We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice Cannes hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Carlton Cannes
Ranked #11 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 9, 2012

I am a hotel snob, and as such, nice beds, good bedding, and a fancy bathroom will automatically get some credit with me. This hotel had all those things, plus amazing wardrobes, a great water view (after a generous room upgrade by the hotel staff) and a fantastic restaurant. Please note, you WILL pay an arm and a leg for everything here- but that is just how it is in Cannes. I suspect this hotel ends up lower on the tripadvisor rating system than lots of oter worse hotels because people are simply unwilling to pay Cannes prices. That said- it is Cannes! Trying to be thrifty in Cannes is like trying to plan a budget trip to Beverly Hills. You might as well not take the trip at all. If you are going to come to Cannes to have a good time, then spend the money- and this hotel is a great choice.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
5  Thank Dragonlady15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonCannes, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Carlton Cannes, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Dear Dragonlady15,

Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions following your recent stay at the InterContinental Carlton Cannes.

We appreciate your warm comments about the location, the rooms and the Carlton restaurant.
In addition, we will certainly pass on your compliments to our staff.

We look forward to welcome you again very soon in order to enjoy other great moments at InterContinental Carlton Cannes.

Yours sincerely,

Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,029)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

744 - 750 of 2,029 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2012

There is no doubt about this, I am puzzled by some of the reviews, how people rate inferior hotels better than this one? This is certainly a 5 star hotel, with a great lobby, good rooms, excellent location, clean etc.
Is it the best hotel I have ever stayed at, No, but it is certainly the best hotel in Cannes, I have visited all of them.
If you are on a budget, then this hotel is not for you, but if you want to stay at a grand hotel I recommend InterContinental Carlton.
I would prefer a bigger fitness facility and they nickel and dime you on the beach, but you're in the South of France, what do you expect?

Great stay, great staff.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonCannes, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Carlton Cannes, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Dear Gary S,

We would like to thank you for your comment, we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Intercontinental Carlton Cannes. We will certainly pass on your feedback to our staffs, who work for you to enjoy all the pleasurable moments.

Hope to welcome you soon at the Intercontinental Carlton Cannes for your future trip.

Yours sincerely,

Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

I travelled to Cannes on business with a work colleague who is also a friend. We opted to share a room in a nice hotel rather than have our own rooms in a mediocre one. What we got, was an expensive shared room in a mediocre hotel.

Firstly, I should point out that the location of the hotel is marvellous. Right on the Croissette with a couple of good restaurants nearby. That's the only positive I can find.

Before I left, we called the hotel and asked them to leave a jug of drinking water in the room while we were there as we had various medications to take and didn't want to keep calling for water. During the 3 day stay, this was not done once without having to make a call to request it.

Ditto for towels. There were 2 of us sharing a room and there were never enough towels left. For example, on arrival there was only one hand towel. I had to request more towels every day I was there.

As for the room..........we arrived quite late and were too tired to consider it properly. By the time we realised how awful it was, we had unpacked and were a day into a 3 day stay so it didn't seem worth it. How they can call our room 5 star, I cannot imagine. It was quite small. There were adverts and papers left by them on every surface and with 2 women sharing, we needed all the space we could get. There were 2 chairs by the window which were incredibly uncomfortable. A desk littered with their stuff which we needed to use. On the last day, they left us some grow-your-own thyme kit which was very odd and yet another bit of clutter for a small room.

The bathroom was very small. Just one sink and a bath with the shower in it. Bidet obviously. No lavatory. That was in a separate room and the piece de resistance. If you sat down on it and closed the door, your nose could touch the door. It was too small to stand up and pull your trousers up. Smaller than an airplane toilet. It was ridiculous and disgraceful to put that in a 5 star hotel room. I ended up using a loo I'd seen near the lift.

My colleague was disgusted at the huge charge for using the hotel's wifi. They explained that was the policy throughout Europe. That may be so but given teh cost of a hotel like the Carlton and the fact it is free to them, they should include it in the cost of the room. After all, they don't charge for using any of their other facilities (such as they are).

We had a business lunch in the hotel while there. the food was quite nice but nothing special in their restaurant. Each day for breakfast we ordered the mediterranean which consisted of a few mini croissants and pastries and one piece of fruit for over 50 euros. We had to repeatedly ask for extra coffee even though we always ordered for 2. If a room service meal was ordered, apart from being incredibly expensive, they did not even bring a glass of water to go with it. My colleague ordered a sandwich supper and they brought an empty glass with it - no water.

I was looking forward to spending a few days in a beautiful French hotel. What we got was a few days of discomfort in a hugely overpriced, unimpressive hotel in a good position. They could have done so much more with it.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank FinchleyTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonCannes, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Carlton Cannes, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Dear Finchleytourist,

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments on Trip Advisor.

Some of the experiences that you’ve described do not reflect the image and the service that we want to deliver to our guests.
The different services have been warned and be reassured we took into account your remarks.

Thank you for sharing your thoughts and I hope that you will reconsider us again on your next travel.
Do not hesitate to contact us.

Yours sincerely,

Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Really impressed with the Carlton's winter menus options. We dined in the lovely terrace restaurant with views over the Croisette. There are two special menus options seafood or meat for €59 per person. The amount of food was very generous and the standard of service and quality of food is seldom found on the Rivera at these prices!!
We opted for the meat menus and the amount of vegetarian starters almost was enough food, when the main course arrived I was almost full!! I noted the other tables that had ordered the seafood menus with the two glasses of wine included in the price and they had a very impressive amount of fish!
I would recommend the Carlton's? winter season menus over most of the more touristy options if the budget suits. Dinner for two with wine €160 including service.

Room Tip: Winter menus change with a different style or region each day of the week, best to check the website...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonCannes, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Carlton Cannes, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Dear Boulus,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to see how much you enjoyed your moment at the Carlton Restaurant, and we will certainly pass on your comments to the entire Carlton restaurant team, including our Chef and his team, who are always happy to receive such nice compliments.

We hope to see you soon and remain at your disposal.

Sincerely,

Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Stayed in April, great location over the sea and main beautiful, full of live street of Cannes. The staff are so friendly and helpful even though the hotel was full , stayed a night in a sea view room super luxurious but the rooms need renovation!!!!!!!!!!!. Food for breakfast is realy good. Also thank you to staff from reception they are professionals!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonCannes, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Carlton Cannes, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Dear Ms Elisa B,

Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions following your recent stay at the InterContinental Carlton Cannes.

We appreciate your warm comments about the location of the hotel and services that you received.
In addition, we will certainly pass on your compliments to our Reception staff.

We look forward to welcome you again very soon at InterContinental Carlton Cannes.

Yours sincerely,

Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

On a sunny end-of-summer day, we took lunch on the terrace of the famous Carlton Hotel in Cannes. The atmosphere and meal where perfect. Because i am also a hotel owner and my hotel also is named Carlton (not part of a brandcorp.) i have asked if we could get a tour in the Hotel. The deputy hotel manager, which is also Belgian, gave us a tour and what we have seen was very beautiful. He also told us that the hotel will be closed for a few months because it will be renovated completely.
Hopefully some day, i will be able to stay in the Sharon Stone suite.

Room Tip: Rooms at the side of the builiding are bigger. This is because the rich&famous European in the 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steven V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonCannes, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Carlton Cannes, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Dear Steven V,

It is a pleasure to read such lovely comments from our clients!

We are delighted to see how much you enjoyed the visit and your lunch in our restaurant, the all team thank you for your positive comments.

It would be a great honour to welcome you back next year at the Intercontinental Carlton Cannes.

Yours sincerely,

Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Went to eat at the Carlton Hotel in Cannes last week, the menu choice was limited, and although the service was very good, the food was not. My main course was mixed up with my partners, so she got my vegetables and I got hers!!! The sauces/ Jus were mixed up as well!! I know it's being picky, but when the waiter was serving the wine, he just reached right across you, even when you were in full flow during a conversation. Disappointing evening all round.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonCannes, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Carlton Cannes, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Dear Michael D,

Thank you to share your comments regarding your last stay at the InterContinental Carlton Cannes.

Some of the experiences that you’ve described do not reflect the image and the service that we want to deliver to our guests.

We have taken notes and these are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Thank you for sharing your thoughts and I hope that you will reconsider us again on your next travel.

Yours sincerely,

Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cannes hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott Cannes
JW Marriott Cannes
#14 of 126 in Cannes
917 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu 1835 Hotel & Thalasso
0.5 mi away
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
#3 of 126 in Cannes
576 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Carlton Cannes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Carlton Cannes

Address: 58 La Croisette, 06414 Cannes, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cannes
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cannes
#11 Business Hotel in Cannes
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cannes
Price Range: $211 - $849 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Carlton Cannes 5*
Number of rooms: 343
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Carlton In Cannes, one of the best-known cities in the world, is one of the world’s most mythical hotels. Since 1913, in the heart of the Bay of Cannes on the prestigious Boulevard de la Croisette, the InterContinental Carlton Cannes has demonstrated its savoir-faire in a tradition of matchless hospitality still carried on today by the men and women who are its inheritors. In the Mediterranean sunshine, immerse yourself in an elegant and refined atmosphere where the charm and tradition of yesteryear live on in harmony with the demands of modern life. With its 343 rooms and suites, its restaurants and bars, its famous terrace and private white-sand beach, the Carlton invites you to join in writing its continuing history each day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, IHG, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your InterContinental Carlton Cannes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Carlton Cannes Hotel Cannes
Intercontinental Cannes
Carlton Cannes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing