We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The couple who ran the place made our stay in Cannes very enjoyable.”
Review of Hotel Alnea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Alnea
Ranked #45 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Reviewed September 24, 2008

We were on a 2 week driving trip in Europe., we stayed in Cannes for 2 nights towards the end of the trip. Everyone talked about Cannes and the French Riviera, so we had to see it. But after going through the romantic road in Bavaria and staying in the Swiss Alps, Cannes was kind of a let down, it was just a larger version of South Beach in Florida. We are not the shopping type and the beach there just doesn't compare to any decent beach in Florida. However, the young couple who ran/own the Alnea hotel were incredibly helpful. They told us about the best place to go for the beach, the best restaurant for local (provencale) food, for snacks, for seafood, etc. We would probably be overwhelmed by the numerous restaurant choices. Their recommendations were right on and we know food. The hotel is right in the middle of the action, we walked to the beach, to the restaurants, to the shops and to the old town. The place was clean, had a safe, comfortable, pretty much what we were looking for. But the folks there made the biggest difference in our stay. We highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JustSeeIt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (152)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 152 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2008

very central location, close to the train station, the flower market, all the bistros and the Croissette. The hotel staff is very friendly and the place is totally secure. You have a keycode to enter the property. The rooms are very well designed, comfortable and clean. The owners have thought of everything, they even supply for umbrellas for the beach (for free!!). The room was kid of small but as a single traveller it was more than enough for me. I enjoyed my stay a lot. Alnea will be my choise next time I visit Cannes.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank meladiction
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2008

Just back from a 4 night stay at Hotel Alnea. Great location and great price, I couldn't fault it. The owners couldn't do enough for us, marking out places of interest and places to eat on the map. Our room was very small and our bathroom was tiny but we didn't spend much time there so it was ideal for us. Would recommend it to anyone looking for a nice, clean, small central hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank EireLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2008

This was a small friendly hotel. It was a really easy to find, very central to all the sites in Cannes. The hotel owners were the most helpful on our Trip, they recommended were to eat, drink and what to see and where we could go after Cannes.

As mentioned the rooms are small but cosy and you would not realise that this hotel was in the locaion it was. Everything was very clean. Although we stayed for 2 nights we would have been happier with longer.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bristol01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2008

i have spent one week from my summer holiday in this hotel. I felt like home right from the beginning.

The staff - very friendly and helpful.
The owner - extremely nice.
The Location - perfect.
The rooms - very clean.

I liked the most the fact that i did not feel like in a hotel, it was much more homy.

Andreea

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndP33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2006

I found this hotel out of sheer frustration...I opened my internet browser, typed in "Cannes Budget Hotel" and Hotel Alnea popped up.
The location could not be better; it is found a mere 3 minute walk from the train station, and is only 5 minutes from The Croisette. In fact, the hotel is closer to the public and free beaches.
The young couple who own the hotel REALLY make you feel at home, as it is almost like staying in a b&b. After checking you in, they make sure you are fully comfortable, and that all your questions are answered.
I cannot speak for all rooms, but as a solo traveller, I was quite pleased with the room's size. The room was clean, didn't reek of smoke, and the soundproofed windows helped cut out the noise of cars passing at all hours of the night. There was a small tv with 20 channels, as well as a safe,hangars, stand up shower and large sink, and a comfortable bed.
So I don't go on forever, if you are looking for a cozy,warm, and centrally located hotel for a good price, stay here. If you are a solo traveler, I highly recommend you stay here. The owners give you their mobile phone number in case you have questions or emerencies,so its not like the big shot hotels who would only care if you disappeared because then who would pay for the room?
Cannes is a wonderful and safe town, have a great time.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Agobey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2004

We stayed only one night in this hotel but we were very impressed with the facilities and standard of service. It is located very close to the Railway station and is only a couple of minutes from the main shopping area, Rue d'Antibes. The seafront is also located nearby so in terms of location this hotel is great. The room we had was very clean and nicely decorated even though it was quite small. There was air-conditioning, a hairdryer and cable TV. The windows were double glazed and this kept the street noise to a minimum. The hotel is run by a young couple who are very friendly. Breakfast is also available at a cost of 6 euro. We would definitely stay here again if we return to Cannes as it is very clean and bright and very handy for almost every activity. Each room has a different name which is quite nice. The hotel is secure as the main door is locked at all times and only guests have the pin code which enables them to enter. We thought that this was one of the best 2 star hotels we have stayed in.

6  Thank LAH24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cannes hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Moliere
Hotel Moliere
#73 of 126 in Cannes
40 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel le Romanesque
Hotel le Romanesque
#86 of 126 in Cannes
86 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Univers
Hotel Univers
#39 of 126 in Cannes
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cannes Croisette
Hotel Cannes Croisette
#79 of 126 in Cannes
60 reviews
0.1 mi away
HOTEL P.L.M
HOTEL P.L.M
#70 of 126 in Cannes
72 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Athenee Cannes
Hotel Athenee Cannes
#41 of 126 in Cannes
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alnea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alnea

Address: 20 rue Jean de Riouffe, 06400 Cannes, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Price Range: $87 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Alnea 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Hotel of 14 rooms in the center of Cannes: only 100 m from de Palais des festivals and the famous seaside Croisette, 50m from rue d'Antibes ('the' shopping street), 200m from Cannes train station and the airport shuttle bus. Nice socsy hotel with FREE WIFI, individual A/C, flat screen TV, safe. Everything you need to spend a good time in the center of Cannes within walking distance to all major attractions. Lonely Planet and Guide du Routard and Let's Go ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Alnea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing