We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Century of Elegance?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Carlton Cannes
Ranked #11 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 27, 2013

"Century of Elegance" is the motto of Intercontinental Carlton Cannes. Yes, this must have been an elegant hotel once upon a time, but definetely, not now. We were obliged to have breakfast and dinner in a terrace-converted space instead of the original Carlton Restaurant. The terrace was converted with inappropriate and cheap materials such as wood imitation vinyl flooring, unpleasant to see and irregular to walk on. The dead roses on the tables were not replaced for days, the sink in the bathroom of our sea view room had a crack, we could hear the wake-up call and the conversations in the neighbouring room.
Friday is the day of Lobster & Champagne, again in the terrace-converted restaurant! We were served a completely different lobster dish from the one we had seen on the announccements. The starter and the dessert were very good but unfortunately I cannot say the same for the main dish. It was tasteless and stiff to cut and chew.
I think this is one of the two most beautiful buildings of La Croisette, with an interesting history and I do hope that it will be taken care and maintained accordingly.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gulgezen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonCannes, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Carlton Cannes, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Dear Gulgezen,

First of all,thank you very much for leaving your comments regarding your recent stay at the Intercontinental Carlton Cannes.
I was sorry to learn that certain of its aspects did not meet your expectations.
Your comments about the Carlton Restaurant and the room you occupied caught all our attention and were immediately shared with the concerned departments.
It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important for us as they enable us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future.
We appreciate your candid feedback and always welcome any opportunity to improve.
Once again,thank you very much for taking the time to share it with us.
We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose IHG for your future travel needs.

Sincerely Yours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,009)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

712 - 718 of 2,009 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2013

Enjoyed an exceptional upgrade to a seaview room on 5th floor. The room was elegant and the curtains billowing gently at the open balcony window when we entered the room framed a gorgeous view.
The staff were very helpful & friendly and the night we spent in this lovely hotel was one of the highlights of our weeks holiday.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MLW28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonCannes, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Carlton Cannes, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Dear MLW28,

Thank you so much for taking the time to describe your glamour experience at the InterContinental Carlton Cannes Hotel?

It is a pleasure to read such lovely feedback from our Guests.

This amazing view from the Deluxe sea view rooms and Suites, enjoyable like the one in a cruise ship, and the knowledge of our team will always be at your service to make your stays unforgettable.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon in our historical hotel which celebrates this year is Century of Elegance (1913 - 2013)

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We were here for six nights, had a lovely room overlooking La Croisette but the rooms are a little tired and outdated. We had a flat screen television perched quite high up on top of the old television cabinet and one had to be at the right angle to view it properly and small in size for a hotel of this magnitude .There was a great selection of channels - about 15 English - many German - Arabic - Italian and Russian as well as French. The bathroom was very old and rather small - shower curtain in the bathtub - old hairdryer still attached to the wall, even if there was a newer type in the desk drawer (no mention of this anywhere) a makeup mirror that was supposed to have a light but had no connection and only one sink. No bottled water was supplied either - you had to pay for it out of the mini bar. The food in the hotel was very good, and all the staff throughout the hotel were most outgoing, courteous and helpful. You could not fault anyone.

Room Tip: If you can, a room on the front overlooking the water "La Croisette"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 19Maxine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonCannes, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Carlton Cannes, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Dear 19Maxine

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay at the InterContinental Carlton Cannes.

It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us.

Your feedback enables us to target problems and take the necessary actions to provide superior service. And it is a great honor to read that you enjoyed your stay.

Looking forward to welcoming you very soon to enjoy another great InterContinental experience.


Sincerly yours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I can't give it 5 stars but it's close. Great location over the sea with beautiful views of the city. The staff was very friendly and helpful even though the hotel was full. Their breakfast was realy good.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonCannes, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Carlton Cannes, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you for sharing your experience following your recent stay at the InterContinental Carlton Cannes hotel.

We are really proud to read that you have greatly enjoyed all its aspects, the location, the Champagne buffet breakfast, the kindness and behaviour of our helpful team.

Once again, thank you for your positive comment, this is our best reward.

Looking forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

At the end of February, 2012 we lived in hotel Carlton in Cannes. It is a low season so the were few guests and low prices. Hotel advantages: spacious rooms, obliging personnel, pleasant site... There is everything that the legendary high quality hotel need to have. Hotel minuses: expensive breakfasts and lack of the Internet in rooms. Though, in my opinion, to be closed in the room alone with the laptop, it isn't necessary to go to Cannes...

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vkovr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonCannes, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Carlton Cannes, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Dear vkovr,

First of all, thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay at the InterContinental Carlton Cannes.
We are really happy to learn that you had a wonderful time at the Hotel.
It is always a pleasure to receive such a nice feedback.
Be sure that your comments will be shared with the rest of the team in order to let them know they managed to reach your expectations.
We are looking forward to welcoming you very soon at the Carlton.

Best regards from Sunny Cannes !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

This hotel was an incredible surprise. A Grand Dame that has not faded in Glory, rather she continues to stay current and relevant. The one night I stayed here convinced me I wanted to live here for the rest of my life.

Room Tip: Choose a room with even a peek at the water, it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiamiOlivia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonCannes, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Carlton Cannes, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Dear Miamiolivia,

Thank you for your lovely comments.

We are really proud to read your experience at the InterContinental Carlton Cannes hotel.

100 years of elegance and services. 2013 celebrates our first century. And all the Carlton team creates the dream accessible to make our guest stay unforgettable in an hotel full of history.

Once again thank you for sharing your feedback.

See you soon in your Cannes Residence with the pleasure to teach you 100 years of anecdotes....

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Great location and good servicee but the Hotel is in need of renovation. I stayed in August last year with my husband and 2yrs old daughter and we were given a double room with a cot. The room was very good size and we were very comfortable considering the cot took quite a lot of space. Service was really good and we even received a bottle of champagne and chocolates for my husband's birthday (we didnt mention it was his birthday when reserving the room). Overall a nice experience but the interior of the Hotel is quite dated.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Family069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonCannes, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Carlton Cannes, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Dear Madam,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay last summer, we really appreciate the time you spent sharing your comments.

It is a pleasure to read you had a great experience at the IC Carlton Cannes hotel which celebrates its first century in 2013, and that you had enjoyed our personalized present for your birthday, making this stay unforgettable.

Thank you again, and we do hope having the honor to welcome you back for your next stay on the french riviera.

Sincerely yours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cannes hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes
0.2 mi away
Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott Cannes
JW Marriott Cannes
#15 of 126 in Cannes
913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
#3 of 126 in Cannes
566 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu 1835 Hotel & Thalasso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Carlton Cannes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Carlton Cannes

Address: 58 La Croisette, 06414 Cannes, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Cannes
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cannes
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cannes
#11 Business Hotel in Cannes
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cannes
Price Range: $214 - $792 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Carlton Cannes 5*
Number of rooms: 343
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Carlton In Cannes, one of the best-known cities in the world, is one of the world’s most mythical hotels. Since 1913, in the heart of the Bay of Cannes on the prestigious Boulevard de la Croisette, the InterContinental Carlton Cannes has demonstrated its savoir-faire in a tradition of matchless hospitality still carried on today by the men and women who are its inheritors. In the Mediterranean sunshine, immerse yourself in an elegant and refined atmosphere where the charm and tradition of yesteryear live on in harmony with the demands of modern life. With its 343 rooms and suites, its restaurants and bars, its famous terrace and private white-sand beach, the Carlton invites you to join in writing its continuing history each day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, IHG, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your InterContinental Carlton Cannes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Carlton Cannes Hotel Cannes
Intercontinental Cannes
Carlton Cannes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing