We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value - less great service”

Restaurant L'Antidote Christophe Ferre
Ranked #41 of 829 Restaurants in Cannes
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $57
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Søborg
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great value - less great service”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Vent yesterday - 2 adults and two children 8 and 12. We all had the 39 euro Menu L'Antidote. The foi gras starters were really good, the asparagus was OK but lacked a little "umph". As entrees the Bar a Ligne with polenta was really tasty as was the lobster risotto, too. The filet the beuf was more ordinary and only saved by the foi gras topping (4 euro extra). For deserted we had the creme brûlée which was served " on fire" unfortunately texture was too sturdy for my liking but it tasted fine. So overall the food was god value. The service however, lacked some etiquette and finesse - but that actually vent OK with the laid back summerly atmosphere in the cosy fenced-off garden next to blvd. de Alsace.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bregenholt99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    244
    130
    41
    20
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Delicieux.”
Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

I am a very picky and frequent restauranteur. L'Antidote was excellent in every aspect; plate-licking good cuisine, professional service with fluent English spoken, beautiful ambiance on the patio and overall the best value we have had in France; normally we would pay hundreds for this quality food at home. Our favorite dishes were the pesto burrata with prosciutto (ordered this both times we went, still day dreaming about it), filet with fois gras, salmon, risotto with tons of prawns and the flaming vanilla crime brûlée with warm waffle and ice cream. We will be going back on our last night in Cannes and will likely be fantasizing and talking about this restaurant long after. One small critique I had was that I got two bug bites on my legs from sitting near the water display our first night, so ladies use a teeny bit of bug spray on the bare skin; recipe for a perfect evening!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank TorontoFoodie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Pretty setting - very disappointing food and sloppy service”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We were recommended to this restaurant, so 7 of us tried it Saturday evening. The setting is nice, with outside tables in a courtyard beneath an attractive house (and quite a few tables inside the house as well). The lady who took our order was professional enough but we were not impressed with the waiting staff who were both gauche and amateurish - reaching over other members of our party rather than passing the plates onto the table by each recipient - and were somewhat 'brusque' when wine was being ordered. Also when it arrived the wine was 'dumped' onto the table - no grace, no finesse. The food itself was well presented but the 'cooking' very disappointing. Some of us had a starter which was to consist of asparagus and some other items - only 3 small asparagus heads were given - misleading!. The sorbet between starter and main course was tasteless, and main courses very boring and not particularly tasty. This was just basic cooking - no creativity, with ingredients just being put together individually with no real thought to the mix. For example the risotto dish was just rice with too much water in it, a basic pre-prepared sauce and then prawns - the result was not good. Given the relatively high price of the set menu that we had (€39 per person) this is approaching rip-off territory with not even good service.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Cannes winner”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We had a brief trip to Cannes in June. We tried a few restaurants, but were particularly impressed with this place. The food was fantastic and beautifully presented. The service is unfussy and friendly. Make sure you book, because it was very busy and many people were turned away. We sat outside in the courtyard which was great and is sheltered from the wind and traffic.
Would highly recommend this place and we would certainly go again if we were in Cannes in the future.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SPEXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Cannes!”
Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Just back from à family hol in Cannes. seven of us in total. We found it difficult to find good value/quality restaurants, that is until we found L'Antidote. A choice of two great value menus. The food was as good as it gets, from the gratin of asparagus to the steak, beautiful fresh fish and my favourite, the flambéd crème brûlée. Faultless and marvellous value. We will return next time

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank annab18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant L'Antidote Christophe Ferre also viewed

Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Restaurant L'Antidote Christophe Ferre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing