We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room for improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez
Ranked #17 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Room for improvement”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Do not pull any furniture in your luxury suite, you may have a nasty surprised, or do not look at any details, the hotel in some area is a bit grubby, dead orchids in bathroom, unclean towels, lights not working, the list is endless. The hotel is on a beautiful spot but as all luxury hotels on the French Riviera they have serious problem with cleanliness and staff attitude, Chef de partie swearing, beach staff still in shorts in November serving breakfast may be odd, waiting over 20 minutes for an espresso to be served cold , a bit steep at £10 the mouthful!, the restaurant staff very nice and helpful cannot say the same thing from the Chefs de Partie. This kind of establishment have lost their shine and should have a more critical eye in their team to show them what needs improving, shall i recommend this product to my clients, No this will be unethical.

Room Tip: Are you really sure you want to spend this amount of money?
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amvmartinez, Responsable relations clients at Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

We are sorry to hear about your disappointment and gave new instructions to our department managers, actions will be taken where appropriate.

Kindly note that a refurbishment program is ongoing and with Hyatt being now managing the hotel further renovation is to come.

Please rest assured that the comfort and the satisfaction of our guests are our first preoccupation. We thank you for your understanding and for helping us to improve the quality of our service.

With all our very best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,687 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    731
    463
    272
    125
    96
See reviews for
299
735
51
332
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zutendaal, Belgium
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed for a second time in 2013 in Hotel Martinez. Our stay was perfect: beautiful superior room, good food (again) at le Relais and at the beach restaurant, nice and efficient staff. They even remembered us from our first visit. I will definitely stay again at Hotel Martinez during my next visit to Cannes.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amvmartinez, Responsable relations clients at Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave a review and are extremely pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel Martinez.

Your satisfaction and your comments are an encouragement to us in the pursuit of making each stay a memorable one.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel Martinez.

With all our very best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Hotel is great, great location one of the best, close to restaurants( if your budget does not stretch to the hotels restaurant prices), although breakfast is super here (40€pp). You have to pay to use the pool which is disappointing at first , but then it is kept spotless and is serviced by two attentive , attendants who really do look after to you, which actually made us realise that it was actually great value for service. Try the cocktails here they are really tasty and you get the odd free mocktail by the pool. We spent most our time here, the girl attendants are outstanding staff and always happy to help and make you comfortable
Our room was clean good size and kept spotless, and the bathroom was super and very large. Bed really comfy. You really don't want to spend much time in your room as Cannes is beautiful, although if you have to , pay for a room with a sea view

The whole of Cannes is expensive and I can see some people have complained about prices, five star hotels are never cheap :)

Food at local restaurants is good although, DON'T go down the side streets to eat , some locals are very nasty to the holiday makers (if you are UK or USA) we had one encounter with a rude diner clearly jealous of visitors wealth, I have photographed the restaurant so you can avoid as the person was SO nasty it ruin our night. The concierge at Hotel Martinez is the best person to ask about local dining and always happy to help, also just a tip if you are not French and dont speak it ...attempt some French even if its just bonjour the French really appreciate it.

There was just one thing I think the hotel should take note of I witness a uk person tipping a man attendant so they didn't have to pay the pool prices, seemed unfair to all of us who paid ...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kittyWeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amvmartinez, Responsable relations clients at Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave a review and are extremely pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel Martinez.

Your satisfaction and your comments are an encouragement to us in the pursuit of making each stay a memorable one.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel Martinez.

With all our very best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

After reading a few of the reviews, I was a bit apprehensive as the hotel was expensive and I had already paid and booked. However I have to say this is the best hotel I have stayed in. The service, I must name Gregory from concierge and all the guest relations team ESP Georges, had made us feel like royalty. The decorated bed on our anniversary, the champagne on ice, the beautiful greetings, we could not have asked for anything more. we check out today and will be returning soon.
The hotel facilities are good and it's location is magnificent, you are in the middle of everything. Yes the beach is expensive, but that's not just this hotel. Cannes is an expensive destination in general.
The room was spacious, modern, well equipped with fantastic sea view.
Many thanks to all at the Martinez keep up the good work.

Jaspritand Belinder Kahai

Room Tip: sea view is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BelinderK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amvmartinez, Responsable relations clients at Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave a review and are extremely pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel Martinez.

We gave your compliments to both Georges and Gregory.

Your satisfaction and your comments are an encouragement to us in the pursuit of making each stay a memorable one.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel Martinez.

With all our very best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Hotel is well located. Our room (grand deluxe) was like new, spacious and well equipped. Allthough one of the most important items was missing from the room. Ironing board + iron. On my opinion this should allways be found from the room without asking.

Staff is helpfull and welcoming.
Prices are high, like they are at places like this.

So overall an 4+ star experience. Little overpriced during season, but acceptable


AND niw the annoying part.....

Even though I expect to get high prices the feeling off being ripped off is one of the worst things.
And it happened here. I can understand a separate 2-8€ fee for pool chairs/towels if the hotel feels this is necessary. In this point Martinez was on the other planet. 36€/person for the use of hotel pool. Total of 148€ for a family of four to sit by the pool. (disneyland money)

This is the fact that Makes me angry. In stead of this, next time please charge more fornthe room!,
I would have been mitåre then happy to spend 640€/night instead of the 540€/ night and not have this pool fee.
They would have much happier customers...or hire a lifeguard and lie, that the fee is for his/her services.

I would have given much better review and maybe 5 balls

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jani H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amvmartinez, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave your comment after staying at the Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez.
We will share with all the staff your good comments. We also have taken good note of your remarks.
Furthermore, in the peak summer period we unfortunately no choice but to charge for access to the swimming pool as a way of limiting access to this resource currently. However a renovation program it is planned to construct a much larger swimming pool in order to provide enough space to welcome all our guests, without extra charge.
Please rest assured that the comfort and the satisfaction of our guests are our first preoccupation.

We are looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez.

Karine, Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
143 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Excellent location, friendly staff, rich breakfast. The beach is something not to miss, amazing; but they make you pay for entering their beach (try watermelon on the beach, its yummy) The rooms we got were spacious with partial sea view. the only draw back was that the building from inside is a bit old, and needs refurbishment, the sinks were clogged several times. When I complained, the person in charge was very understanding and deeply apologized. She mentioned that the recent association with Grand Hyatt will, for sure, make things better. The internet was too slow and annoying to connect to as well. The concierge staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for sea-view, it's stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oliver_Zeitoun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amvmartinez, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave your comment after staying at the Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez.
We are extremely pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, in Cannes.
We will share with all our staff your comments. Your satisfaction is an encouragement to us in the pursuit of making each stay a memorable one.
I am pleased to confirm that works including room renovation are planned in the coming months.
We are looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez.


Karine, Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Martinez for almost a week and I was not impress at all. The rooms are big and clean, but outdated. The WiFi is weak. There was nothing impressive about the hotel. Everything was average. Now that Hyatt is taken over, I hope things will improve. For now, there are other places that are better for the same amount of money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redsoxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amvmartinez, Responsable relations clients at Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

Kindly note that a refurbishment program is ongoing and with Hyatt being now managing the hotel further renovation is to come.

Please rest assured that the comfort and the satisfaction of our guests are our first preoccupation. We thank you for your understanding and for helping us to improve the quality of our service.

With all our very best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cannes hotels
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Carlton Cannes
0.6 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes
0.6 mi away
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
#2 of 126 in Cannes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Radisson Blu 1835 Hotel & Thalasso
0.3 mi away
JW Marriott Cannes
JW Marriott Cannes
#13 of 126 in Cannes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Grand Hotel
Le Grand Hotel
#16 of 126 in Cannes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez

Property: Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez
Address: 73 boulevard de la Croisette, 06400 Cannes, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Cannes
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Cannes
#15 Luxury Hotel in Cannes
#23 Business Hotel in Cannes
#30 Romantic Hotel in Cannes
#32 Family Hotel in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez 5*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the exclusive Boulevard de la Croisette, overlooking the Mediterranean Sea, the Grand Hyatt Cannes Hôtel Martinez is one of the most iconic hotels on the French Riviera. Built in 1929, this legendary Art Deco hotel has 409 elegant rooms and suites, including a 1 000sqm Penthouse suite with breathtaking views over the Bay of Cannes. Renowned for its exquisite gourmet cuisine, the Grand Hyatt Cannes Hôtel Martinez boasts a variety of restaurants including the only 2-Michelin star restaurant in Cannes. During summer, the iconic Zplage private beach offers a beach club with a large pier, a bar and a restaurant. Leisure and activities include a outdoor heated swimming pool, a spa and a fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TravelUp, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martinez Hotel Cannes
Hotel Martinez Cannes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing