservation”
Review of La Mere Besson

La Mere Besson
Ranked #231 of 833 Restaurants in Cannes
Price range: $35 - $59
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
toronto
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“good food but they didn't honour our reservation”
Reviewed March 6, 2012

We ate at this restaurant once and it was very good food if a bit pricey. We had reserved it for two evenings during the same trade show and I confirmed the reservations twice. The second night we arrived with our guests and were told that they did not have a reservation for us, when I had confirmed it 4 days beforehand. I can only surmise they got a better offer for our table and gave it away despite us being 10 minutes early. It was quite embarrassing with our clients and they were not the least bit apologetic. So keep that in mind if you are entertaining.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank canadiancaroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    35
    12
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“A fabulous New Year's Eve dinner”
Reviewed January 13, 2012

We had been to this restaurant a few times over 10 years ago. It is still a great find and not as pricey as others in the area. Our dinner was delicious, foie gras, lobster and champagne which is the norm for St Sylvester

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Baltzan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very lovely restaurant with excellent food!”
Reviewed July 5, 2011

I started with the fish soup and it was so delicious, especially with the do it yourself croutons with homemade aoli. YUM! My husband started with sardines that he also enjoyed. I followed with local monk fish, also delicious. My husband had the delicious seafood gratin. He had the prunes for dessert and loved them too. A very lovely way to end our stay in Cannes. Would definitely go back!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank laurirosenthal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great unfussy local restaurant”
Reviewed October 4, 2010

Loved this restaurant. The food was very good but the service is wonderful, very helpful when choosing wine and food and also loved the unfussy nature - the main attraction is sitting down to cnjoy a meal and wine. I had foie gras and rack of lamb and both were very good and desserts where great and would definitely go back when in cannes.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Argie73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, UK
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“If you want authentic french food with friendly service, then eat here!”
Reviewed July 8, 2010

We at at this restaurant twice on our recent visit to Cannes and each time the food was lovely. the baby chicken with mushrooms was some of the best food I have had in ages. The staff are very friendly and really make you feel at home. It is a family run restaurant and feels very homely and very french. All in all, a great place to get a real taste of the real Cote d'Azur.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank shughesnerys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Mere Besson also viewed

Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to La Mere Besson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing