We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Hotel for a memorable stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Carlton Cannes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
InterContinental Carlton Cannes
Ranked #9 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Certificate of Excellence
Paris
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel for a memorable stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2010

Beautiful hotel on Canne's croisette - perfect location and the service is great - we were lucky to have a room on the ocean which enabled us to see not only the scenery but luckyyly the fireworks organised by the city of cannes in summer. Will return one day

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaudeJumbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,788 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    967
    451
    199
    91
    80
See reviews for
228
841
55
327
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Europe
Level Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2010

Was at the Carlton & as I am pregnant I ordered a virgin Mary. For 15e what arrived was a glass bottle if tomato juice plus an inch of worster sauce in the glass. No celery. No pepper. No tobasco. Hotel was 'dead'. No atmosphere. Beautiful decor etc etc but not impressed if they can't get the most basic cocktail right.
Even the tomato juice was left on table for me to pour into glass if brown sauce with a .....straw. Classy or what!!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Europesally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2010

If you’re staying here then you probably need to know three things.
1. You’re going to want to buy into the old style Hollywood feel, and pretend to movie stars to really enjoy it, there are other more modern hotels with newer facilities for the money but this has old Cannes class.
2. If you’re spending say 550Euro a night (1130 rack rate) then go a bit further and get the sea view deluxe room at 600Euro (all end of Sept 2010 prices from intercontinental.com). The tall windows open all the way, the view is terrific, and you’ll get the most of the high ceiling, airy rooms
3. The beach isn’t included, breakfast is expensive, and it has a very if you have to ask it’s too expensive feel – but hey, if you’re there to be showy, it might just be the place to stay.
In more detail.
We stayed here as with most of our vacation posh hotels on points from my business travels (which tends not to be so luxurious), it’s one of the iconic Cannes landmarks on the front, the rooms are old European style, very high ceiling, huge wardrobes, big bed and drapes - Marble gold, faded washed woods, blue, florals and fleur de llys styling. The internal magazines are all about the film stars staying there, watches, and the flash cars parked outside. We really liked and enjoyed it, but you can read other reviews that talk about some of the facilities are therefore more classic – i.e the bed did squeak a bit (though was very comfortable), some things looked slightly tired, and the sound insulation isn’t as good as a modern 5* hotel.
The hotel is U shape with the base facing the sea, and the arms stretching back to land. This means the most imposing front and the best views but only for a smaller fraction of the rooms, 2/3rds don’t have a sea view really. I can imagine that if you paying the full rate and get a view of astro-turf covering to where they park the bins (the absolute worst case I highlight, but clearly possible looking out from our room), the full opening full length windows (clear warnings on the glass if you have kids) aren’t going to get a lot of use and you’re going to be annoyed. Some of the other hotels on the front (like the Majestic Barriere) are U shaped with the arms facing towards the sea, this sets back the frontage, making it less picture worthy for the tourists, but more rooms get a nicer view. So if you can afford to stay here, worth paying a bit extra to get a really good view, throw open the windows and order something nice. Well worth it.
Breakfast is between 32 and 38 Euros – you can read in other reviews it includes champagne?, or sparkling wine? Not sure we didn’t go, there is only so much you can do with breakfast really. The terrace is however as the reviews say very swish and a very nice place to sit. However Le Comptoir is a swish suede seated café just two doors to the right as you leave and a pastry, coffee, half baguette, jam and freshly pressed orange juice are 9.50Euros with a view and seating 75% as nice. The intercontinental beach is 31 (any row), 33 (front row), 38 (on the pier) Euros, with a 13Euro deduction after 15:00. It does state clearly in the book that it’s not included, but there is no discount for residents, and not really any reason to encourage you to go there and not to another location, as it’s a totally different establishment, you need to walk out of the hotel and over the road. You can find places to the left if you walk a little with free for kids under 10, from 0 in municipal either end of the front, 7 for just a seat next to it, through about 15 in the cheaper places, 25 in the middle places, this is the top end. 3-14 (middle rate) to the left a bit gets our vote, and the menu du marche at 25Euros is recommended as is their bonkers grass seated bar, Cinq, back from the front. Anyway the point is that if you’re the sort of person who sits down and works out the value of breakfast or beaches you are probably not target audience, it’s a hotel full of things for people who don’t look at the prices. Can you decide between the Dom @ 590E or the Rose Cristal at 650E…
To round up: Nice toiletries, staff very pleasant (much nicer than many of the other guests we ran into), lovely but older style room, beautiful hotel and architecture, great location (0.3 km from station and absolutely in the centre of the main front), lots of cars to photograph, chance to see a celeb or two (if you go at the right time) and in general we had a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stayingawhile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Bank, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2010

Typical rooms that need a serious renovation. The beach club dining is exquisite and the staff is impeccable.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank milspec1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
141 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2010

Excellent, highly recommended. Stayed a long w-end for a wedding; everything was up to standard and even beyond. Very polite and helpfull staff. Excellent cuisine. Nice confortable rooms. Nothing negative to mention. The highlight of stay in Cannes.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Xofi10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario
Level Contributor
360 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2010

We literally just got back from a 2 week holiday in Europe - with 3 nights in Cannes and the rest on a Med cruise.

Before I go any further, I'll tell you that I've had the pleasure to stay in some of the nicest hotels in the world. And have travelled around the world. So lots of experience with this stuff.

It's a nice hotel in a fantastic location - prime spot. But there's just no 'atmosphere'. My wife & I really can't understand the hype about this place. We really just didn't feel welcome at all. Every time we came in, we almost felt like we had to hold up our room key just to prove we really were staying there.

And I can understand some of it - I mean there's a constant small crowd outside the hotel, taking pictures of the "legenday" place, taking pics of the cars parked outside (several custom Lamborghini's, Ferrarri's, custom Porsche and a couple Bughatti Veryon's - at $1.2 million each... There's only a handful in the world and we saw 2 at the hotel...).

Having said that, once inside, there's no personality, no atmosphere. It is beautiful in a classic way - I'll give it that. But the employees. I mean security just stared you down. You felt like you shouldn't be there. I sat at the lounge bar 3 nights and only got served 2 of those nights, and only 1 beer at that, as they wouldn't come over. The Spa workers wouldn't even look at you because you were working out in their free gym and not paying for their spa treatments.

My wife was actually on a workout bench & it collapsed, giving her basically an opposite of a whiplash (her head fell as the bench collapsed, then hit her head on the bench as it hit the floor). They were there and no one did anything. I told her to tell the front desk, for safety reasons. They didn't even ask her name, if she's ok (no, she wasn't), what happened, nothing.

Rooms are very small, but nice (typical European for size). Not very soundproof, as we had to listen to the intimate couple in the room above ours.

It's definitely on the 'main strip' and that's one of the only advantages. It's right across the road from the beach, and they have a private beach there. But you have to pay an outrageous amount to be on it. You just can't go to the beach, you buy a lawn chair that is stacked in there so tightly, you're going to know everything about your neighbours very quickly. It didn't matter to us, as we weren't 'beaching it' - the beaches in our home area, as well as the US, Mexico, or Caribean would put this to shame - so we didn't feel the need to be on the beach.

And please don't take that comment the wrong way. This would be a lovely beach - if every square metre of the actual beach wasn't owned by a hotel. There's so many bars, restaurants, and lawn chairs that you can't really actually see much of the beach. Except in the 'public' beach areas - which are few & far between.

Cannes itself was incredible and would certainly recommend it. Restaurants, bars, scenery - just amazing. Just a little note, though. If you decide to go to Monte Carlo (would definitely recommend it) and don't mind spending a little extra money, take the boat over instead of the train. Train was over an hour, I believe, as it stopped at every little train stop. Boat was about the same time, but a little more expensive. We heard about the boat option our last day & wish we would have done that, as the coast was beautiful.

Back to the hotel, it's nice, centrally located, but just not worth it. And it really didn't seem like they cared at all about you, honestly. Unless you want to 'be seen' at that hotel, save your money.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MSkinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2010

Overall this is an absolutely excellent hotel in a great location, but with a rack rate of well over £1000 per night not for budget travellers! Couple of downsides... the AC was set at about 23 degrees and could not be changed, and the tiny toilet is in a separate room to the bathroom. On the plus side, the service was outstanding, the rooms large (try and get a sea view) and the location cannot be beat. Would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisBustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cannes hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes
0.2 mi away
Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu 1835 Hotel & Thalasso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
#2 of 126 in Cannes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott Cannes
JW Marriott Cannes
#13 of 126 in Cannes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Provence
Hotel de Provence
#1 of 126 in Cannes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Carlton Cannes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Carlton Cannes

Property: InterContinental Carlton Cannes
Address: 58 La Croisette | CS 40052, 06414 Cannes, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Cannes
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cannes
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cannes
#11 Business Hotel in Cannes
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Carlton Cannes 5*
Number of rooms: 343
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Cannes. There is a place at the heart of La Croisette where you can enjoy a truly unforgettable moment in an intimate setting. Thanks to 100 years of tradition at your service, the InterContinental Carlton offers a unique experience under the Mediterranean sun. A genuine legend: The InterContinental Carlton Cannes cultivates this refined atmosphere where yesterday's charm and spirit mix with today's expectations. With its 343 rooms and suites, its restaurants and bars, its famous terrace and its private beach of fine sand, it offers incomparable service worthy of the best hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental Carlton Cannes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Carlton Cannes Hotel Cannes
Intercontinental Cannes
Carlton Cannes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing