We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Business trip to Cannes” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Radisson Blu 1835 Hotel & Thalasso

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Radisson Blu 1835 Hotel & Thalasso
Ranked #10 of 129 Hotels in Cannes
GreenLeadersBronze level
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Business trip to Cannes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

Arriving at the hotel first impressions were great very nice lobby, very clean and modern - the staff were ready with my room key, the room was immaculate, and a very good size for one person.

The downside was the wifi - every time my ipad locked it would log out of the wifi this happened to other people I was with, I wouldn't have minded if I was on holiday however I was with journalists who really need the wifi to be top notch.

The breakfast was good, it has various pastries and cooked breakfast, it wasn't the best I have ever had but still enjoyable

The hotel has a beautiful sea view (you can have dinner and drinks on the top floor looking out at the harbor which is fantastic) and great service so yes I would recommend it to others, just needs the wifi glitch sorting.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LFLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cecile_malbos, Responsable commercial at Radisson Blu 1835 Hotel & Thalasso, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Traveler,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor.

We appreciate your honesty about your stay in the Radisson Blu 1835 Hotel & Thalasso.

We hope to see you soon and will be very happy to welcome you again.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    540
    427
    182
    61
    37
See reviews for
160
679
75
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Rooms: not huge but comfortably furnished in an attractive modern style. Beds have feather toppers which are lovely if you like a soft bed, otherwise ask for it removed before you arrive. They also have orthopedic pillows.
The bathroom is a bit of an issue.
Having stayed 3 times in 3 months I feel as if the interior designer was more interested in appearance than functionality. Twice I had a room with a hip bath with a very high side and a fixed shower screen leaving about 2 feet of space to get in. An elderly person would simply not be able to do this. The first time I stayed I had a walk-in shower (no bath at all though), so request this if it is going to be an issue. No hooks for bathrobes in 518 (city deluxe) which is a bit annoying.
The washbasins are made of grouted brown mosaic tiles. The grout had discoloured at the bottom and was not nice to use. Mirror is heated and there is a magnifying glass for make-up.
Food:
Breakfast was a bit disappointing and should have been replenished quicker. Staff did not show us to a table or even take our room number. Had to ask for coffee and napkins.
This was the only meal we had.
Staff:
Very efficient reception staff, always greet you on arrival. Very friendly.

Location:
Perfect as you can walk to all the bars and restaurants in town and a big plus if you have a sea view room is falling asleep to the sound of the sea at night!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JM&RK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cecile_malbos, Responsable commercial at Radisson Blu 1835 Hotel & Thalasso, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Traveler,

We thank you for writing your experience at the Radisson Blu 1835 Hotel & Thalasso on Tripadvisor.

We appreciate your honesty about your room. We regret that your stay was not up to your needs and have communicated your reviews with our team.

We hope to still have the pleasure to see you again in our hotel and really want to satisfy you.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

What can you say about the Cote d'Azur ? Which-ever way you cut it, it is beautiful. But don't the locals know it, and use every trick in the book to remove cash from tourists.

At least at this hotel, it is done with a certain style and a politeness. On the plus side, the staff were very friendly, service good once you remember this is France so don't expect the kind of false bonhommie and plastic smiles that you get from your typical American hotel worker, and 1) you try speaking French (you're in FRANCE, remember ?) and 2) use "pleases" and "thank-yous," it is appreciated.

Location-wise, superb. You can see where the Russians tie their yachts up, or gaze on the shops where the French whose ancestors escaped Mme Guillotine spend their money on designer clothes (Liberte, Shopping, Fraternite ?). Plenty of good, but stunningly expensive cafes within easy walking distance.

But, politeness and location aside, this is a high-class rip-off, much like the rest of the Cote D'Azur. Now, that's fine if you are expecting it, so expect it. To that ends, be aware that:

1) To use the swimming pool will cost E25/person/day.
2) To eat breakfast (actually a very GOOD breakfast) will cost you E27/person/day
3) To park your car, or rather to line someone else's pocket to park your car for you in case you are too stupid or too lazy to finish a journey by going through the actions of "parking," it will cost you E35/day.

So, 2 of you ? That's E149/night BEFORE THE ROOM.

Ah, the room. I got a Good Deal. How ? Because the AC Hotel (Marriott) in Antibes that I was booked into made a mess of my reservation. Even with 3 months notice, they oversold my room and I was sans-lit 2 days before flying out.

But, even at E169/night with compensation and a MASSIVE apology from Marriott, this is a stunningly expensive price room.

What do you get ? Well, a TINY bathroom, a tiny bedroom and a fold-down flap for a "desk" with the TV bolted to the wall above it. One "comfy" chair that I spent the entire time dancing around.

And a mini-bar. Empty. In a wardrobe. Without a handle on the door so you can only open it by putting your fingers under the door because the edge of the fridge door hits the walls of the wardrobe.

And two mugs. With two teabags. And two plastic spoons that melt when you put hot-water on them. And the spoons are SHORTER than the mugs so you burn your fingers trying to stir your drink.

And a kettle for boiling water. And four "Nespresso" coffee capsules, but no "Nespresso" machine so you can't actually turn the capsules into drinkable coffee.

And a balcony that you need climbing equipment to reach.

And lifts so tiny that you need to back into them with your luggage or you'll never get out.

Now, frankly, I'm used to all these idiosyncrasies in France in Campanile, Ibis or Novotel properties. But, you pay Campanile, Ibis or Novotel prices, not the rack-rate of between E550 and E850 that this place displays. And this is a Radisson !

So, if you want to have a good view of the sea, a decent breakfast, and someone else is paying and you can minimise the amount of stuff you take so that you can fit it in your room and you don't think you'll want a cup of coffee, stay here.

If you're on your own dime and want to go to France (and let's face it, who doesn't - it's a wonderful place), don't bother with the Cote d'Azur - it is over-rated and over-priced and the best that you can say about this hotel is at least the staff are nice and just doing their jobs....

Room Tip: Avoid floor 6 or anything overlooking the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank net_boyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Itala, Italy
Level Contributor
51 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

I stayed at this hotel at the beginning of December for business. A good stay but not so excellent!
The hotel has a central location and a nice view: near to the port, 5 misutes walking distance to the Palais des Festivals, 5 minutes far from La Croisette.
I slept in a Superior room: a very comfortable room, but too expensive compared with services they offer.
Good buffet breakfast and friendly staff.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zighy_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cecile_malbos, General Manager at Radisson Blu 1835 Hotel & Thalasso, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear guest,

We thank you for sharing your impressions about your stay in our property.

It is regrettable that you are not fully satisfied by your stay.

We are very sensitive to the views of our customers and we use them to improve ourselves and have an excellent level of service.

We try to offer the best rates to our customers and we are sorry that the value for money you had was not sufficient.

I hope you would give us your trust again and we look forward to welcoming you soon.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tegucigalpa, Honduras
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

Me and my husband stayed at the Radisson for 3 nights and we really enjoyed. The staff was very attentive and we thought that the room was comfortable too. If ever in Cannes again we wouldn't choose a different place to stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat_in_Jamaica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cecile_malbos, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu 1835 Hotel & Thalasso, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear traveler,

Thank you for your interest and positive feedback about our hotel.

It is a real satisfaction for us to read that you have enjoyed your stay.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in Cannes !

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

I staid in this hotel twice,
the location is great, the room quite small (street view) but convenient,
very good service by the stuff,
the hotel offers free high speed internet.
car park 35euro - expansive

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cecile_malbos, Responsable commercial at Radisson Blu 1835 Hotel & Thalasso, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Traveler,

We thank you for writing your experience at the Radisson Blu 1835 Hotel & Thalasso on Tripadvisor.

We are pleased that you had a nive day in our hotel.

We are concerned to satisfy our customers and your feedback about the quality of our services is very important for all our team.

We are very happy to welcome you again in Cannes !

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ione, California
Level Contributor
159 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

The three stars reflect how small and cramped our room was. The closet was also small, with an inadequate number of hangars to accommodate my husband's and my clothes. My biggest pet peeve was the complete lack of pegs to hang bath towels and bathrobes. That, together with a paucity of surfaces on which to put my travel items, meant I couldn't unpack easily. The bathroom was large and attractive, particularly the walk in shower. Unfortunately the sink could not be plugged up so I was unable to use it to wash a few light items. There was a fancy Japanese toilet that supposedly heated, washed and dried one. I don't know because the instructions were on the back of the door that was impossible to read unless one stood up, closed the door, and studied the tutorial. The top floor restaurant has a stunning view of the Mediterranean.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank avidtraveler1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cecile_malbos, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu 1835 Hotel & Thalasso, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear traveler,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on tripadvisor.

We appreciate your honesty about your room at Radisson Blu 1835 Hotel & Thalasso.

We are sorry that your stay has not been fully satisfying and still hope to see you soon.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cannes hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes
0.4 mi away
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
#3 of 129 in Cannes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
0.8 mi away
InterContinental Carlton Cannes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez
0.7 mi away
JW Marriott Cannes
JW Marriott Cannes
#13 of 129 in Cannes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Grand Hotel
Le Grand Hotel
#19 of 129 in Cannes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu 1835 Hotel & Thalasso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu 1835 Hotel & Thalasso

Property: Radisson Blu 1835 Hotel & Thalasso
Address: 2 Boulevard Jean Hibert, 06400 Cannes, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Cannes
#4 Spa Hotel in Cannes
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Cannes
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cannes
#11 Family Hotel in Cannes
#26 Romantic Hotel in Cannes
#28 Business Hotel in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu 1835 Hotel & Thalasso 5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of historic Cannes, five-minutes walking distance from the “Palais des Festivals et des Congrès”, la Croisette and its luxury shops , the Radisson Blu 1835 Hotel & Thalasso, welcomes you in a refined and uncluttered place.The hotel is directly linked to “Les Thermes Marins de Cannes”, the unique Thalassotherapy and Spa in Cannes.It includes 46 treatment cabins in 2700m² of luxurious facilities with a complete menu “à la carte” beautytreatment programmes, daily packages and weekend breaks with individual treatments. The center also offers a wellness area : sauna, Turkish bath, multi-sensory shower, Jacuzzi, Interior/exterior headed sea water pool with seaboard walkway and "Le Bio" restaurant and its tearoom. (with supplement)Decorated in a contemporary style, most of the 134 rooms offer a direct view over the Mediterranean sea and the Old Harbour with direct access to the beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Rezidor, Odigeo, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Radisson Blu 1835 Hotel & Thalasso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu 1835 Hotel And Thalasso
1835 White Palm Cannes
Sofitel Cannes
Hotel 1835 White Palm
Cannes Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing