We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“An enjoyable day spent on an island just 15 minutes away from Cannes” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ile Sainte-Marguerite

Ile Sainte-Marguerite
Book In Advance
$15*
and up
Ile Sainte-Marguerite Independent Day Trip from Cannes by Ferry
Ranked #4 of 90 things to do in Cannes
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
UK
Level Contributor
83 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“An enjoyable day spent on an island just 15 minutes away from Cannes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

You can get a boat crossing for around 12 euro return. We went mid-morning and left at 4pm. Crossing takes about 15 minutes, boats are around 30 minutes apart (except for lunchtime make sure you pick up a timetable)
There are some lovely wooded walks amongst the pines and eucalyptus trees. The Island is around 8km to walk around. You can take a short cut and just do various smaller bits if you prefer. There were some lovely private bits of coast on which to sunbathe and take a dip in the lovely azure waters. Suggest you take some shoes to go into the water as it is rocky underfoot. We also recommend taking a picnic and some wine to enjoy whilst you are there. However, if you forget, there are 2 restaurants on the island and you can get a small glass of rose wine for around 3 euro which is not bad. An enjoyable day - will return!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Kayzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    426
    246
    62
    13
    10
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
County Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful, definitely worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

A quick boat trip away from Cannes, a beautiful island, lovely for walking around and relaxing. When we were there it was quiet enough and we could go for ages without meeting into anybody, ideal. Lots of tiny little stretches of beach, we had our own little private beach for relaxing and swimming. We brought a packed lunch, not alot there and very overpriced, each to their own.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kieran M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful day away from Cannes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We really enjoyed riding the boat out to the island and getting out of Cannes. It is a short boat ride and you find yourself in a natural setting. The water around the island is pristine, clear and amazing. We made a quick visit to the fort and visited the museum where the man in the masked was jailed. It is interesting to see the artifacts found on the ship wrecks located right off the island. There is a very small aquarium that I am sure kids would enjoy. Not much to say about the aquarium. The surroundings of the island are breath taking with all the boats anchored out around the island. There are small stone beaches with beautiful views. There are a couple cafes and snack stands on the island. There is also a very pricey place to eat where you can rent beach loungers and get a tan. Nice way to spend the day! The trip is reasonably priced and very enjoyable.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank gianna2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tortola
Level Contributor
142 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Serene”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

With a small fishing village, a few restaurants, an agriculture station and 1 private dwelling, Isla Santa Margarita offers visitors several miles of pathways through old Eucalyptus strands. Well worth a visit

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank KiaOra97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lots of forest, good beaches”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Went to a day trip with my 6-year old and 1-year old. Lots of fun for everyone. The ferry trip was a attraction itself, though it lasted about 20 minutes.
In the island, there are lots of forest and trails to walk. In the eastern part of island, there are more nice beaches (even with little sand!) and picnic areas. The only negative is, that they charge you separately for going to fortress.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Katrin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ile Sainte-Marguerite also viewed

Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Ile Sainte-Marguerite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing