We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvellous hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez
Ranked #17 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Egham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
689 reviews
171 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 413 helpful votes
“Marvellous hotel”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

We decided to spend a weekend here to celebrate my birthday the following week. Very impressive hotel and efficient check in by delightful young lady who was in the process of being trained. Took a little longer but that wasn't a problem. We stay at Hyatt Hotels a lot so we were upgraded to a King sea view room. Luckily we were allocated to one of the newly renovated rooms on the fourth floor.

The room was of a reasonable with a large comfortable bed, chaise and chairs, work area. The bathroom was huge and tiled in marble. Plenty of wardrobe space and a room safe.

Breakfast can be served in the restaurant, in the conservatory or by the pool. It rained the entire weekend we were there so we had to eat inside. Very personal service and a good choice of hot and cold foods to choose from. The coffee was probably the only thing that let it down which is a surprise in France.

The hotel is in a great location opposite the private beach which opens mid April. Plenty of bars and restaurants within a 5-10 minute walk.

Parking is €40 a day which is a little pricey but off road parking is difficult to find.

Overall a very nice hotel with great staff and delivers a great experience so we will be back.

Room Tip: Try and get a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AFrequentTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amvmartinez, Responsable relations clients at Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Google Translation
Je vous remercie d’avoir pris le temps de nous faire part de vos impressions suite à votre séjour au Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez . je suis ravi d’apprendre que vous avez passé un agréable séjour parmi nous et que vous avez apprécié la décoration et l’espace de votre chambre, et je serai très heureux de partager vos commentaires positifs avec mes collaborateurs.

J' espère sincèrement vous revoir bientôt au Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez, sous le soleil de Cannes, qui vous a fait défaut lors de votre visite et vous présente mes plus sincère salutations .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    747
    469
    279
    129
    99
See reviews for
306
749
53
339
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
304 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We had a 3 night stay at the Martinez to celebrate my birthday - a nice surprise present from my wife. On arrival we had probably the most efficient and friendly check-in procedure we have ever experienced - we genuinely felt welcome and were treated like valued guests. The lady (whose name unfortunately I can't recall) observed from the original booking that this was a celebration stay and introduced us to her manager who again extended a very warm welcome. We were then shown around the facilities before being shown to our partial sea view room on the 3rd floor - a beautifully appointed room with a fantastic view of the sea from the small balcony. Everything about the room was top notch including the King bed and bathroom. We settled in and started unpacking and a knock at the door revealed the next surprise - I was presented with a complimentary bottle of champagne on ice, a personalised welcome / happy birthday card and a Martinez wallet. This is customer service of the highest order and was greatly appreciated. Breakfast next morning was a civilised affair seated at a cosy table for two overlooking the sea. Buffet breakfast has plenty of choice to meet all tastes and an "egg chef" who prepared omelettes and fried eggs to order. We also experienced excellent service from the Concierge team who willingly assisted in booking our restaurants. We would certainly return to the Martinez and next time, we may well be tempted into the 2 Michelin star La Palme d'Or restaurant to complete the experience. Our sincere thanks to everyone who contributed to making this a birthday to remember - unhesitatingly recommended hotel and by far the best we have encountered in our many trips to France.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andyccpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amvmartinez, Responsable relations clients at Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
I would like to thank you for taking the time to let us know how pleasant was your stay and we are extremely pleased to hear that you enjoyed the way that you feel welcome while your stay with us at the Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez.

I will share with all our staff your positive comments. Your satisfaction is an encouragement in the pursuit of making each stay a memorable one.

I look forward to welcoming you again at the Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez and I present you with my best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

The hotel is run very well. The staff are attentive, professional and friendly. The hotel is very clean. I found that although my room was clean as a whistle, it seems a bit worn. The 'gym' is terrible if you want to work out with weights. There are no free weights and a single multifunctional machine that I found very awkward to use. Basically, it was useless. There is bike and a treadmill, maybe two or three. There are no coffee makers in the rooms and no iron/boards. The food is outrageously priced. A hamburger costs 32 euros. This is a luxury hotel so I would not recommend it if you have a budget.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TwoHavlesofCoconuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amvmartinez, Responsable relations clients at Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave your comments after staying at the Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

Hyatt has taken over the Martinez since April 2013. We have begun to make light renovations, changing carpets and fabrics in several rooms each time the occupancy of the Hotel gave us the opportunity to do so. We are now planning a full and extensive renovation.

We have taken good note of your remarks concerning the Fitness.
Otherwise, we would like to inform you that iron and board are available upon request (without extra charge).

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Best Regards

Karine
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

So far this is the best five star hotel I have visited in France. The guest relations manager was excellent in resolving a problem at check in, and the concierge service was outstanding offering five star service throughout the stay. Room Service were quick to pick up what I needed them to do. Although there are areas that need attending to: Reception at check out for example, a queue and only two of the three reception desks were open! When I mentioned this to a member of staff nothing was done. Very poor for a five star hotel. Also, the drinks cabinet in my room was not serviced properly. As glasses and cups were used, they were not replaced, despite me mentioning it, nothing improved, not sure if that was Housekeeping or Room Service! I hope my next stay is a true five star experience!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DarrenE2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amvmartinez, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comment after staying at the Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. However, we feel sorry for inconveniences you have had.

Please rest assured that the comfort and the satisfaction of our guests is our first preoccupation.
You will be always more than welcome.

Best Regards,

Karine,
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
111 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is ridiculously expensive. Minibar prices are 4-5x typical 5 star hotels. For example small Pringles cost €15. Gin and tonic at the hotel bar €25. Even I was travelling on expenses I didn't want to waste money on this. The hotel itself is well located and has history linked to the Cannes film awards. It's only 10min or walk to the city center.

My room was quite large and the bed was comfortable. Daily service was good with a nice turndown service that left free water (luckily as the minibar water would seriously eat into your holiday budget. The room itself was ready for upgrade but bathroom was in surprisingly good shape.

The conference facilities in my view had seen better days. Swimming pool was nice as it was nicely heated allowing for a relaxing splash outside even in January.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Xymyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amvmartinez, Responsable relations clients at Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments.
We feel sorry for not having fulfilled your expectations.
Hyatt has taken over the Martinez since April 2013. We are planning a full and extensive renovation including meeting rooms
Please rest assured that the comfort and the satisfaction of our guests is my first preoccupation.

Best regards,

Karine
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
98 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

I stayed at the hotel for 4 nights. Here are my pros & cons
Pros:
1. Excellent location, just across from the promenade and all the luxury shopping, small walk from the old town & shopping district
2. Fabulous breakfast, 2 thumbs up, may be a bit pricey though depending on how much you can eat
3. Excellent view from the room on the front side (my friend had the view)
4. My room was on the back side with the back view of the hotel and wasn't the biggest, the bathroom though was pretty big and well accommodated with plugs & switches in the right place.
5. Wi-Fi worked well at most locations
6. Super concierge (I wish I could remember his name), he recommended us a fabulous local restaurant and helped us plan our island tour. Thanks to him we had a great day.

Cons:
1. Room décor was a bit dated; the carpets could use a change
2. I’m not too sure about the restaurant, they looked pricey which is why we did not try it. Not to worry though, many great eateries at walking distance
3. The bar was extraordinarily expensive; I suppose it the priced for movie stars not a common man, 20euros for a drink is expensive, again a super affordable & great bar just across the street from the hotel.

We got a great deal on the price since it was off season and enjoyed every bit of our stay. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: try to get a room with a view, you wont regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SapnaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amvmartinez, Responsable relations clients at Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave your comments after staying at the Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
Hyatt has taken over the Martinez since April 2013. We have begun to make light renovations, changing carpets and fabrics in several rooms each time the occupancy of the Hotel gave us the opportunity to do so. We are now planning a full and extensive renovation
We look forward to welcoming you again

Karine
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
238 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

A very well situated hotel, with a great bay view, with ample conference and meeting facilities, but a bit of tired hotel, showing wear and tear in rooms and bar. Staff provides or is trying to provide excellent service. Some rooms may be like the pictures on the website, many are not, so take care when booking. Famed two star restaurant was closed unfortunately. Biggest surprise was the lack of real espresso both at breakfast and on the terraces.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank TheHappyCamper2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amvmartinez, Responsable relations clients at Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments after staying at the Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez.

We are sorry that your experience did not meet your all your expectations.

It is true that all our rooms are not yet completely renovated. However, the rooms and public areas are in constant renewal periods. 45 rooms and suites have been completely re-decorated. The Art Deco spirit of the Hotel has been carefully preserved by the interior designer, Marc Hertrich. Pictures of "See View Deluxe" room and Suite are available on our website. Pictures of all other room categories are also available.

In addition, we are pleased to announce you that further work will be planned, soon.

Otherwise, we are sorry to hear that you have not been informed that the Espresso, Café Latte and Cappuccino were served at breakfast, on request, at the Relais restaurant and on the terraces.

For information, our Gastronomic Restaurant, La Palme d'Or, will re-open on March 5th with a new Menu.

Please rest assured that the comfort and the satisfaction of our guests is our first preoccupation. You will be always more than welcome.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cannes hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Carlton Cannes
0.6 mi away
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
#3 of 126 in Cannes
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
JW Marriott Cannes
JW Marriott Cannes
#15 of 126 in Cannes
831 reviews
0.9 mi away
Radisson Blu 1835 Hotel & Thalasso
0.6 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez

Property: Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez
Address: 73 boulevard de la Croisette, 06400 Cannes, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Cannes
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Cannes
#15 Luxury Hotel in Cannes
#23 Business Hotel in Cannes
#30 Romantic Hotel in Cannes
#32 Family Hotel in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez 5*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the exclusive Boulevard de la Croisette, overlooking the Mediterranean Sea, the Grand Hyatt Cannes Hôtel Martinez is one of the most iconic hotels on the French Riviera. Built in 1929, this legendary Art Deco hotel has 409 elegant rooms and suites, including a 1 000sqm Penthouse suite with breathtaking views over the Bay of Cannes. Renowned for its exquisite gourmet cuisine, the Grand Hyatt Cannes Hôtel Martinez boasts a variety of restaurants including the only 2-Michelin star restaurant in Cannes. During summer, the iconic Zplage private beach offers a beach club with a large pier, a bar and a restaurant. Leisure and activities include a outdoor heated swimming pool, a spa and a fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Cheap Tickets, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martinez Hotel Cannes
Hotel Martinez Cannes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing