We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you are staying in Cannes, look no further!”
Review of Hotel Le Cavendish

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Le Cavendish
Ranked #2 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We have just returned from a five night stay at Le Cavendish. We chose it after reading the reviews on Tripadvisor and were not disappointed. It has a great location with easy access to the old town, the beach and the bus and railway stations. Yes, you do have to cross the main A8, but there are clear crossing points. Once the improvements to Boulevard Carnot are completed it will have a lovely outlook. Ask for a balcony room at the front of the hotel and you will not be disappointed.
We arrived at 22.00 and were given a very warm welcome. Our registration was completed quickly and efficiently and we were offered a welcome drink while we waited.
Our room was clean, spacious, and bright and the roller shutters provided excellent soundproofing. It would be nice to have tea and coffee making facilities, but that is a fairly minor point. The 1920 lift is a lovely feature and very much in keeping with the ambiance of the hotel.
Breakfast is excellent. There is a wide selection of good quality fresh fruit, yogurts, breads and jams. The homemade croissants and pastries are to die for! Every day during breakfast Christine, the owner, comes round personally to chat to the guests and ensure they are enjoying their stay. Not something you would normally expect.
Every evening there is an open bar, which provides a great opportunity to meet other guest over a pre-dinner drink; a nice touch.
In summary, Le Cavendish is a very comfortable and tastefully decorated boutique hotel. The staff are very professional and speak very good English; they would be an asset to any establishment. Emma and Reda deserve special mention as we found them particularly helpful. We would recommend this hotel without hesitation and will certainly stay here on any further visits to Cannes.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank del183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (816)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

381 - 387 of 816 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2013

Our recent trip to France included 3 nights in Cannes. I picked the Hotel Le Cavendish from hours spent on trip advisor. My overall rating is excellent and this is why:
The hotel was very comfortable and nicely decorated (it looked and felt just like the brochure). We loved the large rotunda room which was very sound proof (there was construction on the road below and we heard nothing), and the electronic black out shades were great. Location is about 5 minute walk from the beach and most restaurants. The free bar was a really nice touch as we could meet and chat with other guests while enjoying some nice drinks before dinner. The only thing I would change is that the access code to the free internet WiFi was too complicated to log on each time. I would definitely refer friends to this hotel.

Room Tip: Recommend a Rotunda room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drsternberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

From start to finish this was an outstanding experience. The staff are very helpful and cheerful and nothing is too much trouble for them. All staff were very accommodating but Emma in particular was an absolute star- her local knowledge and command of the English language were impeccable. The hotel itself is very conveniently situated and only a short walk from Croisette and old town restaurants and marina. The retro style of this quality boutique hotel is very individual and makes for a great experience.Rooms are well furnished with good amenities and housekeeping is arranged around you ! If it is style you want and great individual attention this should be the hotel for you- nothing is too much trouble. A WONDERFUL experience, no restaurant ( except for excellent breakfast buffet) but free bar from 6pm to 9pm is a real bonus !

Room Tip: Although on busy thoroughfare rooms are well insulated from traffic noise. Balconies are nice touch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at le Cavendish for 4 nights, in a superior room. Located central for beach, shopping and restaurants. This hotel is really charming and the staff do all their best to make the stay pleasant. Nice and clean room with balcony. The elevator is a nice piece of history, a must see! The hotel has an apointment with a beach club at the Croisette, so they book sunbeds if you want. Nice and fresh breakfast. Public parking garage 50 meters in the back of the hotel. One of our best hotel stay at the riviera, next time back in Cannes, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EspenogStina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Hotel Le Cavendish in Cannes, France is the PERFECT getaway.

We were able to walk from the train station right to the hotel - there are maps at the train station- it is 2 blocks from there.

Upon checking in, Capucine went through all her personal recommendations as far as restaurants and shops go. She even offered to call ahead and make reservations for us. She gave us some history about the lovely hotel and Cannes. Our french was spotty but the staff at the hotel were all able to speak English very well. We felt genuinely welcome there!!

We purchased the "Beach Package" which was if you stayed 3 nights, you receive access to the private beach Le Cavendish is partnered with. This is definitely the way to go! The beach is beautiful - also just a short walk from the hotel. We had no problem getting a spot on the beach.

The rooms were clean, spacious, and bright! It is exactly what you think of when you think boutique hotel in France! Yes - there is some construction that is currently taking place but once we put our shutters down - we couldn't hear anything. The owner - Christine also personally came around one day during breakfast personally apologizing to all the guests for the construction. She is so sweet!!

The breakfast was delicious!! There was slight variations each day. We looked forward to seeing what was down there each morning. There was also an open bar daily from 6-9. We have never stayed at a hotel that offered this before. It is such a great idea too because it gives the guests a chance to get to know once another.

Reda, one of the staff members at the hotel was especially helpful. He made sure we were taken care of and was very polite. He went out of his way to engage in conversation with the guests. He gave us many ideas of things to do in the area and what to check out!

We can not wait to return!! :)

5 STARS!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Superior Room - it was adorable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

My girlfriend and I absolutely loved our 4 night stay here. Boutique and beautiful. Service with a smile - unobtrusive, helpful and really friendly staff.
Extremely clean, charming decor, lovely rooms.

This is how hotels should be run!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RJJC2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

There were roadworks outside so the location wasn't the nicest looking and the bus to and from the airport doesn't stop outside due to the roadworks, but it's an easy 10 min walk from the bus if you have a map. Everything is in a 10min walking distance - old town, beach, shops. Hotel itself was small but charming. The staff were lovely and most helpful with restaurant recommendations and bookings. We ate amazing French food in lovely locations, all down to their advise. When asked about island trips they advised us and gave their opinions on the surrounding islands and we had a fantastic day out due to this. The rooms were small but very clean and well kept, and we didn't need a lot of space as we were only in the room to get ready before going out again. The pillow was too high for me so I slept without one - an option of thick and thin pillows would be nice - I know it's a fussy comment but no one likes a sore neck! Breakfast was naughty but nice (lots of pastries and cakes - my favourite). The open bar was great - it's between 6pm and 9pm - dinner time/getting ready for dinner time, but if you can catch it before you go out it's lovely. The complimentary mini food plates here were a nice touch, very tasty. The only thing that annoyed me was the rules with the private beach - we were not told them, meaning that on our last day we got moved from the front by the sea to the very back and told that we hadn't reserved and couldn't sit anywhere we wanted - this information would have been great had it have come at the start of the holiday and preferably from the hotel, who we had booked the private beach through. Also it was a bit all-deck-chairs-lined-up-like-sardines which I usually hate, but it was very clean and the sea was lovely so it was forgivable.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 839Anonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cannes hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel de Provence
Hotel de Provence
#1 of 126 in Cannes
821 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes
0.3 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
#3 of 126 in Cannes
574 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Renoir
Hotel Renoir
#16 of 126 in Cannes
451 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Canberra
Hotel Le Canberra
#10 of 126 in Cannes
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Cavendish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Cavendish

Address: 11 Boulevard Carnot, 06400 Cannes, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Price Range: $112 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Cavendish 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located a few steps away from the famous Croisette and the luxurious shops in rue d'Antibes, Le Cavendish 4* hotel in Cannes offers an intimate getaway in a refined and cozy setting. Belle Epoque facade, lift dating back from 1920, stairs in marble of Carrare, genuine wood floors combine elegantly with a charming decoration for a definitely intimate stay. With the exclusive upscale service of luxury hospitality, Le Cavendish - boutique hotel in Cannes - and its 34 rooms has become one of a kind place to stay. Whether in couple, family or for business ... Enjoy Cannes differently. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Le Cavendish reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing