We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my most favourite places in the world!”

Ile Sainte-Marguerite
Book In Advance
More Info
$15.70*
and up
Ile Sainte-Marguerite Independent Day Trip from Cannes by Ferry
Ranked #4 of 93 things to do in Cannes
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Nice, France
Level Contributor
72 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“One of my most favourite places in the world!”
Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

I go here quite often with my husband and our dog and when our family come over to visit we love to bring them here too. I really love this place, the views are amazing and there are loads of picnic benches to eat at or there are 2 restaurants on the island (1 is very expensive the other is more relaxed but can be very busy in peak season) but I love taking a picnic. It's the best place to take your dog as there are no cars on the island (except the odd truck to maintain the forest) so the dogs can run off lead smelling all of the scents left from all of the animals of the island. It is so untouched and natural. We get the ferry from Golfe Juan but you can also get the ferry from Juan les pins. The Ferries are regular to the island too. It really is an amazing place to visit with lots of history and beauty.

Helpful?
2 Thank Joanna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    522
    286
    68
    16
    13
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Greater Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3,364 reviews
2,191 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 664 helpful votes
“Interresting History”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

This was quite under developed and left as it was apart from the museum which was well done. Perhaps a little more detail of the history around the grounds would have added to the value of the visit but overall quite interesting but not outstanding

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Oldjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Island with a view”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

This island is worth a visit even just for the boat ride over, which is really short actually. The island itself is very interesting with museum, old prison (where the man in the iron mask was housed) and lots of interesting things to see. There are also shops and restaurants and this island is buzzing. Scenically it's gorgeous and the views are very special. It's really a must and so incredibly easy to access from the Croisette in Cannes. Just walk over to the ferry and hop on. The tourism office at the Palais du Festival has all the info you need. The island is a lovely escape from the bustling madness of Cannes.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank AnneVanRensburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannes, France
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely nature”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

10 minutes boat from Cannes town center ! and you are in a natural paradise of trees, flowers and birds ^^ Amazing 14th century forteress with jails open ti public to visit...and the on eof the very famous prisoner "Masque de fer" (man with iron mask)...visit also "musée de la mer" to know better that small island (3,5 kms x 1,5 kms) occupied from the greks ! potteries and other maps to know better history of the place ! and lovely promenade and small "criques" "flat rocks) along the coast (possibility to make all the tour of the island walking). Unforgettable island so close and so far away from "crazy" film festival of cannes ^^

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Esteban06_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anlaby, Hull
Level Contributor
177 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“lovely day out”
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Short boat trip to a lovely island with bird reserve and despite the huge numbers that are on the boats it's not crowded when you get there, everyone just goes there own way. Lots take picnics and you can just watch the world go by as Cannes winds up to the film festival across the water from you.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank mcleodalimc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ile Sainte-Marguerite also viewed

Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Ile Sainte-Marguerite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing