We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ile St.Marguerite: Very cool”

Ile Sainte-Marguerite
Book In Advance
More Info
$15.19*
and up
Ile Sainte-Marguerite Independent Day Trip from Cannes by Ferry
Ranked #4 of 93 things to do in Cannes
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Ile St.Marguerite: Very cool”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

My friends and I kayaked to this island from Cannes, which took only about 20-25 minutes. The island is SO cool--it has the prison that held the real Man in the Iron Mask. You can tour the buildings and even go in his cell! The prison is beautiful--looks like a castle/fortress sitting atop a cliff. A lot of the island is deserted and bare. There are many wooded areas in the middle of the island, and you can find random cemeteries scattered throughout. It's actually kind of creepy, but in an interesting way. A lot of history to be found here! I would recommend it!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank JacquelinaPiccolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

884 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    503
    284
    68
    16
    13
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
56 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great place for a picnic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

My husband and I are regulars to Cannes, however have never visited Santa Margarita, until this summer as we were after a break from the hussle of Cannes beach.

Apart from the museum and a restaurant there is little to offer other than a few walks so if you're after constant excitement and attractions and a boat ride in itself just doesn't cut it, this is a little out of you way.

I've marked this experience as excellent because for what we wanted it for, it delivered. We went on a Saturday morning, first crossing, having packed the cool box with a picnic. Once on the island, we headed to the other side (looking away from Cannes) and found a great little cove and set up camp for the day ahead - just the two of us, shade and sun (should you wish to bake).

You have to be quite quick at identifying the more secluded coves as some of the larger (more accessable) ones get crowded later on in the day.

Be warned jelly shoes or crocs are a must as the waterside is rocky, but the water is crystal clear and if you have the right equipment snorkelling is a must!

The island gets busy at weekends with local families and their boats often dock off the island, so if seclusion is what you're after early identification of a little cove is vital.

We hung out until early afternoon and caught the boat back without much of a wait, that said the timetable is merely a suggestion and the times can vary.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ALSLLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“wonderful nature”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

absolutly the best see that we never saw in our sejour in france.
the nature was fantastic...perhaps they need to clean more the island by the tourist that put the trash on the ground.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank ms lukino l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A great day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

A lovely island to spend a day on.The island restaurant served a lovely lunch over looking the sea with luxury yachts and water sporting activities. Not over expensive. There are also a couple of snack bars which serve drinks and baguettes if you were wanting a picnic on the beach.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Amazing experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

If you're in Cannes, this excursion really is a must! The museum is interesting and gives you a break from the sun. There are some fantastic walks and the island itself is beautiful. The views from the Island are stunning, with a truly tropical feel. The Island is also home to lots of beautiful wildlife, such as butterflies and lizards, which are great to watch. My advice would be to bring a packed lunch as the Island's main restaurant is quite pricey,

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank KFitzsimons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ile Sainte-Marguerite also viewed

Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Ile Sainte-Marguerite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing