We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Excellent, small hotel with friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Cavendish

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Le Cavendish
Ranked #2 of 130 Hotels in Cannes
Certificate of Excellence
Hay-on-Wye, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent, small hotel with friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I've stayed here on several occasions whilst on business in Cannes over the past 5 years and I can't find fault with the standard of service, the welcoming staff, the slightly quirky, but very pleasant rooms and the wonderful old building... all make the Cavendish so much more enjoyable an experience than the soul-less designer attitude of the 'jet set' hotels on the Croisette (where I've also stayed). If I had to find fault, then it is situated on the busy Boulevard Carnot and yes the rates are slightly pricey - but EVERYWHERE in Cannes is. And the Cavendish is an easy 5-10 minute stroll to the seafront...

Room Tip: Ask for one of the lovely curved, building-end bedrooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cusopdingle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    475
    129
    28
    10
    8
See reviews for
51
424
17
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed here in October, 2012 while on our honeymoon and it was just beautiful. We had the rotunda room which was gorgeous with a beautiful balcony. The service was excellent and they went out of their way to make our stay very special. They left us a little gift of embroidered slippers with the name of the hotel and 2012 on them which was very nice. The hotel is just down the street from the train station and only about two blocks from the waterfront. We were there for five nights and it was very enjoyable. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveToTravel021961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I booked this hotel for the weekend as a surprise for my husband's birthday, at the beginning of November. We had a great stay, loved the room with its semi-circular balcony and views to the south, almost to the sea. The staff were the most friendly I have ever experienced in France, and very helpful with every request. Their car valet service was marvellous as we could come in at any time and just hand over the keys. But a car is not essential by any means, as the hotel is very well located in short walking distance of La Croisette, Le Suquet and all the interesting shops of Rue d'Antibes.

It's a very interesting building, charmingly decorated. The staff have created a very good atmosphere, and serve an excellent breakfast with lovely freshly squeezed juice. When we stayed there were complimentary aperitifs served from 6pm which was a very welcome gesture and a nice way to start the evening.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
up state ny
Level Contributor
39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

As to the review of the English "couple" on Nov.1, I could not find any of the above mrention problems!! The mention of bed Lice is completely unfounded. MOST people who make statements like this have other issues and want to be hurtful!
Our stay was a two days at the beginning of two weeks vacation, from the reservation to the check out all things were first rate. The room on the second floor was large,clean,bright and quiet. The buffet breakfast in the morning had plenty of selection, bread fresh, cheese just right. This hotel is located a matter of 10 minutes from the port, and the restaurants were every where. The building and it's twin we're of the late 1890, with the classic artneuvo period.A great place and would our first on return to Canne!!!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 53356por
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

My partner and i stayed at this hotel in September and had booked for 3 nights.When we entered the room on arrival there was food under a table, mould in 2 areas between the bath and the tiling, chipped enamel on the bath and a bracket holding the hairdryer on the wall was coming awayfrom the wall.

In addition, whilst in the room both my partner and i sufferred various flea type bites and these could not have been mosquitos as there were none in the room. Furthermore, on the first night the noise from the road below was continuous with vehicles, motorcycles, and also lorries which seemed to be loading and unloading and we therefore suffered the worst night sleep possible.

The following day and having had virtually no sleep we advsied the reception we were checking out.

The windows and doors in our room were in need of replacement and the french doors leading to the balcony would not close flush because they were old and a little warped which all in all didnt help the noise situation.

When checking out of the hotel the receptionist only comments were that there was no refund policy and that other people had also complained about the noise from time to time. Apart from those comments he really didnt seem bothered and was only interested in the fact taht the hotel would not refund the cost of the following 2 nights stay.

I did write to the hotel about our experiences but a month later we are still awaiting even an acknowledgement which clearly they cannot bother to do.

after leaving the hotel we went and checked in to another place on the Croisette and it was perfect.

Also the Cavendish is in a rough part of the town and didnt seem particular nice to walk through either by day or night. It didnt seem safe at night.

I have never done a review before but felt on this occasion i really had to say something. It was an experience from hell staying at the worst hotel i have ever stayed at .

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Denis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristineWELTER, Propriétaire at Hotel Le Cavendish, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Sir,

First of all, It would have been important for me to meet with you upon your departure but as far as I know, you did not ask to meet with the management. I would have explained to you that you bought a non refundable package of 3 nights during a major event in Cannes.
Regarding cleanliness of the room, I am really surprised as all rooms are checked by my manager before each arrival and if you have a look on all other comments, no one is complaining on this subject .But it can happen and I would have been pleased to come into your room with you in order to check these details on the spot.
All windows are soundproofed and you even have shutters wich can be closed at night time to garantee a good sleep. Of course, as the hotel is located in the center of the city, you cannot let windows opened .
On another subject, all rooms are treated for bedbugs twice a year ( certificate can be sent ) and no problem of that type exists in our hotel. But this summer has been very warm and humid which means a lot of mosquitos on the French Riviera. Mosquitos are not in the rooms I agree with you as they hate air conditionning but they are outside everywhere .

Yours Sincerely
Christine WELTER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
201 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Le Cavendish is an excellent hotel. On arrival, we were offered a drink by the wonderful Anna Maria on the front desk. All of the staff are wonderful at this hotel; they are helpful, friendly, really treat you like family. We loved being here; we were sad to leave. The room was large, beautifully presented, and a delight to be in. We loved the quaint elevator, which you can still find in some beautiful buildings in France. The breakfasts are excellent. They have an “open bar” in the evening from 6pm (yes, by “open bar”, it is complimentary drinks and nibbles), which is a wonderful touch, and lovely to relax over a beer, glass of wine or gin & tonic before venturing off to dinner. We asked for a recommendation for a French restaurant close by, preferably non-touristy, and Anna sent us to us a gem. We ate there every night it was open (it was closed Sunday/Monday) and almost became friends with the owners. And we were the only non–French speaking in the restaurant. It was wonderful food and wine and the service impeccable. Le Cavendish is highly recommended. We will be back and the sooner the better.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FunTimes030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed at Le Cavendish in July 2012 and have been meaning to write this review ever since! From the minute we entered the hotel we were made to feel at home. The receptionist knew who we were as it was quite late in the day and whilst we were checking in we were offered a drink and our bags taken to our room. We were fortunate enough to be upgraded to a rotunda room and were blown away by everything in the room, the bedding, the bathroom and huge wrap around terrace were all far beyond expectation. There is an open bar from 6-9 with a variety of drinks and snacks. We will defiantly be back again, have recommended it to many friends and will be booking the rotunda room so that we can guarantee that terrace!! The hotel has towels to take to the beach and recommended some very good trips and restaurants. Oh and the staff were all amazing too and so welcoming! 5 out of 5, we are just so sorry it took us so long to write this review!!

Room Tip: GI for the rotunda room if you can, it is well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nadia_Khalifeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cannes hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel de Provence
Hotel de Provence
#1 of 130 in Cannes
4.5 of 5 stars 665 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Carlton Cannes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu 1835 Hotel & Thalasso
0.2 mi away
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
#4 of 130 in Cannes
4.5 of 5 stars 352 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Cavendish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Cavendish

Property: Hotel Le Cavendish
Address: 11 boulevard Carnot, 06400 Cannes, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 130 Hotels in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Cavendish 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located a few steps away from the famous Croisette and the luxurious shops in rue d'Antibes, Le Cavendish 4* hotel in Cannes offers an intimate getaway in a refined and cozy setting. Belle Epoque facade, lift dating back from 1920, stairs in marble of Carrare, genuine wood floors combine elegantly with a charming decoration for a definitely intimate stay. With the exclusive upscale service of luxury hospitality, Le Cavendish - boutique hotel in Cannes - and its 34 rooms has become one of a kind place to stay. Whether in couple, family or for business ... Enjoy Cannes differently. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, ACCOR and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Le Cavendish reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing