We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Cavendish

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Le Cavendish
Ranked #2 of 130 Hotels in Cannes
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

The main attraction to this hotel is the wonderful staff and service. The hotel decor is a little tired but the friendly smiles and exceptional service makes up for it. We were lucky enough to stay in a wonderful room on the 4th floor which if the sun is shining you can see the sea. It is in a very convenient position for walking to the main town and the port. It is a small and intimate hotel. The breakfast is basic but more than adequate. It has one nice little touch which is that there is a free bar between 6-9 pm. This is nice as you get to chat to other residents who are also staying from all parts of the globe. Would definitely recommend but make sure you book 440, you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianeha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    478
    129
    28
    11
    8
See reviews for
51
427
17
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

This was our last stay on a 2 week european visit that included 4 and 5 star hotels. None of them compared to the level of service and care that we received at Le Cavendish. The room was a bit small, but we saw the roon across the hall being cleaned- it was HUGE- may want to ask. ALSO, we were told that Bfast was included, but when we checked out we had a $40 euro per night addition- make certain you know. The Bfast was fine, but not 20 euros pp worth. Also there is a great little cocktail hour each evening, always nice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherrye C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristineWELTER, Propriétaire at Hotel Le Cavendish, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for this very nice comment which I will pass on our staff. We are all very proud to welcome our clients at Le Cavendish and help them making an unforgettable stay in Cannes.
As far as the breakfasts are concerned, I do apologise for the confusion and perhaps misunderstanding but the breakfasts are offered to guests booking directly on our website. As well as other added values such as sunbeds on private beach .
The cost of the breakfast is 20 € for a full buffet including homemade cakes & pastries / croissants baked on site / homemade marmelades / organic cereals / italian hams and cheese / eggs / fresh fruits salad and fruits of the season nicely sliced / yogurts / freshly squeezed juices and loose leaves teas as well as organic and fair trade coffees.
If something special you would have loved to get for breakfast was missing, we would have been delighted to prepare for you.
Hope you had a nice trip back,
Very Best Regards ,
Christine Welter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valenza, Italy
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Very nice location, friendly and professional staff, nice guests international crowd.
If you're looking for a nice place where to spend long week end this is the place you're looking for!! Rooms are nice, we just took the standard but, though having the washroom a bit small , nothing was missing in there. If you can efford taking the oval room it is an experience (I didn't stay but saw it)
Gay friendly atmosphere in a very mixed multi language place. The staff currenlty speaks french, italian and english. Remarkable the open bar everyday from 6,00 to 9,00 PM, you can really sit there for hours having free drinks with your friends before going for dinner, this is great!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank staurino d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al Ain
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

From the airport, it was an easy bus ride directly to the hotel door. From the outside it looks small and squished, and on the inside, the hallways are narrow and the passageways twisty -- it took me a while to realize that's just what France is like. It has a unique old-fashioned elevator, winding stairs, and great balconies. The room was large and 'round', with the bed as the centre. There was a reception with free alcohol and snacks, like happy hour, with good service as well. The jet lag from my long journey paired with the free flowing wonderful French wine knocked me out for the night. It is a romantic setting and a great location. Next day, were able to walk through town and explore the sites.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suepost2Bteaching
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

This hotel is fantastic! The owner, Christine Welter along with her incredible staff make your stay feel like a home away from home! The service is always 4 star. The rooms are spotless and very comfortable.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a balcony- adds extra charm- nice to be able to open doors and sit outside. Re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carole v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Great Hotel, perfect localization, Cleand and nice. Beautiful views of the town, and close to everything, clubs, beach train station.Nice balcony. The bad stuff is that have not a lift.... so if your suitcase is very heavy, is a pity, otherwise is perfect for a nice weekend in Cannes!

Oh the bed is super comfortable!

Room Tip: The third floor is great, but remmeber is not a lift ; )
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank esther J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristineWELTER, Propriétaire at Hotel Le Cavendish, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

I thank you very much for your nice comment and am very happy you enjoyed your stay with us.
Regarding the elevator, I am very surprised by your remark as we do have a lift which is a masterpece of the hotel : OTIS has a contract on this lift since 1920 and we spent a lot of money to make it up to actual security standards .
Please find below one of the Trip Advisor customer comment dated May 1st . :
" Highlights of this hotel include and beautiful staircase and very old world charm lift "
I do hope you will be able to come back and try it :)
Very kind regards
Christine WELTER
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noumea, New Caledonia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

It was a great pleasure staying at this hotel for 2 nights. Perfect location, very friendly staff, nice cosy rooms. Very calm. Good breakfast. Open bar from 6pm. Highly recommended for all kind if trips.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zhihio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cannes hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel de Provence
Hotel de Provence
#1 of 130 in Cannes
4.5 of 5 stars 666 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Carlton Cannes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu 1835 Hotel & Thalasso
0.2 mi away
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
#4 of 130 in Cannes
4.5 of 5 stars 353 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Cavendish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Cavendish

Property: Hotel Le Cavendish
Address: 11 boulevard Carnot, 06400 Cannes, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 130 Hotels in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Cavendish 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located a few steps away from the famous Croisette and the luxurious shops in rue d'Antibes, Le Cavendish 4* hotel in Cannes offers an intimate getaway in a refined and cozy setting. Belle Epoque facade, lift dating back from 1920, stairs in marble of Carrare, genuine wood floors combine elegantly with a charming decoration for a definitely intimate stay. With the exclusive upscale service of luxury hospitality, Le Cavendish - boutique hotel in Cannes - and its 34 rooms has become one of a kind place to stay. Whether in couple, family or for business ... Enjoy Cannes differently. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, ACCOR and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Le Cavendish reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing