We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
robert h
Morristown, New Jersey

Excellent experience for three nights

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Nov 10, 2017
This hotel accomplished all the tasks you would expect. Pleasant staff, varied breakfast buffet, clean rooms, quality bedding and our room was very quiet. Situated just a few streets from the harbor all the shops and restaurants with one draw back. Crossing Gare de Cannes is a bit of a dash. There must be five good sized streets merging at this intersection so crossing is done in stages. Those with limited mobility will have to push to make it from station to station as you cross. Once across the wonderful coast is there to enjoy.
Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HansSeelmayer, Directeur général at Montaigne Hotel & Spa, responded to this review
Responded Dec 5, 2017
Dear Robert
Many thanks for your notes. We hope that we’ll have the opportunity to welcome you again.
Best regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
$642
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $640
  • Lol.travel
    $542
  • Hotels.com
    $640
0.3 miles from Montaigne Hotel & Spa
Free Wifi
Beachfront
$355
$322
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
    $323
  • Expedia.com
    $322
0.5 miles from Montaigne Hotel & Spa
Free Wifi
Pool
$131
$119
  • Hotels.com
    $131
  • Expedia.com
    $131
  • Priceline
0.8 miles from Montaigne Hotel & Spa
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $136
  • ZenHotels.com
    $117
  • Priceline
0.4 miles from Montaigne Hotel & Spa
Free Wifi
Room service
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $330
  • ZenHotels.com
    $288
  • Expedia.com
    $329
0.3 miles from Montaigne Hotel & Spa
Free Wifi
Beachfront
Photo de la façade de la villa à cannes
  • Expedia.com
    $180
  • Agoda.com
    $146
  • Hotels.com
    $180
0.4 miles from Montaigne Hotel & Spa
Free Wifi
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $137
  • ZenHotels.com
    $104
  • Expedia.com
    $137
0.6 miles from Montaigne Hotel & Spa
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $337
  • Lol.travel
    $248
  • Expedia.com
    $297
0.2 miles from Montaigne Hotel & Spa
Free Wifi
Le Grand Jardin Carlton Cannes
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $745
  • Expedia.com
    $831
0.6 miles from Montaigne Hotel & Spa
Pool
Beachfront
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $588
  • Hyatt.com
    $547
  • Expedia.com
    $586
0.8 miles from Montaigne Hotel & Spa
Free Wifi
Beachfront
View more hotels in Cannes
Reviews (874)
Filter reviews
874 results
Traveler rating
317
311
137
59
50
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
317
311
137
59
50
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 874 reviews
Reviewed November 8, 2017

This hotel is just off the beaten path within walking distance of the train and bus stops. We arrived by bus from the Nice airport and easily made our way there. The hotel offers a bar and restaurant with English speaking staff. Dinner in the restaurant was quite good.

Room tip: No views but quiet throughout
Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Licia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HansSeelmayer, Directeur général at Montaigne Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2017

Dear Licia

We are glad to read that you liked our establishment. Regarding the view it remains independent of our good will.
We hope that you will choose us one more time for your next stay in Cannes.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2017 via mobile

If you visite Cannes between March and Oktober you want to see things and stay outside most of the day. You need a Hotel in a walking distance to all important locations. This is wht you get here. What you expect from your hotel is a clean room, warm shower in a modern bathroom, a clean, big enough, and high quality bed, and a breakfast with a choice of things.
All this is what you get here.
First of all it is clean everywhere. Bathroom Bedroom...
Secondly rooms to be backside are quiet and dark. Beds are perfect for a good nights sleep.
Thirdly Breakfast os ok. Small selection of teas, different coffees, breads incl. Baguette and Croissents. Eggs, and all the things you expect in an middle class Hotel.
What you do not realy need on your City-Trip is Pool, and Sauna. It is fairly new, but small pool, and Steam-Sauna with little steam. It was to small for the hotel, to many people inside so we did not use ist second time. Better park your car in the nearby public St. Nicolas garage. It is cheaper 5 min away.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank t-gilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HansSeelmayer, Directeur général at Montaigne Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2017

Dear Tgilli

Many thanks for all your appreciations, they are our best rewards! We hope that we will have the chance to welcome you for your next stay in Cannes
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2017 via mobile

We have just stayed here for 7 nights. The staff are pleasant and attentive while the hotel is situated in a quiet location about a 10 minute walk from both the promenade and the old town. The rooms are a good size and are very well maintained and spotless. We were very pleased with this quiet 4 star reasonably priced hotel.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank BandH77
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HansSeelmayer, Directeur général at Montaigne Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2017

Dear BandH77

Thank you very much for leaving your feedback. Your satisfaction is our best result.
We hope to welcome you for your next stay in Cannes
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2017 via mobile

The Montaigne Hotel and Spa was an excellent place to stay on our recent trip to the South of France. Travelling with a seven month old baby was always going to be different from what we were used to but the staff at the hotel couldn't have been more accommodating. The cot was ready in our lovely room, with towels and a tiny bear for our baby. The staff on the reception desk assisted us with all of our needs and the valet parking man (sorry, I can't remember your name) was fantastic. He spoke excellent English (thankfully he didn't have to endure my poor French)
Excellent all round. Thank you

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank azureblue3
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HansSeelmayer, Directeur général at Montaigne Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2017

Dear AzurBlue3

It is such a pleasure for us to read your comment and we really thank you for sharing it. Our best reward is your satisfaction and we will be glad to organise your future stay in Cannes.
Do not hesitate to contact us directly for your booking.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2017

Lovely hotel, well positioned about 10 mins walk from the sea front. The rooms were clean, comfortable and well equipped (safe, fridge, kettle, free WiFi etc.). As can be expected in Cannes, the prices for drinks were high (10 Euros for a small beer) so we didn't drink there much. The buffet breakfast was fine. We didn't use the spa or swimming pool. If the pool had been an outdoor pool we probably would have used it. Only problem we had was our room keys that seemed to need programming every day. i felt a bit frustrated when i was told that our cards were for another room and that we both must have picked up someone elses room key, even though it had worked (albeit briefly) earlier that day.

Room tip: We were in an odd number room on 5th floor with a view of a small building site
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank X2474GYchrist
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HansSeelmayer, Directeur général at Montaigne Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2017

Dear Chris
Thank you for sharing your experience .We will be very glad to have the chance to welcome you again and win you entire satisfaction
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews