We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Could the booking be in another name?"”
Review of Hotel Renoir

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Renoir
Ranked #16 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Those terrifying words were uttered as we arrived quite late at this hotel on a chilly December evening (apologies for the late review, finally got around to doing this trip). I had the booking confirmation in my hand (thank Goodness) from Orbitz which had been fully prepaid. The gentleman working on the desk seemed completely confused by the confirmation and stated the room type listed didn't exist, which further concerned us however he assured us the hotel had rooms available and all would be sorted. Showed us two rooms and we picked a suite which was quite nice. He then proceeded to tell us random stories about his life, about how awful Monte Carlo was and various other interesting bits of information that led us to think that maybe he was slightly intoxicated.

Two rooms including living area and a good size bathroom and separate toilet. Cleanliness was pretty good although the fit and finish of the room looked a little cheap in some places.

The lift was TINY to the extent that we had to send our bags up in the lift and race the elevator via the stairs. Kind of funny, but not wonderful after a long drive from Italy. Parking was slightly inconvenient. The receptionist on the first night let us park in their loading bay but then we had to park in a parking station which was about 2-300 metres away across a few streets. Not such a big deal but to get from the parking station to the hotel is a bit of hike due to the one way streets.

The location is okay, within walking distance to the main drag of Cannes and there is a supermarket and a fair number of cafes and restaurants within easy reach. It is a long way from the beach though, with no views or anything like that. It is across a busy road to get into town but there are traffic lights with pedestrian crossing in close proximity so no drama.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ineedabreak82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (447)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 447 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2013

From the moment we arrived at the hotel we had an issue. We have booked a double room and we were given a twin. When we have requested from the reception department to change our room, the receptionist that has done our check in took 45minutes only for us to go and ask again and to be told that they do not have any other rooms and we should be ok.At check out we were surprised that the same receptionist that checked us in, offered to us not to pay for our breakfast that we had that morning because of the bed issue.After about 2 hours we received a call from the hotel from a lady Manager to ask if everything was ok with our breakfast. We explained that yes and that Morgan from reception offered us a complimentary one because of the bed issue.She said ok and thank you for staying with us. The shocking part happened after 45mintues from the managers call, Morgan from reception has called us to say that we have misunderstood and now he needs to pay from his pocket for the breakfast we had.We were shocked and we did say to him that this is not what he had confirmed to us, but because he was insisting we said ok, take the money from the card.In general the customer service received from Morgan is unacceptable.
Terrible Customer Service and we will never recommend this hotel to any of our family or friends.

Room Tip: Do not stay here........
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kittybz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RENOIR06400, Directeur général at Hotel Renoir, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Dear Sir,

I just read your email et I am really sorry for this. Concerning our beds, all our rooms are furnished with twin beds, that we turn into large beds with mattress overlays, which has never been a problem until now. However, the staff attitude is inacceptable, and fortunately that you did not pay the breakfasts, we totally understand your deception. We renew one more time our apologies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed two nights after traveling through France and were disappointed. My wife felt that it was a sleazy hotel, we were awoken every night to other guests coming in late the doors had no insulation. Beds were never made properly we choose not to eat there. As we had pre booked we were locked in. Website is very misleading. Not 4 star. Will not return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrianCarole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RENOIR06400, Directeur général at Hotel Renoir, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

We are really sorry to read your comments about your experience in our hotel. We did not find your contact information in our database as well as the dates of your stay.
Thank you back to us.

Trully yours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

THIS HOTEL DOES NOT HAVE A PRIVATE BEACH. All the information released by the hotel is very misleading on this matter. There is a beach owned by the same owners of the hotel (Group Bacou), but as a hotel guest you have no more allowance in price or availability than you have on any of the other many privately owned beaches in Cannes, or indeed than does anyone else who is not staying at the hotel. It's like a hotel in London saying 'you have use of our private underground railway system' referring to the London Underground. In the hotel information you get when you arrive, they have actually crossed out the bit that says 'special rates at C Beach for hotel guests'. The lady on reception informed us that they no longer have a deal with the beach. But the beach and Hotel are both owned by Group Bacou, so wouldn't it be very easy to do a deal? With themselves! Group Bacou are clearly mercenaries. In addition, if the beach is full of non-hotel guests, then you won't get on, it's as simple as that. Other things that we didn't like - the windows, we couldn't work out if they are double glazed or not, but one thing we can tell you is that there is absolutely no change in outside volume whether the windows are open or closed. If a pin was dropped on the road outside, you would hear it in the room even with the windows closed. The pillows, these are the cheapest, nastiest, most uncomfortable, lightweight, lumpy, awful pillows we have ever had the misfortune to come across. The American breakfast is nothing short of disgusting. The bacon looked like it had been boiled, not grilled or fried. The pancakes are from a packet and were rock solid. My wife (this was supposed to be our honeymoon) had the Nordic breakfast and the boiled eggs were completely raw. We asked for this to be rectified and they sent another 2 up to our room, which were exactly the same. The finish of the bathroom was very low standard, there was as much grout on the tiles as between them. There was a huge gap between the door frame and the wall. It all looked like it had been done by an inexperienced trainee. If you bought a new build house with such a poorly finished bathroom, you would insist they rip it out and start again. The wall paper in the room is this thick leatheret type stuff, goodness knows what misdemeanors this is hiding. Location, it's too far from the beach or any of the fun areas in Cannes, and you have to cross a busy road. This was our honeymoon and we expected much better for the price we payed.

Room Tip: Tip to help travellers choose a good room - choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We spent 3 nights at this hotel and had a great time!
The staff was really serviceminded!, I was shocked - they helped us with everything we needed and spoke good english!
The room was clean, 'big enough' and even though we had room next to the mainstreet with a lot of traffic, the room was quiet! Loved that! We actually spent some extra time in the room just because it was so nice! A really girly Hollywood room, white and bright colors! Pretty!
The breakfast arrived in time - it was tasteful.
An overall good experience with this hotel! I would love to spend more nights here!

The only negative I have to say is that the 'corridor' are not very big, so with a lot of luggage with you, you might 'collide' with the doors. The last day they forgot to empty one of the garbage trashes, but that was no big deal.

I would recommend this hotel to everyone I know!
We had a pleasant stay I would love to repeat, just because of the hotel! :)

Note: We didn't use the swimming pool or fitness center.

Room Tip: Room on the 1 floor are really good! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TvictoriaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

I spend a lot of time in hotels around Europe due to work. I have stayed in Renoir five times in total.
Check-in & out takes forever & they are not very organised.
The rooms are not too bad but NOT clean. I found a used tissue paper in the drawer last time I was there, awful!
Carpet is really smelly of bad feet.
Showers are a hit & miss. Often no hot water.
More than once I have been out all day & the room has not been done.
Internet is always so slow.
Good things are they provide breakfast service in the room till 12.00.
Location is good.
It's not the worst hotel in Cannes but not sure about the 4 stars........

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NinaCarola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I'm a frequent traveller and can compare the service in the hotels all over the world.
During our trip in Italy in France with my wife and other couple we decided to book and pre-paid the RENOIR HOTEL in Cannes. We came in the evening on 2 cars.
During check-in the guy on reception who called himself as "Mister Morgan" didn't help us with the luggage, said that parking in front of the hotel is forbidden (in case of emergency, in order to park ambulance or fire car etc.). I know, that it's the rule everywhere and for everyone. But Mr.Morgan even didn't give us a time to check-in and put our luggage into the room, requested immediately to go on the parking station. We left our wifes on a luggage and went to park the cars. On the next day I found the car parked in the front of the hotel during Mr.Morgan's shift. He talked all the time by phone for his private issues. And next morning the same car was on the same place. When I asked the woman on reception desk about this issue, she promised me to call the car owner or police, but later the situation was the same. It means that rules are not for everyone!!! Nobody who arrived in the hotel can park for re-loading the luggage. SHAME!
When I told the situation to another women on reception desk (Ana C.), she has moking smile!!! IT'S UNACCEPTABLE!
Next day I found the absence of the water in the bathroom in my room on the 4th floor and plastic bottle full of ash and cigarette butts on the balcony (it was there during couple of days).
Several times the second towel and the second bath robe were took by the housemaids.Even after our request to have second towel and bathrobe for my wife, the situation was happend again!
The hotel staes that it has a private beach. But it's not true!!! The C-Beach has nothing related to the Renoir Hotel, but the brochures in the room suggests otherwise. Then we asked Ana C. from reception to book the bads on the first line in the beach by phone, she said that she did it, but when we came to the beach, our booking was not found by beach administrator! It was a Joke!

The terrible things is that my friend with his wife stayed 1 week more in this hotel, because the room was 100% pre-paid. My condolences to them.....

They are pride themselves for 8,5 score in Booking.com, but I stayed after in La Villa Nice Promenade in Nice (which has only 3 stars and 8,3 score) and it was as Black and White compare to terrible-service in 4 stars Renoir Hotel.

I strongly not recommended to stay in Renoir Hotel in Cannes, if you would like to save your nerve, time and money. I'm not a picky guy, but want to have something good compare to my money which was paid for that!
Hope my review will help the travellers....

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Roman G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RENOIR06400, Directeur général at Hotel Renoir, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you to take the time, to give your thoughts about your stay at the Hotel Renoir.The guest comments are very important for us.
We apologize that our staff did not answer positively at your demands. Most of the time we received positive comments about all of our staff at the Hotel Renoir. However it appears that several misunderstandings happened during your stay. Would you please accept all of our apologies for this inconvenience. We invite you to contact us so that we could talk together about these matters.

Truly yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cannes hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion
0.1 mi away
Hotel  Le Cavendish
Hotel Le Cavendish
#2 of 126 in Cannes
812 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel de Provence
Hotel de Provence
#1 of 126 in Cannes
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes
0.5 mi away
Cezanne Hotel
Cezanne Hotel
#26 of 126 in Cannes
327 reviews
0.2 mi away
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
#3 of 126 in Cannes
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Renoir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Renoir

Address: 7 rue Edith Cavell, 06400 Cannes, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Cannes
#14 Luxury Hotel in Cannes
#16 Business Hotel in Cannes
#20 Romantic Hotel in Cannes
Price Range: $95 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Renoir 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A real master painting... discover the Renoir Hotel The Renoir Hotel is a newly renovated "glamour" boutique hotel, located in the heart of Cannes and only a few steps away from the Palais des Festivals, its private beach "The CBeach" and the shopping district. Enter this luxurious building, dating from the late 1900's, and be amazed by its delicated and comfortable atmosphere given by wide surfaces as well as an harmonious mix of colours and materials. With 29 rooms and suites, all painted with beige and white shades, and decorated with "Hollywood style" furnitures, the Renoir Hotel will transport its customers to a world of peace and relaxation... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Fastbooking, ACCOR, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Renoir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renoir Hotel Cannes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing