We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb - the most friendly hotel”
Review of Hotel Le Cavendish

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Le Cavendish
Ranked #2 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Superb - the most friendly hotel”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Such lovely staff, so helpful and friendly. Beautifully quirky old style building - loved the old style lift, the traditional furniture, even the slightly sloping floor. Bed very comfortable, unobtrusive air conditioning, and lovely bathroom. Excellent breakfast and superb free evening drinks and nibbles just complete a perfect stay. Emma even sorted out transport for us when the French public service had a one day strike! Very convenient location too - all the main parts of Cannes no more than a stroll away. Had the beach package - worth doing! Would definitely stay here again - so much more character than bigger, modern chains.

Room Tip: We went for a superior room which was perfect for two.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    571
    146
    28
    11
    9
See reviews for
64
505
19
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Taverham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Having returned yesterday from the wonderful Le Cavendish my wife and I are immediately looking to how soon we can return!!

The hotel is a beautiful 'belle epoque' building conveniently located just outside of the town centre and (judging by the other classically designed residences on a wide boulevard) is set on what appears to have been one of the original points of entry into Cannes. We stayed in a lovely Superior room which looked out over the rooftops towards the Mediterranean.

The main element, however, that made our stay so special was the people working in the hotel :-) From the minute we arrived until we sadly had to leave we were treated as if we were staying with friends and were given the very highest levels of service. Combined with freshly made breakfasts (with gorgeous cakes made on-site!!) and the obvious charms of a complimentary evening bar :-) I can think of few places to where I'd rather return.

On an embarrassing note I would like to apologise to all working at the hotel for the crass rude attitudes of other (unfortunately British) guests who, whether complaining about the strength of the breakfast tea (yes, really!!) or obviously replacing unwanted food (absolutely disgusting), left me feeling ashamed to be from the same country. The patience shown by staff was admirable and a credit to all.

Thank you, once again, to all for making our stay so wonderful.

Room Tip: Rooms have good A/C, blackout electric blinds and double-glazed windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Taverham01603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maidstone
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Fabulous hotel with exceptional staff and a wonderful setting. A luxury experience but without pretension and at a reasonable cost given what is on offer. Fully deserves its excellent reputation and can be highly recommended

Room Tip: The rooms in the Rotunda are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davec06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

You can enjoy gorgeous parquet floored round rooms with huge balconies and marbled bathrooms.
You can drink cocktails , wine and nibbles for free every evening!
You can have a spot on the beach with wait or service.
You can dine out on mouth watering croissants and fresh coffee complimentary ( if you book through their website)
You can relax with fast free WIFI in the bedrooms

And it's only 10 mins walk to the Harbour, Beach, Old Town,Casinos, millions of Restaurants and Cafes.

And finally you can rest on comfy beds and noise insulated rooms...

We will be returning again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BevandMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Most hotels in Cannes have to work hard to make the most of limited space internally and externally. Le Cavendish is no exception. It is a beautiful, old building that has succeeded in retaining its traditional character while offering the high quality of service expected by today's travellers.
My wife and I stayed for 5 nights in a 'rotunda' room with a large balcony overlooking the main street. It was a beautiful room, almost quirky in design, but full of charm. Transport up and down the building was by an old-style gated lift that was a work of art in its own right.
Breakfast was good - not the best selection I have seen, but the quality of food was high and the service was excellent. From 6pm -9pm, the breakfast room became a complimentary bar with nibbles and a great variety of alcoholic and soft drinks. It was a good social hub and a great place to stop on the way out for an evening meal.
Staff in the hotel were consistently friendly and helpful.
The hotel was a fairly short walk from the centre of Cannes. Heavy road works meant that traffic in the area was even more chaotic than normal. We paid a few extra euro for hotel staff to park and retrieve our car - a worthwhile additional expense under these circumstances.
There were literally hundreds of restaurants to choose from within easy walking distance from the hotel, and enough shops to lead to bankruptcy or divorce.
There was one downside - not to the hotel itself, but to Cannes. I have been holidaying in France for over 30 years and I love the country and its people. But in our first 24 hours we were shortchanged in one restaurant, double charged on an item in a second restaurant, and subjected to the type of scam that I have seen before in neighbouring countries: a stranger happened to walk past us in the street just at the point where a 'lost' ring was lying on the ground, he picked it up and was insistent that we should take it ... oh, for a price of course.
None of this is a reflection on this excellent hotel, but it did leave us with our guard up.

Room Tip: Rotunda rooms are a great size and add to the charm of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bscc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
61 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Le Cavendish is a great place to stay in Cannes. It is a little walk away from the water and the Old Town but a great retreat with a nice style. The rooms are comfortable and a good size. All the staff that we dealt with were excellent: friendly, professional and very helpful, with ideas on what to do in Cannes.

The open bar in the evening is a great touch, and a nice way to meet other people. Beach towels are freely offered and come in handy bag for taking down to the water.

I recommend Le Cavendish.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peejay_london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

My wife and I stayed for four nights. I echo all comments on previous reviews. A wonderful hotel with friendly knowledgable and helpful staff. The free bar is a real bonus and we met some lovely people whilst enjoying our drinks. Breakfast was varied and plentiful. The only downside for us was that our room always smelled of cigarette smoke. The owners really ought to keep some (if not all) rooms smoke free. This did not hinder our enjoyment of our stay and we shall be returning next year. I highly recommend Le Cavendish.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank pottsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cannes hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel de Provence
Hotel de Provence
#1 of 126 in Cannes
785 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion
0.3 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
#3 of 126 in Cannes
510 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Suites Cannes Centre
0.1 mi away
Hotel Renoir
Hotel Renoir
#12 of 126 in Cannes
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Cavendish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Cavendish

Property: Hotel Le Cavendish
Address: 11 boulevard Carnot, 06400 Cannes, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Cavendish 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located a few steps away from the famous Croisette and the luxurious shops in rue d'Antibes, Le Cavendish 4* hotel in Cannes offers an intimate getaway in a refined and cozy setting. Belle Epoque facade, lift dating back from 1920, stairs in marble of Carrare, genuine wood floors combine elegantly with a charming decoration for a definitely intimate stay. With the exclusive upscale service of luxury hospitality, Le Cavendish - boutique hotel in Cannes - and its 34 rooms has become one of a kind place to stay. Whether in couple, family or for business ... Enjoy Cannes differently. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Travelocity, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Le Cavendish reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing