We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine place to stay in Cannes”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Ruc Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ruc Hotel
Ranked #29 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fine place to stay in Cannes”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

The hotel staff was the highlight, in my opinion. We arrived to the Nice airport quite late on a flight from the Channel Islands, and were stuck with a ridiculously overpriced cab to Cannes. Not in the best mood, we arrived at the hotel and were shown our room, which in all honesty was very average. We didn't pay too much, and I believe were given a room of appropriate value. It was small, had a comfortable bed, and was equipped with AC, which was a relief given the heat. As we didn't check in until nearly midnight, we didn't have the energy to walk to town and instead asked the man at the desk if he had any drinks available. He very kindly got us a beer and wine from the bar and showed us to a table in the garden. It was a pleasant way to end the evening. The next morning, we were pleased to find that Cannes was easily walkable from the hotel.

My opinion is that Cannes itself is forgettable. If tourists, a crowded beach, and casinos are your scene, go there. Otherwise, there are many wonderful villages nearby where time is better spent.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jarve-05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    62
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
5
54
9
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
liverpool
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

hotel quite central in cannes,within 10 minutes of main railway station,and main beach blvd,where you can catch the no 8 bus,along the front,and to the boats,to the islands of margherite,and the smaller island,with the monastry on,which i considered,the better island,in the bay,it was more peaceful,and restful,the rooms in the ruc hotel,where large,and value for money,they had ensuite bath,with shower,the rooms were quite,and peaceful,and there was minimal road,and nightlife noise of a night(brought earplugs,after previous holidays,but didnt need to use),cost £750 for the week which is non refundable,,which is quite reasonable for cannes,we were there from 6th to 13th july 2013,the majority of workers can speak english,and are very helpful,always willing to please,,especially erica,who looked after us for breakfasts,on negative side breakfasts,you have to pay seperately for,and can be quite expensive,182 euros extra for week,plus city taxes,and there is no cooked meals for breakfast,but is typical cold continental breakfast,but there is plenty ofcerial,tea,juice,croisants,cold ham and meats,overall enjoyable visit,and made to feel welcome

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roland c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I arrived at Ruc Hotel After having fled from the so called " MDL Hotel Colmar" . Ten days stay was a very positive experience.Clean room, friendly personel, sweet dog. Only one thing missing: A comfortable chair in the garden to have my afternoon drink after a tiring excursion day.

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Joanna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

Kind and friendly personell. Very well positioned near city center and cheap compared to closeby hotels. Rooms a bit small but overall warm and tidy. Breakfast a little expensive but rich in choice even if we were the only guests. Very good quality over price.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zabiello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frédéric L, Propriétaire at Ruc Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thank you very much for your comment.
We note however that the rooms vary in size depending on the category selected.
Our breakfast with a wide choice, cereals, cheeses, meats, yogurt, product quality, fresh bread and pastries, real orange juice, etc... our price is more than justified.
We welcome you again with pleasure in our family hotel.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Having been to Cannes a few times I knew the area I wanted to stay in and the RUC was perfectly positioned for my work and pleasure. Staff were very friendly and helpful, offering us advice on places to visit and good restaurants. The room was charming, clean and quite. Given that there is currently a large building site directly opposite I was thankful for a room at the rear, overlooking the rooftops and gardens. Probably less than ten minutes walk to the sea front yet in a quiet part of town it was just what we needed

Room Tip: Unless you are planning a stay after the building opposite is finished ask for a room at the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drake10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frédéric L, Propriétaire at Ruc Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thank you very much.
It will be a real pleasure to welcome you again in our familial hotel.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We felt very lucky to find this hotel - the staff (especially Fredrick) were very pleasent and helpful.
Our rooms wasn't the largest but it was quite and the bed comfortable. The bathroom was a good size and the sample soaps etc very chic! The Ruc is just out of the main town - around a 5 min walk. We were very lucky with parking as we arrived late and left before 9am so parked right outside the front door and did not have to pay. The breakfast was excellent and would definately stay there again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruffhams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frédéric L, Propriétaire at Ruc Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
thank you very much.
It will be a real pleasure to welcome you again in our hotel
best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel on the way to Nice but wish we had made it our base for the whole area. The hotel appeared to be recently renovated, very clean and we love our room in its typically French style and decor. Our bed was also very comfortable and quiet as you are just far away enough from the late night hustle and bussle.The staff were amazing and very helpful as well as multilingual as our French is not very good.
We were given an underground car space but only used the car a couple of times as it is such a short walk to the Cannes shopping streets and beach.
I will definitely come back here again next time I am in this part of the world!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RAVCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cannes hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Pruly
Hotel Pruly
#31 of 126 in Cannes
126 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cannes Gallia
Hotel Cannes Gallia
#32 of 126 in Cannes
286 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ideal Sejour Hotel
Ideal Sejour Hotel
#11 of 126 in Cannes
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Cannes le Cannet
0.6 mi away
Ibis Budget Cannes Centre Ville
0.9 mi away
Hotel Albert 1er Cannes
Hotel Albert 1er Cannes
#20 of 126 in Cannes
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ruc Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruc Hotel

Property: Ruc Hotel
Address: 13 Boulevard de Strasbourg, 06400 Cannes, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ruc Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Logis RUC Hotel welcomes you for your stay in Cannes, in the department of Alpes-Maritimes on the Cote d'Azur. You will be seduced by this lovely house, combining tradition, calm and simplicity. Its 29 different rooms will ensure you a 4 stars hotel comfort and will make you breath tranquility and well-being. Indeed, you will be able to choose between a Superior Room, a Comfort Room or a Standard Room in the main part of the building, as well as rooms giving access to a little Mediterranean garden. The hotel also has a lounge bar, a buffet breakfast, a library space and a meeting room for 20 people. The Logis Ruc Hotel is ideally situated in the residential suburb << La Californie>> : 5 minutes away from "La Croisette", "La rue d'Antibes" (the commercial street), "Le Palais des Festivals et de Congres" and from beaches. A sportive resort with swimming pool and tennis is only 2 minutes away from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ruc Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing