We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience - Hooray to the young new (girl) chef !”
Review of La Meissouniere

La Meissouniere
Ranked #20 of 826 Restaurants in Cannes
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $41
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Laguna Beach, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great experience - Hooray to the young new (girl) chef !”
Reviewed September 29, 2011

I was in Cannes on a trip with friends, and spent a delightful evening at the New Monaco.
The new chef, Claire, came to greet us at the end of our dinner, which was really nice.

Food is excellent, a lot of attention is paid to the details, everything fresh from the day, well presented, and for a great price. Desserts are impeccable, I recommend the panacotta with strawberries and mango, sooooo good ! Large choice of wine at decent prices.
Service is very nice too (which is not so usual on the French Riviera...), the new chef is being helped by some members of her family, which gives a nice atmosphere to the place. The waiter is very pleasant too.

It is kind of unusual to see such a young women being chef, and she deserves all the support we can give her, as her work is great ! I totally recommand this restaurant for great food at a good price.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Tracy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    249
    100
    27
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cannes
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“New owners, a lot to live up to but a good start.......”
Reviewed September 28, 2011

Phiippe and Délia have sold the restaurant and it re-opened in mid September, again under family ownership. Prices of the "formules", wines etc have remained the same. The welcome offered is friendly, service efficient and attentive. The menu continues to be a bit more inventive than those of the majority of other retaurants competing at the same price level (€14,50 for a main course and sweet). The food is well cooked and presented with (as before) more attention given to the vegetables than elsewhere. The sweet menu, however, lacks the various fruit tarts, crumbles etc which were a highlight of Philippe's menus but is still quite acceptable. Regulars will inevitably make comparisons of what has been lost but there are signs of serious efforts being made to provide decent food at a good price. This restaurant continues to merit support.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank michaelr06400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A splendid experience”
Reviewed August 6, 2011

Just go out of the restaurant after trying it from tripadvisor review, it's a wonderful place, speak English very well even have an English menu, very friendly and the food was better than average.. I ordered black spegatti with calamari in curry sauce.. Was great..

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Donahdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
france
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“wonderful food and very friendly”
Reviewed July 2, 2011

My husband and I go this little bistro near the station very often. We bring friends as well.
We all find this restaurant very good. The menu changes all the time.Here they serve your fish or meat with fresh vegetables. Very friendly!!
The lunch menu for 13 euro is fantastic. (main course and desert)

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FranceMartine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london england
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“high standards maintained”
Reviewed June 18, 2011

Maril & I have a huge choice of fine restaurants in Cannes & never enough time to visit our established favourites but we never miss out on this super quality establishment (now called le New Monaco)Delia & Phillipe provide a superb evening in the friendliest of atmospheres and have done so for the past 9 years or so. We had the 25.50 Euro menu and selection is so difficult because not only do we know it sounds good but the grub provided is of a very high standard. and it is such a nice feeling coming out of a restaurant that lives up to one`s expectations & le Monaco never fails.Hope to see you again asap Delia & Philiipe from Maril & Brian Silverstone of London

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank marilBRIAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Meissouniere also viewed

Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to La Meissouniere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing