We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, great position & great host.”
Review of Chanteclair

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chanteclair
Ranked #64 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Ring the bell on the street. The door opens, you walk down a small corridor and a lovely traditional French hotel is revealed the other side of the courtyard. Our room was on the 3rd floor up a circular narrow staircase. Our room was fairly small with a shower cubicle and sink. We had a shared toilet along the corridor which wasn't a problem. Never met another guest along the landing. No air con as we new but a large fan was provided so I didn't need to take mine. A little noise from other properties nearby which woke me up. Lovely breakfast in the courtyard served by our lovely host. Fantastic location. Would visit again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jben18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (148)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 148 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2013

We have just spend 6 days/nights in Cannes, in a small but tidy and very cosy room and we have enjoyed the quietness (less then 5 minutes from the beach and less then 2 minutes from Cannes' famous restaurant street), the great courtyard and the friendly staff and we can recommend you to try it. So if you want character and service in a great location, then choose Chanteclair. If you want airco, a large room and ditto breakfast buffet, then choose a mainstream hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrCamshron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights during July and it was great for what we needed. This hotel is in a perfect locaton, not even 5 minute walk from the Plalais in Cannes. The room is fairly small and our floor had a communal toilet (which was not an issue as all 6 of us where on the same floor) but it was exactly what we needed
Location is perfect, and the price is really cheap for the location.
It is also worth saying that Pascal is an awesome host - always willing to help and give you some advise on where to go. He also has a lovely friendly dog called Oscar who always wants to get involved and as a going away present we offered him our volleyball!
If you are conscious on our budget this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I stayed here for 1 night and I found the rooms to be very comfortable and clean. This place is perfectly suited to a budget conscious traveller whos priority is comfort and location rather than luxury. The room we stayed in was a twin and recently renovated. We wanted to stay longer but the place was booked out due to a festival. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Also my sister loved Oscar, the resident puppy

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Erics0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at the hotell in a room for three. The room was clean the bed was comfortable but the room was very small.
The location is execellent close to restaurants, shops, Forville market and the harbour. A very quiet area with a peaceful large circular courtyard were breakfast is served.
This is far from a luxury hotel BUT the host (and his cute dog), location and the peaceful courtyard does it all!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pascal F, Manager at Chanteclair, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Dear guest.

Thank you so much for taking time to review the hotel and thank you for your review. I am happy that you had a nice time hear and I hope to see you again next time you are in Cannes. So do Oscar (the dog)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

The room in this hotel was very small but did have old world charm ,had a nice feel to it .Backstreet location but near to everything ,great for the posh shops and the old town with its numerous restaurants .Most of all I would like to say the owner was a really top bloke ,went out of his way to find us umbrellas when it was raining hard and was so happy for us when the sun came out ,which according to the local weather forecast wasnt meant to happen .Yes he made us feel really welcome..

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steve c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pascal F, General Manager at Chanteclair, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Dear guest

Thank you for taking time to review the hotel and thank you for your pleasant review. I am happy that I could make you feel welcome and that you had a nice time despite the weather. I do hope to see you again next time you will visit Cannes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

There is nothing special about this hotel but it comes with a very friendly host and the location is in a calm setting with a nice terrace. It's next to some nice restaurants and it's about a 7 minute walk to the Palais. You don't get luxury but the price is very affordable especially during the markets.

Room Tip: There are rooms that have a shower and WC and then there are others that have the WC outside (shared...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KJey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pascal F, Manager at Chanteclair, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2013

Dear guest

Thank you very much for taking time to review the hotel on Trip Advisor. I am happy that you liked the place and the location and I hope to see you next time in Cannes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cannes hotels
0.4 mi away
HOTEL P.L.M
HOTEL P.L.M
#83 of 126 in Cannes
66 reviews
2.5 mi away
Kyriad Cannes Ouest - Mandelieu
0.3 mi away
ResidHotel Les Coralynes
ResidHotel Les Coralynes
#95 of 126 in Cannes
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Abrial Cannes Centre
0.5 mi away
Hotel L'Esterel
Hotel L'Esterel
#63 of 126 in Cannes
256 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Budget Cannes Centre Ville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chanteclair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chanteclair

Address: 12 rue Forville, 06400 Cannes, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Cannes
#42 Romantic Hotel in Cannes
Price Range: $39 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Chanteclair 1.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Chanteclair reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chanteclair Hotel Cannes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing