We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok- but could have been better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Cannes Croisette Beach
Ranked #31 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
staffordshire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“ok- but could have been better”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 3 days. The hotel is well situated and the lobby well laid out. the staff were very friendly and all round offered a good service. now for the points which i didn't find too good. The pool is very small and can only fit a handful of people round. for most of the day it is totally in the shade ( is surrounded by a lot of foliage) which adds to its shaded position. The pool is on two levels with no indication. so there is a sudden drop down to a change in depth. not ideal. the hotel has a section on the beach for its guests which have to be booked in advance at a cost of €24 per day. you can walk for a short distance up the road and go on the public beach but you need to take your own umbrella for shade. umbrellas can be bought for €18.

i am not claustrophobic- but the lifts are incredibly small and make you feel penned in. you also need to use your room card to activate the lift to go up (but not down). suggest you use the stairs if you don't like enclosed spaces but the stairs except one floor are the service stairs

The staff at breakfast were attentive and offered a good service but the breakfast is poor. its ok if you are after cold food - rolls, yoghurts, fruit etc. they do offer a "hot" breakfast consisting of eggs, crispy bacon and insipid sausages but all this was COLD. When i tried to point out that the food was cold despite being on a heated tray the staff member looked bemused and started checking the plug. We thought that this might be a one off but alas it was not- every day the breakfast was barely warm.

The rooms were ok and had a well stocked fridge - but have a drink from it if you don't mind the price you will pay!

All in all had expected something better from a 4 star hotel in Cannes.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vercol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    211
    88
    12
    16
See reviews for
85
212
18
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Great Neck, NY
Level 6 Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

You can spend a lot more money but you can't find any place nicer than Hotel Croisette Beach. We have stayed here regularly for many years and the hotel just gets better and better. Rooms not large by American standards. Floors 4-6 have renovated rooms. Get a room facing main street (like 407, 507). Comfortable beds, hardwood floor, nice balcony, good lighting and amenities. New bathrooms are terrific! Breakfast is a treat and the staff is most helpful. Hotel's beach is small but staff take good care of you and the restaurant is fine. Michel Chevillon and his "team" are the best in town!

Room Tip: Upper floor, facing rue de Canada with balcony and partial sea-view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunnyshel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We had a nice stay at the hotel which is in a good location in Cannes approximately 100 yards from the main sea front and the place to be in Cannes. The staff where very friendly and the pool was welcome after a long days travelling. As if typical in France the rooms where sparse and relatively small but they were clean and we had a quite nights sleep.

There are a number of restaurants nearby at a range of prices. We had dinner on the seafront and breakfast in a cafe around the corner from the hotel. Both provided a lovely meal and friendly service.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Psherman123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

we went to Cannes as a group of 10 and found this place to be very efficient.
it is cozy, close to everything and the people there don't hesitate for a second to help .
the rooms are not extremely spacious but that is the case in most of Europe ,so it wasn't exactly a surprise to have the rooms pretty small surprise.
the Hotel was very accommodating to us considering we where a big group with 4 rental cars.

in general its a great hotel if you dont want to spend too much money .

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nouhad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

bar staff sooo rude that I had to report him to the reception who could not have cared less.Breakfast at 20€ each was an insult, we only ate once. Bar always empty because of the outrageous prices [15€ for a single bacardi without coke, ice and lemon] Private beach excellant.

Room Tip: superior room with balcony garden side 5th floor best value. don't eat at the hotel
See more room tips
Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CROISETTEBEACH, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Cannes Croisette Beach, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Dear Stephen H,

First of all we would like to thank you for sharing you comments after your recent stay at the Hotel Croisette Beach in Cannes.
We are glad to read that you have enjoyed your time on our private beach.
Please be assured that the hotel management is aware about the inconvenience have experienced in our hotel bar.
However we think, that taking off your bill all bar and meal charges from that night was the best compensation we could offer to you.
Furthermore this decision was taken by our reception manager, after you had spoken to several members of her staff about this matter.
So once again please accept our sincere apologies from the management and all our staff.

Yours sincerely,
Nadine André
Guest relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

This is a good value four star hotel. Our room was comfortable and adequate with a superb new bathroom and a balcony with a table and two chairs which was a real suntrap in the late afternoon. Breakfast was to a high standard with plenty of choice. Small hotel garden was good for sitting out. Bad points were a very small swimming pool (and half of it was too shallow to swim in anyway) and the high cost of food and drinks. Nice bar area was always empty.

Room Tip: Go for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnCSMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Michel Chevillon & his deputy Stefenie Grimaud head a strong team of helpful & friendly staff Uyen is especialy friendly in the breakfast room with her cheerful smile & excellent english. After 15 years we have found some minor cutbacks but this has probably been to keep the prices Position is excellent with its own private beach on the croisette originally the project of Mr Passion. It isn,t cheap but has very good facilities with helpful Nadine & this year David. Rooms clean & large beds very comfortable. The only suggestion would be a weather forcast displayed at reception but i suppose this is Cannes where the weather is always good!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Have a balcony at a supplement However we like the sun others may not like this
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slimtinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cannes hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Canberra
Hotel Le Canberra
#8 of 126 in Cannes
638 reviews
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott Cannes
JW Marriott Cannes
#14 of 126 in Cannes
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Clarion Suites Cannes Croisette
0.1 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#6 of 126 in Cannes
175 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Cannes Croisette Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Cannes Croisette Beach

Property: Mercure Cannes Croisette Beach
Address: 13 rue du Canada, 06400 Cannes, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Cannes
#27 Luxury Hotel in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Cannes Croisette Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel offering 94 rooms in the centre of town, moments away from La Croisette and Rue Antibes, the main shopping street with its luxury boutiques. With its discreet charm and modern comfort, the hotel features an outdoor swimming pool, sun lounges on a flower filled patio bar, a bar, private beach and secure parking with valet service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Cannes Croisette Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Mercure Croisette Beach
Grand Hotel Accor Croisette Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing