We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable, Great Amenities”
Review of Hotel Olivier

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Olivier
Ranked #53 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
195 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Comfortable, Great Amenities”
Reviewed July 5, 2011

We were only going to stay for one night and stayed for 3. Our room was so comfortable and spacious, huge closets and perfect bathroom. The bathroom was modern, great shower and lots of places to place toiletries. A quick walk to the very good restaurants of the old neighborhood "Le Suquet." Also found a laundromat 2 blocks away.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank 1Michelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    58
    19
    5
    7
See reviews for
33
91
11
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 29, 2011

We thought this should be a nice stay in Cannes BUT it was a disappointment!
We stayed at the l Òlivier hotel in Cannes for 6 nights and the price was doubled due to the Lions conference. We payed 240 euros -not included the breakfast for 12 euros. We had breakfast one morning and not again! It was very little to eat for 12 euros... coffee and croissant. So we went to the market and bought bread and fruit. When we came back to the hotel the man n the reception asked if we had bought fruit. We sad yes and felt controlled. He said it would come animals in the room if we had fruit there......

It was like the movie "Fawlty Towers" with John Cleese! The female owner never said godmorning or smiled, her very arrogant son (we think it was her son) seems not to be interested to work in the hotel and with guests!
Another man in the reception complained over our to heavy bagage wich he has to carry up the stairs(they don´t have an elevator)...
We just got one piece of toilettepaper - it seems that they did´nt want to give us more...
The hotel looks pretty at internet BUT we will WARN you for these people. We felt very upset over the lack of service, nice treatment and a feeling of being a guest who disturbed the family who owns the hotel! It was horrible!
When we after 6 nights left the hotel we felt free and happy again!!! Wejave paied 1450 euros and they should appreciate us as good customers but we felt as intruders!!!

When we left the son in the reception didn´t say anything to us. Not ;" Nice to have you here", Welcome back", I hope you have had a nice time", "Have a nice day"
We have said every day when we walked by the reception; Bon jour, Bon Journeé, Bon soir". But they just was looking down in the computer and looked up angry!
So don´t check in at LÓliver hotel in Cannes ! We will never do that again!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelolivier, Propriétaire at Hotel Olivier, responded to this review, July 6, 2011
dear Madam
ABOUT YOUR STAY

The price of the room was communicated when booking ; it was a congress price.
We only charge what is consumed ( breakfast , bar,…)
We do not oblige our guests to have breakfast ( the price is not 12 Euros but 13 Euros per person).
We serve coffee, tea, chocolate, at will. The self- service buffet consists of fountain of orange juice, cold milk, two kinds of cereals, 3 kinds of jam or jelly plus some individual jam cups, nutella, butter, sliced edam cheese, ham, fruit salad, 2 different kinds of bread and brioche, yogurt,..all that at will and to eat in the garden or in the winter garden as long time as you want , one or two hours, by reading the newspapers or visiting free internet.
For sure our buffet is not a Scandinavian buffet !
We inform our guests about the fact that eating fruits (or any kind of food) in the rooms attract animals like ants (we are in a warm weather region ! ) and also the juices stain above bed-covers, towels,.. ( stains cherries, melons, peaches juices are specially difficult to clean).
There is always a roll of toilet paper in stock in each room and if there are problems just report it.
Concerning the luggage , we deliver it to the guests rooms and after the clients had payed their bills, we are caring it into their own cars, into a taxi or keeping it in the luggage’s room in case of late check out.
We make a note of your message, regretting the communication felt (some guests prefer not communicate and we are respecting their peace). We will ensure your blames remain truly an exceptional case.
Best regards
The Direction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2011

Loved the hotel, we had a cosy room on the ground floor, and could sit at the small
table just outside our room. It was so convenient for the beach too. One the whole the staff were wonderful, with the exception of one male staff member. We were out by the pool one day, and I went in and used the toilet in the hotel. On my way back to the pool, he asked me my room number, and why I chosen to use the hotel toilet. I asked him was there a problem, but immediately the lady on reception brushed him aside and said everything was fine!! I felt his comments intrusive and that I was being spied on. There were also too many rules and regulations, what a shame!!.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fishing241247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2010

This is a three star, nothing more, nothing less. The staff is very nice and helpful.
For those who care about the interior: Traditional design, or should I say old fashion. Definitely stuck in the 90s, and it is a bit worn down, but clean. If you don´t mind the litle hill up through the old city, the hotel has a good location. Close to everything.
Free WiFi, but very slow. E.g. too slow for video.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stoff74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 28, 2010

I spent a week with my girlfriend at the hotel Olivier.

It was really, really nice. The owners are really friendly and helpful.
The hotel is beautiful, clean and very well located.

A nice place to stay in Cannes ^^

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheunen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 28, 2010

This is a family-run hotel in the heart of Cannes. We stayed here and enjoyed the quaint, French Provence-style decor, outdoor pool and its proximity to the beach, restaurants and shopping. The hotel employees are courteous and accommodating. Plus, with wi-fi we were able to stay in touch with family and friends in the US. We loved our time and highly recommend it to folks!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bohn_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cannes hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Belle Plage
Hotel Belle Plage
#42 of 126 in Cannes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ideal Sejour Hotel
Ideal Sejour Hotel
#10 of 126 in Cannes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Chateau De La Tour
Hotel Chateau De La Tour
#19 of 126 in Cannes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Clarion Suites Cannes Croisette
0.3 mi away
Hotel Chalet de l'Isere
Hotel Chalet de l'Isere
#40 of 126 in Cannes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Cannes Riviera & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Olivier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Olivier

Property: Hotel Olivier
Address: 5 rue des Tambourinaires, 06400 Cannes, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Olivier 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Olive is located in the historical town of Cannes said Suquet, 20 meters from restaurants, 300 m from the beach and the old port and 900 meters from the Palais des Festivals, the hotel has a private parking on site, a swimming pool, free wifi, a summer garden and conservatory ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, HostelWorld, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Olivier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing