We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great location, good enough prices but rooms are average.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chanteclair

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chanteclair
Ranked #58 of 130 Hotels in Cannes
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great location, good enough prices but rooms are average.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Really great location, good enough prices but the rooms are average. But for an economic travel in this region, there can't be better. And the owner Pascal: it was very kind of him. He's helped us as much as he could.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back side of the building are neighbour with other flats's residents; it's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yasintekin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    44
    20
    7
    3
See reviews for
8
55
21
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Hotel chanteclaire review

Really enjoyed my stay here. Location is a bit down from the harbour but you get a number of cafe's, and a market selling fruit nearby. Room was very clean and had towels etc which I wasn't expecting. The owner Pascal was a superb host, and did everything to make our stay more enjoyable. The courtyard outside was a dream and great to get away from the busy sections of Cannes. Would highly recommend. 

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Markallenmusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forkhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

I recently stayed at the Chanteclair during the MIDEM conference in Cannes. In terms of convenience the Chanteclair is an excellent option as it is roughly a five minute walk to e Palais de Festivals and the Suquet area in which it is located is full of restaurants. The hotel is tucked away in a private courtyard and there are no issues with noise. The rooms are basic but well presented and scrupulously clean. Breakfast, which is not included in the basic price but costs 7 euro extra, features as much freshly brewed coffee as you want, croissant and bread which you can have served with homemade marmalade am de by Pascal, the owner. Wifi is free, fast, and trouble free. All in all this hotel represents fantastic value and seems to value its customers. I would recommend it without hesitation.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

I stayed at the hotel whilst attending the MIDEM conference in Cannes. The location is excellent, just five minutes walk from the casino and marina. It has a great courtyard which will be very nice come the summer. The hotel is basic but clean and Pascal the owner made us very welcome. Rooms were clean and quiet, and my room (No. 12) had been recently renovated to a good basic standard. Breakfast was a tasty good value continental style with fresh coffee and croissants and home made marmelade. As a good value base for a short stay in Cannes I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dewhura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
141 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

Lets start with the positive sides of this small hotel: the location is very convenient, in the heart of the town, next to Forville market and close to the port. The rooms are very quiet (no traffic noise), and there's a nice courtyard where breakfast is served.
The new owner (Danish) is currently renovating it, with some work being done this winter. It certainly needs to be refurbished (and here come the negative sides): there seems to be a hygiene problem, at least in room #1 (a single room with a 90 X 190 bed), as the stench from the plumbing is hardly bearable. I had to light incense sticks to cover the smell...
I also experienced bedbugs, so a real cleanup is definitely needed! Considering the inconveniences, it is overpriced. The breakfast at 7 Euros is very basic, I found better deals in cafés around Forville market. This hotel could be charming once renovated.

Room Tip: Avoid room # 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Divehigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pascal F, Owner at Chanteclair, responded to this review, January 25, 2012
First of all thank you for taking time to review the hotel. Second I am sorry that you did not find your stay pleasurable. The room has been totally renovated since your stay. We have build a separate bathroom, painted the room, changed the floor, all in all the room has been totally changed. I therefore hope that you will find the hotel much more pleasurable next time (if any) you will visit Cannes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

I have stayed in this small hotel on a number of occasions while buying an apartment in Le Suquet. It is quaint and requiring some upgrading which I understand the new owner of two months is intent on.
Nevertheless I would urge travellers to visit Le Chanteclair. It is the only old hotel within the walls of the old fortress town of Le Suquet. Tucked away in a pleasant little courtyard off Rue Forville within a stone's throw of the wonderful marche Forville, it is quiet and secure and the welcome is warm.
If you prefer starred accommodation, or ostentation then definitely head towards the Croisette. Le Suquet on the other hand has character, like Le Chanteclair.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank linanderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gronau, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

Well educated manager BUT the hotel is a dirty and old horror at a price for which you get in Cannes or somewhere else on the Côte d´Azur a double room in a confortable, clean 2 star Hotel with even a nice room decoration. It is a pity that the french administration tolerates such execesses in a country and a region the world is dreaming of...

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank francaisporsche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cannes hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Brimer
Hotel Brimer
#51 of 130 in Cannes
4.0 of 5 stars 96 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Couleurs du Sud
Hotel Couleurs du Sud
#65 of 130 in Cannes
4.0 of 5 stars 69 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel L'Esterel
Hotel L'Esterel
#68 of 130 in Cannes
3.5 of 5 stars 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Kyriad Cannes Ouest - Mandelieu
0.2 mi away
Hotel Chalet de l'Isere
Hotel Chalet de l'Isere
#41 of 130 in Cannes
4.5 of 5 stars 50 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alize Cannes
Hotel Alize Cannes
#50 of 130 in Cannes
4.5 of 5 stars 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chanteclair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chanteclair

Property: Chanteclair
Address: 12 rue Forville, 06400 Cannes, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Cannes
#42 Romantic Hotel in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Chanteclair reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chanteclair Hotel Cannes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing