We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great but pricey” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Carlton Cannes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
InterContinental Carlton Cannes
Ranked #9 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Certificate of Excellence
jeddah
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great but pricey”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

As a hotel it really is a FIVE star one. The hotel is nice, perfect location, breakfast is amazing, service is really good and people are friendly. We stayed for five nights there and it was really worth it. It has a private beach just across the street which was the only disappointment of the trip. The beach is limited seats and staying in the hotel does NOT give you any advantages. Its waay too expensive when comparing it to the neighboring private beaches, almost double the prices and honestly with no extra advantages.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Razan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonCannes, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Carlton Cannes, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience regarding your last stay at the InterContinental Carlton Cannes.

Some of the aspects that you have described do not reflect the image and the service that we want to deliver to our guests.

We have taken notes and these are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose INTERCONTINENTAL for your future travel needs.

Yours sincerely,
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,789 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    967
    452
    199
    91
    80
See reviews for
228
842
55
327
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Douglas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

We loved our stay, here, sea facing room with great view, wonderful breakfast and dinner in the restaurant. The only thing that spoilt our stay were the very noisy people in the next room. The staff we are encountered were very helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pduxb24138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonCannes, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Carlton Cannes, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear PTD,

It is a real pleasure for all of us to read your positive comments about the Intercontinental Carlton in Cannes.

The entire team thank you, this is a great reward and we are proud to have been able to give you this unique moment.

In the hope to receive you again we remain at your disposal.

Yours sincerely,

Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Makkah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

The hotel has an amazing beachfront location , rooms are very relaxing and clean , although not all with good views . The service is extremely good as the staff are well trained to make guests feel very welcome . We had a problem with our room as it was freshly painted and had a strong smell of paint . Once mentioned to the front desk the room was changed instantly with a much nicer room . The breakfast was great with a wide variety .
The only problem is the price , a bit expensive but is worth the money .
My advice is don't use the hotel's beach , as it is expensive and has no advantage over many many neighboring beaches . Just walk down the street and find a cheaper beach .

Room Tip: ask for a better room if you felt your room is old . They have old rooms and new renovated rooms .
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ghassan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonCannes, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Carlton Cannes, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Ghassan O,

We would like to thank you for sharing your comments following your stay at the InterContinental Carlton Cannes.

We are glad to have contributed to your nice stay and our staffs appreciate your comment.

It would be a great honour to welcome you again at the Intercontinental Carlton Cannes.

Yours sincerely,

Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

We had stunning few days in Cannes. I could not stop myself taking picture of the hotel's facade. Front office check in was really professional and friendly, trying to sell upgrades in a nice way - something people don't appreciate sometimes but we did enjoy the new approach. Rooms are little dated, although the bed was extremely comfortable and linen was new. Housekeeping did very very good job. Breakfast was standard hotel buffet, nothing special, would appreciate little more effort on food selection. Service was speedy.
Doormen could have been friendlier - we felt like we are intruding the hotel everytime we pass them.
Spending the day on the Hotel's pontoon was perfect - service was excellent.

Room Tip: Higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vanekontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonCannes, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Carlton Cannes, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Vanekontheroad,

It is a pleasure to read such lovely comments from our clients!

We are delighted to see how much you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and Cannes, the all team thank you for your positive comments.

It would be a great honour to welcome you back next year at the Intercontinental Carlton Cannes.

Yours sincerely,

Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

Stayed at the hotel for the 3rd time and yet again it was not refurbished. Last time they told us that the hotel will close but it obviously didn't close. The rooms are so tired and out dated. The decor somewhat works for the hotel, but not the wallpaper coming off and stained carpets all over the hotel. The bathroom is tinny and a tub/shower combination is so yesterday. The bathroom was so sold and is in even more need to be refurbished. The hotel is not worth Euro 400 a night. Not even a bottle of water was offered on turn down. This is actually a simple five star standard. I guess the hotel is no longer a five star – overpriced 4 star.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank traveler_de
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Carlton Cannes, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear traveler_de,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. Please accept my sincere apology for the overall dissatisfaction you experienced during your stay and I regret our hotel did not live up to your expectations. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to continually monitor and improve the quality and services we offer to our guests.

Though I would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, I would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and I hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

The Carlton lives on it's past reputation as the 'palace of the stars'. It has a beautiful view on La Croisette...if you have a good room. We were offered a room which was quite small for the two of us and smelt very strongly of enamel paint. Staff were happy to show us two other rooms, one smaller and one absolutely tiny...none with a view. We were eventually given a much larger room which was comfortable although slightly faded - having not been renovated. The staff at the hotel were exceptionally pleasant and helpful which was a surprise given that often in France 'le client ne'st pas roi'. The big downside of this hotel was the lack of choice of restaurant. The breakfast/tea/bar area is not very attractive especially in the evening when it is flooded with rather garish blue light and not at all intimate. There are a few rather strange pictures referring to movies on the wall but that aside, no sense of the history of this once beautiful building. During the day the choice of light food is small and terribly expensive with starters priced at an exorbitant 30-odd Euros. At night the dining room is rather unwelcoming and very expensive but the food is good. The dining room comes to life at breakfast in the morning, which on a sunny day has a sparkling and exceptional view onto the Croisette and the sea - and one can drink coffee while imagining the stars enjoying their croissants beside you. With a bit of imagination, a bar on the roof, a better choice of restaurants and some good renovation, this hotel could be fabulous. Warning: bring vast quantities of credit cards and euros with you.....
La Croisette is lined with top designer shops and very expensive restaurants and in order not to break the bank eating anywhere here it is a good idea to walk up to rue d'Antibes where there are plenty of little bistros off the side streets. For a more fun experience, catch the bus (1 Euro each) to Antibes and explore the little cobbled streets and boutiques in the old town...

Room Tip: If you don't like your room, ask for another one......especially with a view of La Croisette.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Castelet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonCannes, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Carlton Cannes, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Castelet,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on Trip Advisor website following your recent stay at the Intercontinental Carlton Cannes.

Be assured that we have expressed your satisfaction and your compliments to our staff, and be sure that the comments you have pointed out already resulted in changes to our services.
We take into account the remarks that our customers can express in order to continue to reach their expectations at every opportunity.

Thank you for sharing your thoughts and I hope that you will reconsider us again on your next travel.

Yours sincerely,

Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
58 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

I am a hotel snob, and as such, nice beds, good bedding, and a fancy bathroom will automatically get some credit with me. This hotel had all those things, plus amazing wardrobes, a great water view (after a generous room upgrade by the hotel staff) and a fantastic restaurant. Please note, you WILL pay an arm and a leg for everything here- but that is just how it is in Cannes. I suspect this hotel ends up lower on the tripadvisor rating system than lots of oter worse hotels because people are simply unwilling to pay Cannes prices. That said- it is Cannes! Trying to be thrifty in Cannes is like trying to plan a budget trip to Beverly Hills. You might as well not take the trip at all. If you are going to come to Cannes to have a good time, then spend the money- and this hotel is a great choice.

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
5 Thank Dragonlady15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonCannes, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Carlton Cannes, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Dragonlady15,

Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions following your recent stay at the InterContinental Carlton Cannes.

We appreciate your warm comments about the location, the rooms and the Carlton restaurant.
In addition, we will certainly pass on your compliments to our staff.

We look forward to welcome you again very soon in order to enjoy other great moments at InterContinental Carlton Cannes.

Yours sincerely,

Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cannes hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes
0.2 mi away
Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu 1835 Hotel & Thalasso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
#2 of 126 in Cannes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott Cannes
JW Marriott Cannes
#13 of 126 in Cannes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Provence
Hotel de Provence
#1 of 126 in Cannes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Carlton Cannes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Carlton Cannes

Property: InterContinental Carlton Cannes
Address: 58 La Croisette | CS 40052, 06414 Cannes, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cannes
#5 Family Hotel in Cannes
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cannes
#11 Business Hotel in Cannes
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Carlton Cannes 5*
Number of rooms: 343
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Cannes. There is a place at the heart of La Croisette where you can enjoy a truly unforgettable moment in an intimate setting. Thanks to 100 years of tradition at your service, the InterContinental Carlton offers a unique experience under the Mediterranean sun. A genuine legend: The InterContinental Carlton Cannes cultivates this refined atmosphere where yesterday's charm and spirit mix with today's expectations. With its 343 rooms and suites, its restaurants and bars, its famous terrace and its private beach of fine sand, it offers incomparable service worthy of the best hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental Carlton Cannes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Carlton Cannes Hotel Cannes
Intercontinental Cannes
Carlton Cannes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing