We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Travellers delight Le Mistral”
Review of Hotel Le Mistral

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Le Mistral
Ranked #62 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Before visiting Cannes we were warned about how expensive it was and that booking a hotel the day before you reach would send our travel budget haywire. Our hearts filled with trepidation, we looked through all the Trip Advisor and Lonely Planet reviewed hotels. The closest contender on our list in terms of price and location was Ibis but Le Mistral won outright when we learnt that each room had its own safe. In a city along the French Riviera which boasts of its sandy beaches, a safe is very essential. You don't need to carry all your valuables with you, all the time, and you and your partner can frolic together in the sea. Not one at a time guarding valuables on the beach. Priced at less than 100€ per night, I would give it top marks for location. The train station was a 10 minutes walk with baggage and less without them. The La Croisette beach, Rue d'Antibes and the Palais du Festivals were all five minutes away. We also discovered Petit Paris, a restaurant right beside Le Mistral, that did reasonably priced food and good coffee and also, Gust' ami an Italian fast food place that did good sandwiches and cafe freddo, right down rue belges.

The rooms were small but enough space for a couple. Ours was named Chinook! The wi-fi was dodgy sometimes but we didn't spend time in the hotel enough to play with it. The bathrooms were equipped with lots of towels, soap and shampoo, although the shape of the bathroom was a bit strange. The only thing I disliked was the 8€ breakfast which consisted of lots of croissant and bread and more bread, coffee or tea and orange juice. I would have liked it better if there was an egg or a fruit and less amount of bread. 16€ for two people is enough for a more balanced breakfast else where. However, the friendly and helpful staff made up for the bread-y beginning to my morning. I would recommend Hotel Le Mistral to anyone visiting Cannes on a budget. However, unless you visit Cannes in late August, like we did, you should book earlier as they do not have too many rooms. Their sister hotel is Hotel Alize, where the night staff are to be found, only in the case of an emergency, at midnight!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Driftingtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (59)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Le Mistral
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 59 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2012

Here we go to the heart of Cannes to finally find a small, unpretentious hotel which though will not disappoint you. Perfectly located at minutes-walking distance from Croisette, commercial Rue D'Antibes, railway station, stop of shuttle to Nice airport, the hotel is very clean, totally renovated with an agreeable, contemporary taste, with names for rooms. The staff is very kind and tries hard to accommodate your needs.
Having tried it stopping overnight in Cannes on my way to S Tropez, I made a point to return there on my way back 10 days later.
Optimal quality/price ratio.
If only they avoided the usual French small hotels' noise in the morning! We are on vacation on French Riviera, and we go out at night, after all!

Room Tip: Third floor is best.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NYTraveller54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

Mistral a cannes...good enough!
Close to Prada shop, 50mt.
Small rooms
about 100€ per night with breakfast
few parking avalable at 500mt..
Breakfast is decent
nice And kind reception man!
Next to mcdonald and la crisette palce red carpet..
Found some hairs between the covers..
Not very clean but ok to stay 2/3 nights..
Booked on booking.com
it is Easter time so it might be a bit more expensive
the right price per night should be no more than €60...in august!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2011

We found this hotel to be in a good location and upper class portion of town. The hotel staff was lovely and very helpful. The bathroom was unusual, with the shower in a semi-diamond shape with an open rear portion. (Water gets all over the bathroom.) The room was well appointed and relatively roomy with a small flat screen television. We ordered breakfast in the hotel, which was nice but was only bread products (croissants, pain au chocolat, etc) and tea or coffee.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deeterpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

We searched online for a hotel in Cannes at the last minute. This hotel got some great reviews and I thought they were well deserved. Very clean, modern, comfortable hotel with lovely friendly reception staff. It was about 95 euros for the Saturday night and well worth it. We had a room on the top floor with a glimpse of the sea. The room was big enough to hold a couch and the bed was king size and very comfortable. I didn't see any other rooms, so can't comment of their size, but we were very happy with our room. I must point out that the reception staff were lovely and something we didn't experience as often as we should have in our traveling in France.

Room Tip: The room on the top floor with a sea glimpse was great.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigPostie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2011

Hotel was found via booking.com
Rooms neat and clean. Stylish interior design. Great location. Near everything. No need of car.
Room 403 had even view on the sea with windows on two sides.
Staff friendly and very helpful. Felt welcomed with a small child (3 years). Hotel gave toys to play on the beach. Offered without asking booster seat for child for breakfast table. Breakfast price in comparison to other places reasonable and good service.
No elevator, which we did not mind though.
Overall to be recommened for people of all ages which do not need an elevator.
Good deal even in peak season.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juropa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2011

Location of the hotel is great, it's right in the heart of the shops & restaurants, couple of blocks back from the beach front and a short stroll into the old part of town. Staff are fantastic and really really helpful, going out of there way to provide information and saving us a bucket load on parking. While the rooms and bathroom are reasonably small they are really comfortable and clean with modern furnishings. The hotel has no lift, this didn't worry us at all but if you don't do stairs ask for a room on the lower floors. We checked out a few hotels in Cannes and I have to say for the money you really can't beat Le Mistral, this Hotel is exceptional value for money!!

Room Tip: No lift in the building so lower floors
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cannes hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Alize Cannes
Hotel Alize Cannes
#54 of 126 in Cannes
153 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel le Romanesque
Hotel le Romanesque
#92 of 126 in Cannes
83 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Cannes Croisette
Hotel Cannes Croisette
#79 of 126 in Cannes
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Azurene Royal Hotel
Azurene Royal Hotel
#86 of 126 in Cannes
80 reviews
0.1 mi away
Modern Waikiki Hotel
Modern Waikiki Hotel
#96 of 126 in Cannes
29 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Univers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Mistral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Mistral

Address: 13 rue des Belges, 06400 Cannes, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Price Range: $78 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Le Mistral 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is located in heart of Cannes, just 50 metres from the famous Croisette, the beaches and the Palais des Festivals. Completely renovated in a contemporary design style, Le Mistral features 10 rooms spread over 3 floors. There are 2 rooms categories : Comfort and Privilege (3 people maxi), decorated with 2 main colours, red and plum. Le Mistral is the perfect place to discover the city and its luxury shops, restaurants and nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Le Mistral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing