We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“romantic and picturesque”
Review of Hotel Le Cavendish

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Le Cavendish
Ranked #2 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Certificate of Excellence
Al Ain
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“romantic and picturesque”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

From the airport, it was an easy bus ride directly to the hotel door. From the outside it looks small and squished, and on the inside, the hallways are narrow and the passageways twisty -- it took me a while to realize that's just what France is like. It has a unique old-fashioned elevator, winding stairs, and great balconies. The room was large and 'round', with the bed as the centre. There was a reception with free alcohol and snacks, like happy hour, with good service as well. The jet lag from my long journey paired with the free flowing wonderful French wine knocked me out for the night. It is a romantic setting and a great location. Next day, were able to walk through town and explore the sites.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suepost2Bteaching
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    587
    146
    28
    11
    9
See reviews for
65
516
22
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

This hotel is fantastic! The owner, Christine Welter along with her incredible staff make your stay feel like a home away from home! The service is always 4 star. The rooms are spotless and very comfortable.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a balcony- adds extra charm- nice to be able to open doors and sit outside. Re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carole v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Great Hotel, perfect localization, Cleand and nice. Beautiful views of the town, and close to everything, clubs, beach train station.Nice balcony. The bad stuff is that have not a lift.... so if your suitcase is very heavy, is a pity, otherwise is perfect for a nice weekend in Cannes!

Oh the bed is super comfortable!

Room Tip: The third floor is great, but remmeber is not a lift ; )
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank esther J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristineWELTER, Propriétaire at Hotel Le Cavendish, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

I thank you very much for your nice comment and am very happy you enjoyed your stay with us.
Regarding the elevator, I am very surprised by your remark as we do have a lift which is a masterpece of the hotel : OTIS has a contract on this lift since 1920 and we spent a lot of money to make it up to actual security standards .
Please find below one of the Trip Advisor customer comment dated May 1st . :
" Highlights of this hotel include and beautiful staircase and very old world charm lift "
I do hope you will be able to come back and try it :)
Very kind regards
Christine WELTER
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noumea, New Caledonia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

It was a great pleasure staying at this hotel for 2 nights. Perfect location, very friendly staff, nice cosy rooms. Very calm. Good breakfast. Open bar from 6pm. Highly recommended for all kind if trips.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zhihio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collinsville, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I was slightly apprehensive about this hotel, as the price was s incredibly reasonable compared to our visit to Paris. I was so very wrong and my concerns disappeared the moment I entered the hotel!!!!
From the moment my husband and I arrived, we were greeted with such warmth and hospitality, we were amazed. The location is great, though a few blocks from all of the action on the Croissette or Rue d'Antibes, but it is a perfect location, and less hectic or crazy.
The room was truly large and spacious; I had upgraded, so we had a large room with a king size bed. Room #410 is one of the largest. The breakfast is delicious and the 3-hour Happy hour each evening offers the opportunity to meet and talk with other guests from all over the world!!!!! We did not use the beach access, as we had too many other things to see and do. the train station is walking distance to the hotel, so it is very inexpensive (1 euro) and easy, to navigate the Riviera cities. the train to Monte Carlo was also 1 euro!!!!!
I highly recommend this hotel and plan on returning in the future, to enjoy Cannes and all of its wonderful sights!!!!!

Room Tip: The higher floors offer better viewing. Spend a little extra and enjoy a spacious room. Truly wond...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martha's Vineyard, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed at the Cavendish for 3 nights in May. This hotel is located in a charming old building in the heart of the city. It is within easy walking distance of both the old city (Le Suquet) as well as La Croissette. It does not have a view of the water but we enjoyed the city feel, slightly away from the tourist hoards. Currently there is some construction going on around the hotel (redoing the sidewalks) but it did not cause us problems or cause any significant noise.

We reserved one of the Rotonde rooms. All the rooms were reasonably priced but these were slightly larger, had the rounded front, charming details (herringbone wood floors, ceiling moldings). Best of all, though, was the private balcony. In these rooms, it is very large at the front of the hotel. A small seating area outside allowed us to enjoy drinks and listen to the rain one evening. The large windows allowed plenty of natural light but electronic shutters were good at keeping the room dark in the morning. And though there was plenty of street noise with the french doors open, the room was well sound-proofed and quiet when we closed the doors at night. The bathroom was large with all the conveniences including very nice bath products.

The staff was very friendly. They are knowledgeable about the city and were happy to help us make reservations or cancel others. There is a breakfast room with an excellent selection in the morning (additional charge). In the evenings, there are complimentary drinks if you prefer to have an apperitif before going out.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay at this hotel and would happily stay here again. There is valet parking. You can also park on the streets on the weekends and there is a public garage kitty-corner to the southwest (though its not cheap and very tight).

Room Tip: Ask for a Rotonde room, well worth a slight increase in price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NieSB27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We spent five wonderful nights in this cozy hotel. Surprised attention various tidbits and helpful staff. Rotunda rooms is super, everything you need for a cozy and romantic vacation. In the evening, drink bar surprised a wide selection of wines and beverages as well as snacks. Good location, very close to the train station who love short trips around the neighborhood. Thanks again staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RaimondasB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cannes hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel de Provence
Hotel de Provence
#1 of 126 in Cannes
795 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion
0.3 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
#3 of 126 in Cannes
520 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Suites Cannes Centre
0.1 mi away
Hotel Renoir
Hotel Renoir
#12 of 126 in Cannes
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Cavendish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Cavendish

Property: Hotel Le Cavendish
Address: 11 Boulevard Carnot, 06400 Cannes, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Cavendish 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located a few steps away from the famous Croisette and the luxurious shops in rue d'Antibes, Le Cavendish 4* hotel in Cannes offers an intimate getaway in a refined and cozy setting. Belle Epoque facade, lift dating back from 1920, stairs in marble of Carrare, genuine wood floors combine elegantly with a charming decoration for a definitely intimate stay. With the exclusive upscale service of luxury hospitality, Le Cavendish - boutique hotel in Cannes - and its 34 rooms has become one of a kind place to stay. Whether in couple, family or for business ... Enjoy Cannes differently. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Fastbooking, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Le Cavendish reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing