We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic stay”
Review of Hotel Le Cavendish

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Le Cavendish
Ranked #2 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Much is said in other reviews about this hotels rooms, location and so on.

I think any of the rooms would be good, you pays your money and takes your choice. The air conditioning - probably the most important feature in summer - is the same system throughout the hotel so will be the same in every room.

The location is fine; yes a few minutes away from the seafront but this is not a bad thing, means it is very handy for the train station which is the gateway to other places to visit. Also a couple of supermarkets close by. OK area; police station is just round the corner so feels safe. No beggars, which we saw a few of in other areas closer to the main tourist spots.

The best feature of this hotel are the staff; without exception polite, helpful, professional, reliable. Probably the best team of people running a hotel I have ever come across. Absolute stars.

Room Tip: Rooms on the "Rue Leopold Bucquet" side of the building will be quietest as this is a smal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank aji1376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristineWELTER, Propriétaire at Hotel Le Cavendish, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Dear Guest,

I thank you very much for your great comment . On Trip Advisor you are mentionned as an experienced contributor which makes your comment very valuable.
Most of your points reply to some other comments and I thank you for that.
As owner of the hotel, I will spread the word to my team : they will be proud to be considered as "absolute stars" in the most glamorous city which is Cannes :)
Thanks again and looking forward to welcoming you back ,
Christine WELTER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (812)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

335 - 341 of 812 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2014

We loved this hotel for location, warmth from reception staff and overall appearance on arrival. We had a delux room on the fourth floor and we were pleasantly surprised how quiet the room was from local city traffic. The room was very spacious, clean and comfortable although the carpet was very dated. The bed was great and the pillows even better and the air conditioning was extremely quiet whilst sleeping. The hotel location was very central to the centre of Cannes, train station and beach. The breakfast was perfect and the free bar was very pleasant. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in the Cannes area. I would like to thank the staff for making our stay a very memorable one.
As an additional service the hotel offers the chance of the use of a private beach in partnership with Plage LeGoland Cannes.

Room Tip: We stayed on level 4 which proved to be quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014

We just returned home to the US after a two week vacation, capped by a 4 night visit to Cannes and Le Cavendish. I found this hotel via Tripadvisor and was extremely happy with the closeness to many restaurants, the beach, and shopping. We had a standard room which was small but adequate. Our daughters and a friend were in a larger room that accomodated the third via a pull out couch. AC worked great. The breakfast in the morning, although cold, had a lot of variety with meats, cheese, fruit of all kinds, yogurts, cereals, and many choices of pastries. We were not bored! Wonderful personal service of coffee/tea. The afternoon 'happy hour' of free drinks (including liquor), mixes, soft drinks, and light appetizers was very welcome after a day of sightseeing. The beach was wonderful and the hotel provided towels - it was about a 10 minute walk.

All in all, I would highly recommend this hotel and would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusanfromHollis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

This was our 2nd stop of our honeymoon along the south coast of France.
Very good value to stay in Cannes. It is only a 2 minute walk there.
Having the rotunda room and the beach package was definitely value for money as it would have been 40 euros a day for the beach, Which makes the room very good value.
The free bar is in quite a dark small room so we didn't use this but alcohol brought to the room was at a good price.
Overall, a good stay.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank EmilyJane2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

The room we were given was really old and needed refurbishment especially in the bathroom. Service was nice but overall the hotel left me with a bad experience of Cannes as:

- it was located a way away from the promenade across the highway
- the room we were given was quite horrible and needs some refurbishment
- breakfast was quite basic with no hot food on the offer
- the room seemed to be dark and unclean (not sure if it is because furniture and overall all looked quite worn out and dark)
- air conditioned did not work
- the room was hot at night
- windows did not open

Overall if you are after a renovated hotel (I like the character decoration but struggled to see it in the room), air con, nice breakfast, swimming pool and close to the promenade, then this hotel is probably not for you.

Again the staff in the hotel is very nice and apparently the hotel also offer free drinks at certain times at their Open bar.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yana37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristineWELTER, Propriétaire at Hotel Le Cavendish, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Dear Guest,

I am really sorry you did not like our property. All rooms have been renovated, are constantly refurbished. All of them are soundproofed, and all windows can be opened ( fire policy in historical classified buildings)
If you had a problem to open the window, you should have called reception. Same for air conditionning as we invested huge money for new air conditionning system last year .
As far as the location of the hotel is concerned, I must say we do not have any highway in Cannes and that all our customers find the location of the hotel very convenient ( please refer to other comments on Trip Advisor)
Our buffet breakfast is not offering hot dishes but eggs can be ordered and prepared in the kitchen. We are working hard to get fresh, organic and home made products on our buffet . I assure you that it is much more complicated to get fresh and tasty food rather than standard breakfast items you can buy in supermarkets.
As you mentionned, the staff is nice and very helpful. We would have been more than happy to discuss all these points with you and perhaps show you a couple of other rooms in order for you to select the one you would have preferred.
But Le Cavendish will always remain Le Cavendish : a very charming hotel centrally located in a classified building with no pool but all services customers are expecting from a 4* hotel
Yours Sincerely
Christine Welter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014

We had an excellent stay at the Hotel Cavendish for our honeymoon - great service, beautiful + authentic architecture and well positioned. We would definitely return. Definitely would recommend the beach package which gives you free / reduced cost use of the sun loungers as the beach is really nice and renting the loungers otherwise can be a bit pricey.

Room Tip: I would imagine you get what you pay for. We had a rotunda room which was incredible, but it was mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Just returned from our first visit to Cannes and this hotel both of which were a very pleasant experience. Hotel located on a slight hill above the main tourist areas. A 5 minute walk takes you to the port and beach from which you can walk along the main promenade (the Croissette) admiring the historical hotels, complete with designer shops, the palais de fesitvals where the film festival takes place in May (don;t forget to look out for the star hand prints surrounding the building) and the rue d'antibes for shopping on a more realistic budget. The old town is about 5 minutes walk to the right of the port and is full of charm, characteristic buildings and is filled with many good restaurants providing a wonderful evening atmosphere for dinner. We stayed in a deluxe room on the 4th floor which was decorated in a Provence style, with large french doors leading onto a balcony with a side sea view. Loved the electric shutters which provided a cool shade and noise reduction. Bed was comfortable with good quality bed linen, room was a good size and quirky design. Bathroom products were gorgeous and plentiful, with the usual bathrobes and slippers. Only criticism was the shower was not very powerful and did not suit the huge shower base. Lovely gesture of complimentary soft drinks and bottle of Rose wine in the room from the hotel management. Continental breakfast very enjoyable fabulous homemade jam, and lovely smell of baked croissants wafting up as you approached in the lift which was a 1920's design, very nostalgic and charming as was the rest of this little hotel. Extra bonus of happy hour from 6-9 every evening consisting of free beverages, wine, spirits etc and nibbles with happy staff serving you. Only downside is the dining room doubles as the bar for evenings and as it is small can get crowded quickly. Be sure to find a seat away from other guests who take advantage of the hotel's free hospitality and become a little too amusing for others. All in all a very relaxing stay with helpful staff, clean accommodation, good food and convenient location. Would definitely return. Also the bus stop is outside the hotel and the airport express to Nice is easy to use (10 euros each way, take the 210 bus from Nice airport and get off at the Place Vauban), buses are luxury coaches complete with a/c. Only 2 stops and journey time 40 minutes. Really glad I didn't use a taxi like I did last year in Nice when I paid 80 euros!!

Room Tip: Rotunda rooms are larger, with bigger balconies with outside seating. 4th floor is the top of the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cocomidglam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cannes hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel de Provence
Hotel de Provence
#1 of 126 in Cannes
809 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion
0.3 mi away
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
#3 of 126 in Cannes
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes
0.1 mi away
Hotel Renoir
Hotel Renoir
#15 of 126 in Cannes
447 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Suites Cannes Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Cavendish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Cavendish

Address: 11 Boulevard Carnot, 06400 Cannes, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Price Range: $118 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Cavendish 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located a few steps away from the famous Croisette and the luxurious shops in rue d'Antibes, Le Cavendish 4* hotel in Cannes offers an intimate getaway in a refined and cozy setting. Belle Epoque facade, lift dating back from 1920, stairs in marble of Carrare, genuine wood floors combine elegantly with a charming decoration for a definitely intimate stay. With the exclusive upscale service of luxury hospitality, Le Cavendish - boutique hotel in Cannes - and its 34 rooms has become one of a kind place to stay. Whether in couple, family or for business ... Enjoy Cannes differently. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Le Cavendish reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing