We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Shut this restaurant down” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafedes

Cafedes
Ranked #628 of 784 Restaurants in Cannes
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Gjovik, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Shut this restaurant down”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

We was hungry after a trip on an island and decided this looked like a fine restaurant.
(We really regret not reading recommendations here first!

We were met by a man who spoke one word english and the rest of the sentence in french.
It took long time before we could get to order, and when finally he told us that they didn't serve pizza before eight o'clock in the evening..... We had gotten a meny with a hole page of pizzas, but couldn't order one. Are you kidding me?
He should have given us a meny without pizza choice, or at least told us when we sat down that they didn't serve pizza at this time.

We ended up ordering carbonara and bolognese, I felt the rush and bolognese wasn't exactly what I wanted the most. We got the food quick, so that was good.
My food tasted ok, nothing special (I ordered bolognese). My boyfriend thought that microwave food from Norway taste better than this.

The table next to us ordered hamburgers which looked really good.
And they got the food quite quick!

We had a good experience while leaving. A young girl from the staff (wearing orange jogging shoes) spoke good english and was very nice and thanked us for eating at the restaurant. She deserved a star! She also served the table next to us, and I'm sure that if she had served us in the first place we would have a much better experience! No doubt!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TvictoriaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    13
    18
    19
    116
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Miserable food!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

Last week several times we went there and tried several dishes.
The food was miserable. Never seen before!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Selectie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Go somewhere else!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

This restaurant was bad from start to finish... The staff were disinterested and the service was slow. The spaghetti carbonara was tasteless and the pizza my wife ordered arrived 5 minutes after the rest of the food. When serving the pizza the waitress knocked over a full glass of coke all over the table and floor... When we left not a single member of staff thanked us or said goodbye. Do yourself a favour and walk a few minutes further round the harbour and choose another restaurant!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hungry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
142 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Best moules, light large salads!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

We tried moules et frites at least 7 times, in each city in South of France.
This restaurant, although a small and casual cafe, had AMAZING moules! Amazingly fresh, large, and well cooked.

We got the peche salade, huge, super light, and very filling. Good value for money!
Excellent arrabiata pasta as well -- surprisingly much better than the Italian ones on the croisette facing the main hotels.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Oliver_Zeitoun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
629 reviews
424 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
“Good Value in Prime Cannes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

We enjoyed our dinner here, taken around the time of this past fall's Regatta. The food was very good indeed, the location/view as good as it gets, but most importantly, the extremely colorful staff made sure that all our needs were met----they genuinely cared. *And what a staff! Hollywood handsome men and absolutely stunning women! Cannes is really not our kind of place, but the people who operate Cafedes are feet-on-the-ground wonderful.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank zebecToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafedes also viewed

Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Cafedes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing