We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic little place in the heart of Cannes”
Review of La Meissouniere

La Meissouniere
Ranked #20 of 821 Restaurants in Cannes
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $39
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
76 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Fantastic little place in the heart of Cannes”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We found this place through TA and were not disappointed. We ordered the foie gras tagliatelle, scallops and veal (which was not on the menu), the deserts are also to die for. Plus, the place is right in the heart of Cannes, conveniently located from train station.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mikey23man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    242
    100
    27
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Walldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
507 reviews
494 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Typically French - nice dinner”
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

French food has a special reputation, and here you get it the classic way. Sitting on the terrace, service recommending a sweet Muscat with the foie gras (not on the menu) and happy about us ordering the cote de beouf as a main (rare). Not high cuisine, just very nice bistrot dining.
Like!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank dkbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
128 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Deliciously perfect”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

La Meissouniere was recommended by a friend. And he was totally right about it.
Home made cuisine, fresh ingredients, delicious food. And to top all that, very reasonable prices! €18 for a starter and a main dish!
The service is very friendly. I had the marinated salmon as a starter, it's yummy!
When in Cannes, a meal at La meissouniere is a must :)

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RanaC18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We ended up dining here twice during our five day stay in Cannes. The food was wonderful and the staff very friendly. Our favorites included the Tartare de Saumon, the Pièce du Boucher, and the Magret de Canard. Every dish we had was perfectly cooked, each main comes with several great sides, and the presentation is excellent. We arrived early (by European standards) both times and the place was nearly empty, however, even by the time we left there were plenty of tables so I would guess that reservations are not necessary. Don't be turned off by the less than scenic location (it is near the train station and across the street from a Chinese takeout), La Meissouniere will not disappoint!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jlue05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Yummy..”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We had our dinner at La Meisoouniere as it has really good rating on Tripadvisor, and it definitely live up to its name! The staff were very friendly and the food was delicious.

I ordered the foie gras and it was served with a toasted bread, the foie gras was delicious and even the bread was perfectly toasted.. I ordered a Magret de Canard.. It was super yummy! The special sauce was delicious, the meat was tender and the skin was crispy.. It was so good that we went back to have our lunch the next day. Oh, they have lunch set menu and I think the lunch menu was very worth it..

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sherryjia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Meissouniere also viewed

Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to La Meissouniere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing