We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Many stars were borne from deals at this infamous, outdoor patio”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Carlton Cannes
Ranked #11 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 11, 2013

For those of you familiar with the annual Cannes Film Festival and Marche du Filme, the Carlton Hotel is infamous for being the "place where the big deals get made." Their lovely, outdoor patio, adjacent to the Croissette and overlooking the bay, is where many major film deals were made and stars were signed. But the real treat is the top-floor level restaurant in the Hotel. It's not fair to "only" give this dining experience 5-stars, because it's truly so far beyond the customary level of excellence that not adequate adjective exists. So, like the crazy band members in "Spinal Tap" who gave their volume knob a mark for "11" instead of "10", I hereby nominate the Carlton as having the world's only SIX-star restaurant!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EricParkinson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonCannes, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Carlton Cannes, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Dear EricParkinson1,

Thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor.

Your stay is registered from May 2013, but this is approximately 10years that the restaurant on the Top floor is not anymore "in service". An executive floor with prestigious suites has open since this date.

This is the reason why the formal Brasserie changed to be the Carlton Restaurant with gastronomic meals.

We hope to welcome you back soon to live another delight gastronomic experience in the Carlton restaurant or on its terrace, in May and the rest of the year, where our valuable Client love to stay in the only place to enjoy the Croisette (for business, or for leisure).

Thank you again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,963)
There are newer reviews for InterContinental Carlton Cannes
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

623 - 629 of 1,963 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

We always visit the Carlton when we visit Southern France. The ambience and service is second to none. The view is stunning, the staff are simply wonderful and you always feel very well looked after. The hotel is 100 years old this year and is due to have a large scale refurbishment soon, which is really needed! Even though a little tatty now, the rooms are still light and well equipped.
The hotel is expensive but you get treated like a VIP so even if you stay for a cup of tea it's worth it.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Disney-Cook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonCannes, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Carlton Cannes, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Dear Mr and Mrs Disney-Cook,

First of all,thank you for giving from your lavish time by providing us with your feedback concerning your recent stay at the Intercontinental Carlton Cannes.
Our hotel team as a whole is delighted to read such dazzling comments from some devoted guests.
We appreciate your continuous loyalty;thus looking forward on welcoming you in our legendary palace in the nearest future.

Best regards from Sunny Cannes !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We came by the hotel for a drink one evening, and also walked past on a couple of occasions during our stay in Cannes. Its a lovely building with a very glitzy past and an atmosphere that we thought would be fun to soak up. All the staff we encountered were perfectly polite, but I have a very serious concern that no-one here seems to have pointed out and I have no idea why. There must have been a V, VIP staying there at the time because there was security everywhere, and we were told we could not take pictures of the beautiful interior of the hotel. Remember, this is one of the most famous hotels in France, if not the world, and must have been pictured millions of times. The security was very polite as I said, but - and this is my main concern - there was a group of "police" outside the front entrance. These "police" were causally dressed (jeans, t-shirts etc) but had body armour (with the words "Police" written on them). One of them was holding a very powerful shotgun with an ammunition belt slung around his waist. When I say holding, I mean it was dangling down his side, in one hand, with his finger half an inch from the trigger (not on it, but very very near). He looked for all the world like he was out hunting in the woods. These "police" were very friendly, laughing and joking with visitors and guests as they came and went and I'm sure they were who they purported to be. But I feel very very strongly that any brazen show of heavily armed security in a tourist destination should be utterly professional with full uniformed and highly disciplined police (or at least giving that impression!!!) that do not overly fraternise. I live in London, so I'm very used to professional, armed police on the streets, but even I was very shocked by the seemingly casual nature of this display. I don't like guns at any time, and I was very very alarmed to see heavy calibre weapons loosely held in the hands of casually dressed people outside a hotel. If the nature of the threat was so serious that a policeman needed to have the gun lose, with his finger a touch away from the trigger, I for one wanted to give that place as much distance as possible. Shame because its a lovely looking hotel.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
4  Thank Sunseeker1Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonCannes, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Carlton Cannes, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear guests,

First of all,thank you very much for sharing your feedback concerning your recent visit at the Carlton Terrace and Bar.
We were happy to read you enjoyed all its advantages in terms of service and quality of the staff.
Concerning your comments about the presence of armed policemen in front of the hotel, I would like to inform you that this unfolding was due to a reinforcement measure coming directly from the French Government's authority in order to increase the security in front and inside public areas such as hotels, administration buildings , bars or restaurants.
This measure was resulting of the potential threat due to a certain instability on the international political scene.
Even if the people were looking relaxed and casual , rest assured that they were perfectly conscious of their duty in terms of security and responsibility.
Thank you very much once more for sharing your experience.

Sincerely Yours

R.Van de Poël
Assistant Manager / Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We had a short stay at the Carlton Cannes - three instead of planed seven days. As a Royal Ambassador I got a nice upgrade to a suite - city view, and free mini bar. All good so far. Unfortunately, the rooms and the whole hotel are super old and in very bad shape. The staff was very nice and professional. Value wise it was a desaster - even the breakfast € 42,- per person is well below average.
Very nice on the other hand is the location of the hotel - right on the Croisette of Cannes.
All in all I would or will not go there again, since there a better hotels to stay at Cote D'Azur value wise.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MT1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonCannes, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Carlton Cannes, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Dear MT1978 ,

First and for most we thank you on noting your feedback concerning your recent stay at the InterContinental Carlton Cannes.

Our staff is delighted to read the superior response you mentioned concerning the interaction.

However, the hotel team was regretful to discover that they did not meet your expectations in some sectors during your stay.

When it comes to lodging we are certain that you have many choices to choose upon, and we hope you will pick our palace persistently

Best Regards,

Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

The hotel is old, our room was some kind of a hostel room in the 3rd world country but not a 5-star hotel room in Cannes. Breakfasts did not change at all during our 4-night stay, service was poor - only one service of the room at ridiculous time (around 3 pm), restaurant service was slow and unfriendly. The only good thing about this hotel was parking but for a price of 40 euros a day they could also clean the car and not just keep it in the garage. Altogether a terrible hotel, terrible service, nightmare experience for 600 euros per night.

Room Tip: Don't stay there
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jtretreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonCannes, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Carlton Cannes, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Dear Jtretreat,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback concerning your recent stay at the Intercontinental Carlton Cannes.
We were sorry to learn that you did not enjoy your experience at all.
Rest assured that your comments concerning the lack of service will be shared with the concerned departments.
Our main goal is to reach our valuable guests's satisfaction and it is always a pity for us when this specific objective is not reached.
We regret however you did not give us the opportunity to assist you directly while staying at the hotel .
We sincerely hope you will give us the opportunity to welcoming you back at the Carlton.

Best regards

R.Van de Poël
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Having stayed at the carlton with my family ever year and now with my own family it's such a joy to see the same wonder staff year on year, I would particularly like to mention Oliver and the exceptional staff on the beach. We have travelled to many 5 star hotels around the world but nothing comes close to the service care and attention to detail they provide. I hope the owners are aware of their importance to your regular guests!!!

I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough it's just like home perfect in ever way.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ellaholly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonCannes, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Carlton Cannes, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear Ellaholly,

First of all, I would like to thank you for your loyalty towards the InterContinental Carlton Cannes and for taking few minutes to comment your stay with us.
It is a pleasure to read such lovely remarks from our valued clients.
It is our best rewards and we will share your positive feedback with our team, especially with the staff of the Beach.

Looking forward to have the pleasure to welcome you soon to our property.

Yours sincerely,

Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Starting with the positives - the Carlton Hotel is absolutely beautiful, it is certainly THE place to be in Cannes. Sailing in to Cannes, the Carlton is the first building you notice on the waterfront. Its design is exquisite, and it stands grand and majestic next to all the other hotels. The Carlton has been around for over a hundred years and is such a big part of Cannes' history. It's pretty amazing to stay in the hotel knowing that it's where Prince Rainier and Grace Kelly first met, where countless balls and society events have taken place, where all the royals of the film world flock to during the film festival...

The rooms are pretty beautiful, I had booked into quite a standard room (as standard as you get for 690 euro per night!) but was upgraded to a beautiful suite (I think it helped that we were on our honeymoon and I have a Gold Ambassador card - little tip, I strongly suggest anyone who stays at IHG hotels get one of these! They cost USD200 only but you instantly make that back as you get a free weekend night stay at any IHG hotel, and then you get a guaranteed upgrade, priority check in, 4pm check out, free wifi, in house movies, great treatment in general etc etc), which was absolutely huge, with a VERY comfortable bed, huge bathroom. The furniture was a bit dated but it certainly was not tatty or worn - and in any case I understand the hotel has renovations scheduled.

The hotel facilities are interesting - for the price of the accommodation one would certainly expect that it would have a pool - or at the minimum that guests would have free access to the Carlton's private beach - but indeed you have to pay 35 euro each for sun beds! These include parasols and towers, and it's quite usual to have to pay for sun beds in the riviera, but still!

One thing I feel inclined to comment on - there are a LOT of Arabs and Russians staying at the hotel, who have a lot of money and who must pay enormous tips to command the level of service that they get (I suspect they might be the owners of the 10 or so Lamborghinis/Ferraris that are parked out the front of the hotel at any one time). I have read other users' reviews and definitely agree that on the terrace of the hotel, where it is very hip to go and have dinner or drinks or coffees, half the tables will be empty yet they will turn away most people - other than, of course, people of the abovementioned races! My partner and I are a young couple and we managed to get seated almost instantly, but I did notice a lot of older less attractive people (sorry to say that) who were told that the tables were all reserved, that they would have to come back in an hour or two etc - and these people were guests of the hotel! Our treatment was absolutely fine, and in fact the restaurant manager kept throwing free things at us which was very nice and we got along great, but I did feel bad to see so many guests of the hotel being turned away just because they did not fit the target demographic or were not paying enough ridiculous tips.

Anyway other than those two gripes the hotel was perfect and of course there is no other place I would stay at in Cannes!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nooree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonCannes, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Carlton Cannes, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Dear Noree,

First of all,thank you very much for sharing your feedback concerning your recent stay at the Intercontinental Carlton Cannes.
We were glad to read that you enjoyed the Hotel in general and that we managed to meet your expectations in terms of quality.
Your comments about its architecture and history are reflecting you enjoyed to stay into this magnificent and legendary building !
We were also happy to learn that you took all the advantages of the Intercontinental Ambassador membership card and that you enjoyed the privileges such as room upgrade , late check-out and other specific VIP treatments.
We were however sorry to learn you were not totally satisfied with certain of its aspects
Our Terrace is indeed the place to be In Cannes during the summer and it is always difficult to meet everyone’s expectations
During the summer and all year long, our Hotel is hosting guests from all over the world including of course Middle East and Russian tourists and we are sincerely surprised by certain terms used at the end of your review
When you speak about “ races” and “demographic target”, I would like to inform you that our commitment to all our valuable guests is not based on their origins or what or who they represent .
The Carlton together with IHG are indeed celebrating the difference and the cultural wealth in every moment by welcoming people from all the planet
Thank you very much once more for sharing your experience.
We are looking forward to have the opportunity to welcoming you back soon at the Intercontinental Carlton Cannes

The Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cannes hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes
0.2 mi away
Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott Cannes
JW Marriott Cannes
#14 of 126 in Cannes
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
#3 of 126 in Cannes
539 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu 1835 Hotel & Thalasso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Carlton Cannes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Carlton Cannes

Address: 58 La Croisette, 06414 Cannes, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cannes
#5 Family Hotel in Cannes
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cannes
#11 Business Hotel in Cannes
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cannes
Price Range: $227 - $1,225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Carlton Cannes 5*
Number of rooms: 343
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Carlton In Cannes, one of the best-known cities in the world, is one of the world’s most mythical hotels. Since 1913, in the heart of the Bay of Cannes on the prestigious Boulevard de la Croisette, the InterContinental Carlton Cannes has demonstrated its savoir-faire in a tradition of matchless hospitality still carried on today by the men and women who are its inheritors. In the Mediterranean sunshine, immerse yourself in an elegant and refined atmosphere where the charm and tradition of yesteryear live on in harmony with the demands of modern life. With its 343 rooms and suites, its restaurants and bars, its famous terrace and private white-sand beach, the Carlton invites you to join in writing its continuing history each day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Carlton Cannes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Carlton Cannes Hotel Cannes
Intercontinental Cannes
Carlton Cannes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing