We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Can't get over this place.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Esperanto

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Esperanto
Ranked #53 of 130 Hotels in Cannes
Paris, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Can't get over this place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Yes, its simple. Yes, its not in the thick of it. But who cares? The hotel is clean, cozy, and safe. Denis is incredibly nice. He makes you feel like you've known each other for years. We almost couldn't get a reservation this year because of the festival but he emailed us the second he had a cancellation to let us know that we'd be able to stay with them. Perfect! We've been two years in a row and we've stayed in two different rooms; both lovely. This last one (#7) was great with its little balcony. We'll never stay anywhere else in Cannes. Thank you thank you!

Room Tip: Room 7 has a cute little balcony with table and chairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bianca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    34
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
39
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Stayed 5 days for an event at the convention center. The walk is not that bad (about 10-12 min) but it started to wear on me the last 2 days. If you want to stay closer you're going to pay more so there's a tradeoff.

The hotel itself is very simple and clean. The manager and his staff are very kind and accomodating. We just expected somewhere closeby to set our things, shower, sleep a few hours and keep moving around the city. That's pretty much what we got. The rooms are updated (some more than others) and the noise from the street didnt bother me.

Breakfast was 8 Euros but i prepaid it and i was glad to have some fresh bread, cheeses, nutella, cereal, juice and coffee every morning.

Overall a very positive experience!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cueball123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

For me, the hotel keeper Mr Denis is one of a kind. He was absolutely great and very helpful with everything, telling us what to see, where to go, stories about the city, etc. etc.
I believe that staying in this hotel made our stay in Cannes much more enjoyable.
The hotel is very cozy and clean.
Breakfast is very nice, sweet pastries, cereal, cheese, coffe, tea, orange juice, server by the hotel keeper himself.
Not even 10 minutes to walk to the La Croisette.
I absolutely recommend Hotel Esperanto to anyone who does not require a luxury five-star hotel. You will surely enjoy your stay here.

Room Tip: Room no. 2 has a large balcony overlooking the courtyard. Room no. 3 has only 2 beds, larger bathro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CoobaCZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vineland, Canada
Level Contributor
129 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

I have been going to the MIPCOM conference in Cannes for many years now. 5 or 6 years back, I managed to get booked into Hotel Esperanto and have stayed every year since. It feels like my home in Cannes. I love my comfortable room and my little balcony. It is only about a 10 minute walk to the Palais and the water. The train station is even closer. Shopping, everything is not far at all. Denis (the proprietor) is very welcoming and a joy to chat with. It is a clean, cozy, family run hotel in a quiet but central neighbourhood.

Room Tip: Some rooms have nice balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScubagirlToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courbevoie, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

We stayed 2 nights and the staff has been great. Very helpful when we checked in. Plus I called to ask if we could check in early, 11am, because we needed to leave our stuff somewhere and they made it happen. We had a parking spot which was really convenient because leaving your rental car in the street is a pain in Cannes. It is also very well located, 5min from the center of Cannes, 7-8 min from the beach (walking). Room was cleaned and furnitures in good shape. AC in the room very easy to control and effective. No noise from the street when window is closed. I lived 18 years in Cannes and I'm really glad that I have found this hotel for my vacations now that I live in Paris! Thank you again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank s7lopez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

We stayed at Esperanto in April 2011. The staff greeted us like we were family, they spent good 30 minutes telling us about all the best places to eat and see. The room was very clean and modern. Comfortable bed, large bathroom. We had the cutest little balcony with 2 chairs and a table. Everything is within 10 min walk. Very quiet neighborhood, parking right in front of the hotel. The hotel entry door can be unlocked only with a code, it stays locked 24/7, which made us feel very safe. We absolutely loved our stay. We will be back for sure.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FellowTraveler78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

The hotel is located in a very convenient area about 15 minutes walk to the center. It is a family runned hotel and the owner was kind and helpful at all times. As soon as we got to the hotel he gave us information about the city and we really felt like home. The facility has also a private parking place which is definetly a plus if you wanna stay in Cannes. We drove to so many locations including Nice, St. Tropez, Monaco. Simply Cannes by itself is a very good location to see all these cities around. Again we would like to thank to all Esperanto staff. I would definetly recommend this hotel to all travellers who wanna visit Cannes.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bosa1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cannes hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alnea
Hotel Alnea
#33 of 130 in Cannes
4.5 of 5 stars 139 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Lutetia
Hotel Lutetia
#77 of 130 in Cannes
4.5 of 5 stars 74 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Couleurs du Sud
Hotel Couleurs du Sud
#62 of 130 in Cannes
4.0 of 5 stars 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Chalet de l'Isere
Hotel Chalet de l'Isere
#42 of 130 in Cannes
4.5 of 5 stars 49 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alize Cannes
Hotel Alize Cannes
#54 of 130 in Cannes
4.5 of 5 stars 140 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Athenee Cannes
Hotel Athenee Cannes
#41 of 130 in Cannes
4.5 of 5 stars 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Esperanto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Esperanto

Property: Hotel Esperanto
Address: 26 av Jean de Lattre de Tassigny, 06400 Cannes, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 130 Hotels in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Esperanto 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Esperanto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing