We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Good, The Bad and the Ugly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez
Ranked #17 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

I have read other reviews so i know that the hotel claim that they are entering a three year refurbishment program starting this winter. THANK GOODNESS.

Nevertheless in the meantime thousands of guests will still arrive at the hotel and be subject to its problems.

The good - the position and the staff.
The bad - the very tired rooms (IKEA wardrobes with no long hanging, no drawers for storage, switch cover hanging off of the wall, broken shower door replaced by crude curtain, an air-con vent blackened with dirt and so on). The prices - euro 40 for a continental breakfast! Totally disorganized breakfast on the beach.
The Ugly - the WiFi (sit in the corridor and it works. Sit in your room and it doesn't. But one still has to log in every time you use it). The noise due to ancient double glazing. Smell of smoking as if some guests just ignore the rules.

I made some of my comments to reception as i left. I was asked to complete a feedback form on Hyatt's website. If you look at it they are clearly not really interested hence this review.

Close the hotel; Hyatt, refurbish and bring it back to it's glory days.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a sea view room. Those over the road on the west side are noisy as anything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MalcolmP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amvmartinez, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear Malcolm,


We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

Please note that we do acknowledge each and every reviews posted on Trip advisor as for the survey we send. The answers are more global on this website due to the fact that this is not a forum or an e-mail exchange.

Your comments have been transmitted to all departments concerned and corrective actions will be taken where appropriate.

Kindly note that a refurbishment program is ongoing and with Hyatt being now managing the hotel further renovation is to come.

Regarding our internet connection, we are currently replacing our whole setup and supplier, everything should be running this fall.

Please rest assured that the comfort and the satisfaction of our guests are our first preoccupation. We thank you for your understanding and for helping us to improve the quality of our service.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Hotel Martinez.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,852)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

577 - 583 of 1,852 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2013

Great location with a really nice lobby.

The hotel room was very small and outdated. Had a funny smell to it.

Staff were really good though.

Little overprices for what it was but again your in Cannes !

Overall we had a good stay the rooms were not the best though,

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicholas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amvmartinez, Responsable relations clients at Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

Dear Nicholas,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to fill our survey and are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Martinez.

Kindly note that a refurbishment program is ongoing and with Hyatt being now managing the hotel further renovation is to come.

Please rest assured that the comfort and the satisfaction of our guests are our first preoccupation. We thank you for your understanding and for helping us to improve the quality of our service.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Hotel Martinez.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

From the moment you enter martinez you can feel the luxury.... Beautiful hotel, Nice rooms and very good service. The beach experience at Z-plage is a must. good food with a range of Healthy choices.
The gym is very small.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikkelTorsting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amvmartinez, Responsable relations clients at Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave a review and are extremely pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Martinez and the Zplage.

Your satisfaction and your comments are an encouragement to us in the pursuit of making each stay a memorable one.


We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Hotel Martinez.

With all our very best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

The hotel is a majestic building facing the beach and is very well located for exploring Cannes. I did feel proud to tell my friends that I would be staying at this hotel before my trip but having returned, I think that this hotel was in its prime many years ago and is now (dare I say) revelling in its faded glory- the rooms are tired and outdated, the hotel could do with improvement works and additional costs are required for a lot of services which we have now come to expect as inclusive in other luxury establishments- it's almost like you have only paid for a basic room in this hotel and everything in addition to that would be chargeable.

I did enjoy the toiletries provided- they smelled lovely and are worthy of a luxury hotel. The breakfast was good with a great selection. it was also nice to be situated so close to the beach. The reception staff and porters were rather cold and could afford to be more friendly and welcoming. I had to wait in a queue for quite a while before being served at both check in and check out. Overall, I think there is much room for improvement at this hotel.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
2  Thank koalaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amvmartinez, Responsable relations clients at Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2013

We would like to thank you for taking the time to fill a review.

Your comments have been transmitted to all departments concerned and corrective actions will be taken where appropriate.

Kindly note that a refurbishment program is ongoing and with Hyatt being now managing the hotel further renovation is to come.

Please rest assured that the comfort and the satisfaction of our guests are our first preoccupation. We thank you for your understanding and for helping us to improve the quality of our service.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Hotel Martinez.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Hotel is situated in an excellent position with access to the beach across the road. Reception and concierge staff are very warm, friendly and helpful. Nothing is too much trouble and they are happy to assist at all times. We had a sea facing room and it was beautiful. Magnificent bathroom and fantastic views. We loved it and stayed longer than we intended.
The only staff with attitude were the staff behind the counter on the beach when we requested a front row chair. These they said were reserved however no one used them the entire day , we were also prepared to pay the €100 for the 2 chairs. They were so rude that we left and went next door and sat on their more comfortable lounge chairs and paid €90 for these with a free cocktail.
Hyatt you lost out on €500 due to this attitude as we stayed 5 days.

Room Tip: If you can afford to pay extra get a sea facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tinkymia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amvmartinez, Responsable relations clients at Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2013

We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave a review and are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Martinez.

Your comments have been transmitted to all departments concerned and corrective actions will be taken where appropriate.

We are sorry to hear about your disappointment regarding the beach and forwarded your comments to the Manager.

Please rest assured that the comfort and the satisfaction of our guests are our first preoccupation. We thank you for your understanding and for helping us to improve the quality of our service.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Hotel Martinez.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This hotel is supposed to be a 5 star hotel. It sure does not feel like it. Despite its fantastic location and beautiful old building in Cannes, the hotel is outdated, service is poor and the hidden costs are ridiculous.
- Rooms are old - walls were stained with water damage spots.
- Nothing (except for WIFI) is included here. You have to pay 26 EUR for a sun bed at the pool, plus the rent of a towel (in a hotel??? yes..). The use of the pool is for free, but it is impossible to be use it without renting a bed. Same applies to the beach.
- Breakfast is 40 EUR per person, which is the highest I experienced in a hotel ever.
- Then the service. Inexperienced reception staff which guarantees long waits. We forgot some clothes in our room, which we came to pick up the next day (we called ahead). After waiting for 20 minutes, we got our clothes back completely ruined. We left them on a hanger and got them back all ruffled up in a plastic bag - standard procedure according to the housekeeping guy.

Hyatt, this hotel is not up to your standards. The hotel is in desperate need for refurbishment and revision of policies.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anke K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amvmartinez, Responsable relations clients at Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2013

We are sorry to hear about your disappointment. Please accept our most sincere apologies for not having fulfilled your expectations.

Your comments have been transmitted to all departments concerned and corrective actions will be taken where appropriate.

Regarding the renovations at the property, I can confirm that from winter 2013 the hotel will undergo a full and extensive renovation phased over three winter seasons and be fully refurbished within end 2016.
Prior to this full renovation the hotel has already undertaken a soft renovation relating to the replacement of furniture, curtains and carpeting throughout the parts of the hotel.

Please rest assured that the comfort and the satisfaction of our guests are our first preoccupation. We thank you for your understanding and for helping us to improve the quality of our service.

Once again, let us express to you our most sincere regret for not having met your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Do not pull any furniture in your luxury suite, you may have a nasty surprised, or do not look at any details, the hotel in some area is a bit grubby, dead orchids in bathroom, unclean towels, lights not working, the list is endless. The hotel is on a beautiful spot but as all luxury hotels on the French Riviera they have serious problem with cleanliness and staff attitude, Chef de partie swearing, beach staff still in shorts in November serving breakfast may be odd, waiting over 20 minutes for an espresso to be served cold , a bit steep at £10 the mouthful!, the restaurant staff very nice and helpful cannot say the same thing from the Chefs de Partie. This kind of establishment have lost their shine and should have a more critical eye in their team to show them what needs improving, shall i recommend this product to my clients, No this will be unethical.

Room Tip: Are you really sure you want to spend this amount of money?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amvmartinez, Responsable relations clients at Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

We are sorry to hear about your disappointment and gave new instructions to our department managers, actions will be taken where appropriate.

Kindly note that a refurbishment program is ongoing and with Hyatt being now managing the hotel further renovation is to come.

Please rest assured that the comfort and the satisfaction of our guests are our first preoccupation. We thank you for your understanding and for helping us to improve the quality of our service.

With all our very best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cannes hotels
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Carlton Cannes
0.6 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes
0.3 mi away
JW Marriott Cannes
JW Marriott Cannes
#16 of 126 in Cannes
931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Radisson Blu 1835 Hotel & Thalasso
0.6 mi away
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
#3 of 126 in Cannes
581 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez

Address: 73 boulevard de la Croisette, 06400 Cannes, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Cannes
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Cannes
#15 Luxury Hotel in Cannes
#23 Business Hotel in Cannes
#26 Family Hotel in Cannes
#30 Romantic Hotel in Cannes
Price Range: $220 - $881 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez 5*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As part of our renovation program, our hotel will be closed to the public from October, 30th, 2017 to March, 4th 2018. The entire property, public areas, rooms, restaurants & bar, meeting rooms, spa will be closed during this period. Looking forward to welcoming you on March, 5th, 2018. Situated on the exclusive Boulevard de la Croisette, overlooking the Mediterranean Sea, the Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez is one of the most iconic hotels on the French Riviera. Built in 1929, this legendary Art Deco hotel has 409 elegant rooms and suites, including a 1 000sqm Penthouse suite with breathtaking views over the Bay of Cannes. Renowned for its exquisite gourmet cuisine, the Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez boasts a variety of restaurants including the only 2-Michelin star restaurant in Cannes. During summer, the iconic Zplage private beach offers a beach club with a large pier, a bar and a restaurant. Leisure and activities include a spa and a fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martinez Hotel Cannes
Hotel Martinez Cannes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing