We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not exactly 4 star” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Chateau De La Tour

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Chateau De La Tour
Ranked #13 of 132 Hotels in Cannes
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Not exactly 4 star”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Stayed at the hotel a couple of weeks ago. The only thing four star about the hotel is probably its exterior. That is the pool area.
Rooms: in a word, dated! Ladies the hair dryers are USELESS. There is no mirrors or full length mirrors in the rooms. this maybe more relevant to the ladies as the only mirror is in the bathroom and there are no plugs anywhere near to plug in straighteners etc. The beds are not comfortable at all. Double rooms- twin beds put together. Usually this wouldn't be an issue but when the beds keep separating then that's an issue. the air conditioning does not work. This was acknowledged by staff yet nothing was done despite mentioning it several times. On top of that we stayed in the top floor , just below where the air con 'thingy' is located. Work men were sent in to 'fix' it early morning so we had people banding upstairs on the first day of our holiday and the following days. Despite mentioning this, nothing was done but a very weak apology instead. Now obviously this sounds like a lot of moaning for a one of experience. However the point is the hotel staff failed to acknowledge the inconvenience and issues experienced and did nothing about it.

Food: breakfast was ok. There is a vast difference is meal quality as it depends which chef is in. One chef was brilliant and the other not so much. We preferred
To eat out anyway.

Staff: the staff was great. Although saying that the

Location: the beach is down the road, about 10 minute walk down hill. So be prepared for the trek back up. The city centre is a taxi ride away.

The hotel rooms, decor and carpets need updating. The hotel had a lot of potential but this is not a 4 star hotel. However we did get this through a voyage price deal and luckily did not pay their true prices.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Veritasious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    105
    27
    7
    5
See reviews for
42
151
2
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Firenze
Level Contributor
79 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

The hotel is very nice, there is a nice garden with a swimming pool and the location is far from main road. This hotel is one of the best location in Cannes if you want to be out of the caotic road of the center but a a reasonable distance (you need to use bus to go to Croisette), The beach is plage du midi. The room are very well furnished in a retro style (as the name of the hotel suggest). The teamis very polite. The price is naturally proportioated.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stefano32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borås, Västra Götaland, Sweden
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We have stayed in this hotel twice, and both times we say the same thing: Why is this place not totally booked, lots of people enjoying lunch, drinks & dinner by the pool? Well, speaking with the new owners they have big plans for the place, and this is a really nice and quiet 'mini castle' that could be a true 5-star with some extra touch which we hope they will add. Hopefully not with a pricetag, as this is still a bit pricy as is. The rooms are tiny, but very french & nice. The menu is not big, but the food is cooked with love and you get lots of attention as there is not many people eating. Also great when travelling with your dog.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anette J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

Hotel Chateau de la Tour is an amazing place to stay. It is clean, quiet and first class service from a really friendly and courteous staff (and owner). Only about a 5-7min cab ride from the main strip in Cannes, de la Tour offers a quiet and serene environment to get a way from the hustle and bustle that can be Cannes. The rooms are clean, comfortable and relaxing. The breakfast was included in the price and was second to none -- simply excellent! This little boutique hotel is set in beautiful lush surroundings and has a nice pool to relax by. I will definitely stay there next year when I return to Cannes... and highly recommend it to anyone who is looking for accommodations in the South of France. Simply one of the best!

Room Tip: Room 107 was excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scobious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cannes hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel  Le Cavendish
Hotel Le Cavendish
#2 of 132 in Cannes
4.5 of 5 stars 630 reviews
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu 1835 Hotel & Thalasso
1.6 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel de Provence
Hotel de Provence
#1 of 132 in Cannes
4.5 of 5 stars 657 reviews
1.9 mi away
InterContinental Carlton Cannes
1.5 mi away
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
#5 of 132 in Cannes
4.5 of 5 stars 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chateau De La Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chateau De La Tour

Property: Hotel Chateau De La Tour
Address: 10 Avenue Font de Veyre, 06150 Cannes, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 132 Hotels in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Chateau De La Tour 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charm and caracter in this hotel of 1870 located in a nice park, with 34 rooms completely renovated in 2005. Located 300 meters from the beach, on the height of Cannes, few rooms offer a sea view (on request and upon availibilities). From the outside pool you will enjoy the sea view and the Esterel Massif. Unique and ideal place for a relaxing atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel Chateau De La Tour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing