We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Carlton Cannes
Ranked #11 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 30, 2011

I booked the Intercontinental at Cannes on Expedia, we had high expectations and when we arrived we were up to it. The hotel is elegante, fancy and beautiful, we were asked if we wanted an upgrmade for 200 us more and we decides to go with it, after all we ended up payong like 500 us per night but it was worth it, the romo is big and the bathroom is perfection, we'll be looping to estay here nexo time.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arturocervs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,963)
There are newer reviews for InterContinental Carlton Cannes
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

815 - 821 of 1,963 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2011

The silly season is over, schools in Europe are back in business and it is time for those whose kids are grown to go on holiday. When so doing, it is normal to seek lower prices, better value and quieter beaches and restaurants.

As long time francophiles we decided to head to the Riviera. I have not been since 1999/2000. I can't remember the dates exactly but it was the summer after the IMF had come to the rescue of Russia and about $3bn had been sluiced through the nation's bank accounts in about 30 days.

Much if it seemed to end up in the pockets of swarthy, cigar smoking types who were spending like it was going out of style in Cannes. Ten or eleven years later nothing much seems to have changed except, in recognition of the new nouveau riche, menus now have Russian as their third language, behind French and Arabic and in front of English...

The Carlton in Cannes is of course an iconic hotel and we had decided to treat ourselves to a four day stay there before heading up to a cottage in the Luberon. We had secured the reservation at a very attractive rate for a standard (classic) room and, mindful of the other reports on Tripadvisor, went prepared to avoid the tank traps of the add-on charges. Boy was that a good decision.

We arrived with bags via a taxi from the railway station (We had flown to Marseilles). €13 for a one mile drive. Bienvenue a Cannes m'sieur, madame....

The Carlton in Cannes is of course a magnificent property - but when we walked through the main entrance the first thing we noticed was the smell of drains. Very odd for such an establishment. We could only think that the management are so used to the smell that they don't notice it anymore. It persisted all through our stay so was not a one-off.

The welcome at reception was courteous, professional and friendly - just what you would hope for - and we were politely and quickly dealt with and shown to our room. Bruno the concierge wore Les Clefs d'Or symbol on his collar and was knowledgeable and very helpful as you would also expect. In fact the staff were, to a man and woman, superb.

The room. Hmmmmmm. As we were not paying top whack we did not expect to have a sea view and a balcony. Just as well really. We were on the east side of the west wing at the rear of the property, which meant we overlooked the interior void. No complaints there, it was after all the least expensive room in the place and someone has to have the inside view. The room itself was small - certainly no more than 15m² and the bed was a double, not a Queen or a King. The gap between the dressing table and the foot of the bed was filled when someone sat in the chair to work on make up or a computer; and there were no electricity sockets at desk top level anywhere in the room to connect hairdryers, curling tongs, phone chargers or power supplies. All sockets were at ankle level and hidden behind heavy furniture.

All of these issues are not meant to be a criticism, but they are a clear indication that the Carlton has a clear and pressing need to move forward with its refurbishment. The whole ambience within the guest room is now years out of date and it shows. Ultimately, this means that the Carlton continues to justify the prices of its rooms and services based on its location and storied history, not its current facilities and amenities.

We looked at the minibar list - €25 for a cognac made me quiver (I bought a bottle of hors d'age armagnac for €34 in a 'cave du vin' and took 3/4 of it home with me). The Lobster afternoon tea was heavily advertised at €65 per person. With two glasses of champagne thrown in you can convince yourself that it reasonable - but hang on a minute. At the date of writing this note (Sept 23, with the US$ strengthening recently) that is still $180 for tea for two and $35 for your nightcap.

I love Intercontinentals - I have stayed in almost all of them in the Middle East and the US over the last twenty years. I do not claim they overcharge; but I do warn prospective customers to tread carefully in Cannes, which is a very expensive town by any standards. If you are someone who can afford to spend $500 - $1000 a day during a visit in addition to the cost of your accommodation - have at it. Enjoy the suite, the views, the staff, the restaurants and have a marvellous time, because you will. If you are on a budget and are splurging a bit with a special treat in store by staying for a few days at the Carlton, just beware and spend more time people watching than dialling room service. And wash your own clothes as the laundry service may cost more than the clothes that are cleaned.

And please, management, hurry up with the refurb.

Room Tip: Obviously, sea view if you can afford it - there is nothing better.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CymraegBeirniaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

ARRIVAL: Having arrived in Cannes after a tiresome trip I had the fastest check I could think of. The room was spectacular and I had gotten an amazing upgrade due to the Ambassador loyalty program, while complimenting the hotel the bellboy was proud to say that of course they were thankful for receiving compliment once such property was for over a century in the hotel business. Impressive indeed.

STAFF: The staff is very kind and helpful, even though the InterCon Carlton doesn’t seem to be such a big hotel, it actually is huge, and the staff make it feel like a second home. Flowers in the room, incredibly kind room service, the concierge is simply perfect and I’m sure the chief of concierge desk, Mr. Stephane, if I recall well, is very proud of his staff at a desk where people like Mr. Bruno and his colleagues recommended me venues of Cannes knowing each detail and service without having to make a single phone call, they simply knew it all, obviously very experienced staff.

HOTEL/LOCATION: what an amazing location, the palace sits in the middle of the Croisette, it is the beachfront avenue of Cannes which may be a destination in itself having plenty of the best restaurants, shops and entertainment venues of the French Riviera within walking distance, it also offers a private beach free for hotel guests with all kinds of Summer sports available and amazing F&B service as well, it is the place to be in Cannes!

OVERALL: I was surely thankful to have had instructions from Brazilian InterCon officer Ms. Agata Appel about joining the InterCon Ambassador loyalty program, I say so because it includes a series of facilities such as late check out, better amenities and many complimentary treats as well as upgrades and I do recommend such membership because I was treated like royalty at the Cannes Carlton InterCon and it made me feel very welcome, this hotel is a destination in itself with its restaurants, cozy breakfasts with wide variety of choices and all kinds of options for fun, from families to business trips to retreats or romance, it is the place to be in Cannes.

Room Tip: all rooms are amazing, try partial sea views too they're great, specially from higher floors, al...
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rodolfo3200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

We stayed at The Intercontinental Carlton Cannes end of May so it was around their busy time of the Film Festival. We arrived by taxi late around 8.30pm and was thinking this was going to be expensive 1st night. We were there for just 3 nights. Asked the man that booked us in were we getting a room with a view and he said city view. I said i had to have a beach view. So he gave us a beautiful part ocean view and it was a large room so I had a win. The main Restaurant at the hotel was fabulous and we got lots of attention. At the beach we had breakfast and paid for our chairs for the day. Loved the position of this famous hotel where the movie " FRENCH KISS" was filmed. Would recommend to the fussiest of people a front suite.

Room Tip: High floor front room is the only option
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hardiman_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonCannes, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Carlton Cannes, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2011

First of all, I want to thank you for your comment regarding your stay at the InterContinental Carlton Cannes.

We are glad to note after reading your comment that you have fully enjoyed your stay in our hotel, along with the services and amenities that we offer.

We truly hope that we will have the chance to welcome you again in the near future to make you live other unique moments.

Yours sincerely,

Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

Hotel is amazing. The service, the food were incredible (amazing comp breakfast). Everything is super expensive (because we had to convert dollars into euros). 38 euros for parking per day (can take the car out and in as much as you like). The only reason I'm writing this review is to clarify about the rooms. Me and my wife had our stay from 9/12/11 to 9/17/11 and they provided us with a newly remodeled room. It was mint! Had the tiniest flaws (missing screw head cover), but that's only cause I made it my business to find them. I will post pictures soon. High ceilings, euro-king bed, rain style shower head, brand new closets, awesome high thread count sheets, lots of closet space, etc.
I'm pretty sure that not all rooms are remodeled as of yet, but we let them know that we were on our honeymoon and they gave us this room... we were both really pleased even tho it was not a sea view/front room.

PS. have the 65 euro prefix lobster dinner on Friday, it was amazing (only Friday lunch or dinner).

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrDTokar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

Very good choice when in Cannes and you are looking for top location. The building and the general areas in the hotel are in very good condition. The classic rooms are dated but the renovated rooms are much better (although at higher cost). There are probably 3-4 other hotels in town that have higher standards throughout (as well as more facilities, e.g. pool) but this is a classic property right on the beach. I would def recommend it but you need to go there with the right expectation.

Room Tip: Get a renovated room
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RichardU71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

. This is my 3rd time to stay in Cannes Carlton, but first time to write review. Reading the comments I have to say that most of them are truthful - positive and negative once. Hotel is kind of monument in Cannes - building that represent the city on most of the postcards. Impressive outside architecture and lobby area but caused of the fact that is built at beginning of 20th century rooms are not as today's standard of 5* hotels! But not all of them! After my 3 stays I realized there is big difference between "classic" and "superior" rooms, so try to book superior or ask for upgrade if you have possibility. As IC Ambassador, after short discussion, I got upgrade to superior room on 6th floor, almost 40sqm with huge bathroom - comparing with last year stay in classic room that didn't have more than 20 sqm. Overall experience is positive - staff is generally helpful, excellent breakfast on beautiful terrace, wifii internet is free in lobby and bar area... The rates are extremely high especially during the summer season or special events, but when staying in Carlton you don't pay for good room, you pay status and historical story of this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank doktor24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cannes hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes
0.2 mi away
Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott Cannes
JW Marriott Cannes
#14 of 126 in Cannes
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
#3 of 126 in Cannes
539 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu 1835 Hotel & Thalasso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Carlton Cannes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Carlton Cannes

Address: 58 La Croisette, 06414 Cannes, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cannes
#5 Family Hotel in Cannes
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cannes
#11 Business Hotel in Cannes
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cannes
Price Range: $232 - $1,227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Carlton Cannes 5*
Number of rooms: 343
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Carlton In Cannes, one of the best-known cities in the world, is one of the world’s most mythical hotels. Since 1913, in the heart of the Bay of Cannes on the prestigious Boulevard de la Croisette, the InterContinental Carlton Cannes has demonstrated its savoir-faire in a tradition of matchless hospitality still carried on today by the men and women who are its inheritors. In the Mediterranean sunshine, immerse yourself in an elegant and refined atmosphere where the charm and tradition of yesteryear live on in harmony with the demands of modern life. With its 343 rooms and suites, its restaurants and bars, its famous terrace and private white-sand beach, the Carlton invites you to join in writing its continuing history each day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Carlton Cannes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Carlton Cannes Hotel Cannes
Intercontinental Cannes
Carlton Cannes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing