We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Near to the shopping and beach area. Night parking just beside the hotel was free for the night.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel L'Esterel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel L'Esterel
Ranked #71 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Near to the shopping and beach area. Night parking just beside the hotel was free for the night.”
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Hotel was slightly difficult to locate but the location was great for its price and near to the shopping area/beachfront. Nothing much for food apart from 2-3 local cafes/restaurants around. Have to walk a distance to near the beachfront for more variety. The free parking in the night just beside the hotel was excellent, especially since parking rates in Cannes/Nice/Monaco is extremely expensive! Normal rates were 2-3 euros for 1-2 hrs and normally overnight rates are around 18 euros. Would be a choice hotel for those on a budget and driving. However, if you wish to enjoy the splendid view of Cannes beachfront and for the reason why celebs go there for holiday, choose a hotel facing the seafront. It's worth it!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jermiez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    98
    79
    17
    15
See reviews for
38
101
15
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

This hotel is basically what you can expect from a 2-star hotel.

There is nothing particularly wrong with it, but it's also nothing special. It's not in a very 'picturesque' area of Cannes. It's right beside the train station but that didn't matter for us since we were travelling by car It's not a far walk from the beach however. The good news is that there is a huge parking lot of several levels beside the train station where we were able to park our car. It's quite expensive to park it but there isn't really any other choice, and the good news is that the hotel gives you a stamp on your parking ticket that gets you a 10% discount. We arrived at around 7pm at night and left at 11:30am the next morning and I paid 17 euros for parking (after the 10% discount).

I can't comment on the breakfast as we went up to eat at 10:15am (thinking we were okay because the website said breakfast was until 11am), and we couldn't eat anymore - breakfast was over apparently. Kind of disappointed at that since there was a rooftop area to eat breakfast and then we had to try and find something in Cannes to eat.

Staff was friendly however. Small rooms but again, expected from a 2-star hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McGov2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke on Trent
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2012

Walk out of Cannes railway station and this hotel is facing you. Five minutes further and you're on the beach. Location is as good as it gets. Staff are really friendly and efficient. Rooms are on the small side but this is a city hotel and at least they are clean. The biggest bonus is the roof top breakfast room. There is not a large choice but you do get the traditional French breakfast and the fresh croissants are some of the best ever. The view though must be one of the best in Cannes with both roof tops and the sea. Next time we visit the area we will not even look for anywhere else to stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JK_LoveTravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stockholm
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2011

Clean hotel with a great location nearby the train staion and walk -distance to the beach. Not wonderful and the tipical bread + jam continental breakfast (not included in the price, 8 €) Very helpfull personnel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank czeu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2011

We stayed one night, but it's clean, cheap & friendly which was all you can ask for at a 2 star hotel at the price we paid.

Staff were friendly and recommended a great local restaurant that evening, close to the railway station and the shops.

Room Tip: avoid the rooms overlooking the gare.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harry95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel-Aviv
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2010

to start with the positive things: very nice dining room on the roof for breakfast with a lovely view, location very comfortable and close to everything in Cannes. perhaps on usual seasons its a nice value hotel but during high seasons and especially festivals the price soars and it's completely overpriced for the value. cleaning isn't so good, rooms are damp, furniture looks quite old and out of date and the hotel can use remodelling-renovation. the staff is very nice.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shaygi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cannes hotels

Farnham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2010

You get what you pay for - nice and cheap, but very simple and small room. Perfectly nice though, reasonably efficient staff (we failed to get towels two days running, but when we asked at reception they sorted it out straight away), room was clean and it's in a great location (literally opposite the station, five minute walk from the beach). Breakfast is a little expensive, but the 6th floor breakfats room overlooking Cannes is pretty impressive. If you want somewhere cheap in Cannes, and aren't worried about having any luxuries, this hotel is for you.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank animaniac90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cannes hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cannes Croisette
Hotel Cannes Croisette
#72 of 126 in Cannes
48 reviews
0.1 mi away
HOTEL P.L.M
HOTEL P.L.M
#74 of 126 in Cannes
49 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Budget Cannes Centre Ville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alize Cannes
Hotel Alize Cannes
#50 of 126 in Cannes
146 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Little Palace
Hotel Little Palace
#87 of 126 in Cannes
50 reviews
0.0 mi away
Amiraute
Amiraute
#70 of 126 in Cannes
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel L'Esterel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Esterel

Property: Hotel L'Esterel
Address: 15 rue du 24 Aout, 06400 Cannes, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel L'Esterel 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel L'Esterel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Esterel Hotel Cannes
Hotel l Esterel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing