We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a 5 stars hotel !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez
Ranked #17 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

This hotel only lives on its reputation, that is no more on line with it used to be.
I should have been a bit more suspicious regarding all average and bad comments, but I wanted to offer a 5 stars hotel to my wife for her birthday and decided to choose the famous Martinez.
Please stay away from this hotel and go for another one just besides. So much to say about them : not a 5 stars service, the room we had was dirty, old and looked tired : stains on floor, curtains and wall, wall's wood garniture destroyed (cf pictures). The only good point was the floor (6th)...

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ayepepito A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amvmartinez, Responsable relations clients at Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

We are sorry to hear about your disappointment. Please accept our most sincere apologies for not having fulfilled your expectations.

Kindly note that a refurbishment program is ongoing and with Hyatt being now managing the hotel further renovation is to come.

Please rest assured that the comfort and the satisfaction of our guests are our first preoccupation. We thank you for your understanding and for helping us to improve the quality of our service.

Once again, let us express to you our most sincere regret for not having met your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,852)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

592 - 598 of 1,852 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013

The car parking. The attendants. The lobby. The immaculate check in. The luggage in the room when we got there. The room. The beds. The bathroom. The bath. The bar. The Relais restaurant on the terrace. The food. The new chef Sami Flavio. The amuse-bouches. The sunset. The Provencal Rose. The room service. The helpful staff. The beach across le Croisette. The sea. The lunches at the Z Plage.

Cooler, smarter, chic-er than the Carlton. If you're in Cannes for a Festival, this is the place.

Room Tip: A room on the front, but you'll be lucky.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julianmoseley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amvmartinez, Responsable relations clients at Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave a review and are extremely pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel Martinez.

Your satisfaction and your comments are an encouragement to us in the pursuit of making each stay a memorable one.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel Martinez.

With all our very best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Back at the Martinez (its now a Grand Hyatt after April 13) after a year and it brought back nice memories. We stayed with the kids this time in a Grand Deluxe room which was large enough for all of us. This was a 45 sqm room and had enough place for 2 extra beds and still had space for our 4 bags and a sofa in the room (our kids are 13 years old each)

We managed to get a great rate with breakfast and it was exceptional value.

The setting of the Hotel on Croisette, the presence of the property and the setting is firstly grand. Second, the Concierges are amongst the best. Nothing seemed too difficult - a restaurant booking, info, etc, were easily obtained and they were always very friendly. Third, I read some reviews on poor Breakfast - we ate there 4 mornings and never had an issue. The quality, choice and service were all top notch. Last - what sets a Hotel apart is reaction at the time of an issue. Our family (along with another family) were on the Martinez beach opposite when my son had an accident. He cut his toe very badly to the point where we almost suspected a hairline fracture. The care the team took of him was nothing sort of exceptional. We had Georges Cabrit, The Guest Relations Manager, who came down - reassured us, ensured that our son had got a painkiller and also gave us enough for the trip, gave us his number in case the pain escalated, etc. I would also like to assure you that I am not a high roller spending thousands at the Hotel but a normal guest on Holiday.

Yes - the rooms are old and need to be done up (and that is the probable reason for becoming a Grand Hyatt property) and you could get more English channels on TV but rest assured - this is still a great property with friendly and caring people at the helm.

Room Tip: The Deluxe Rooms are much larger and have side views of the Sea too....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gagan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amvmartinez, Responsable relations clients at Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave a review and are extremely pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel Martinez.

Your satisfaction and your comments are an encouragement to us in the pursuit of making each stay a memorable one.

We made sure that your compliments got to Georges.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel Martinez.

With all our very best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

I was there last week for a week. Not a nice experience. Scarse value for money and poor service.
We got a room overlooking the garbage! Some friends got one overlooking the air conditioning system! A very small cabinet specially if you consider minimum stay is 3 night. Not a single drawer in the room. Very old fridge as minibar. The gym is totally unsatisfactory. No video available there. Sauna very ancient. At the terace bar I ordered a Tio Pepe, on the list. Out of stock. I ordered a 10 years porto, they got me a 20 years one. If you like to go on the beach be ready to pay an extra fee of about 30 euro. I sent a mail to the Hyatt customer service: it took from Friday to Monday to react. Then I got a nice few maccarones (kind of cookies) and 2 bottle of water ( last time I got an issue at Marriott I got a bottle of champagne!). The cherry on the cake came when at breakfast when a maid was sprying chemical detergent next to us when we were having our food: resulted in all the chemical brought to us by the breeze. When alerted not to do that, she stoped for few seconds and then continued the job! Then the manager contacted me and they were very kind, but the disaster was already made. I do not suggest the experience!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cesare V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amvmartinez, Responsable relations clients at Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2013

We are sorry to hear about your disappointment. Please accept our most sincere apologies for not having fulfilled your expectations.

Your comments have been transmitted to all departments concerned and corrective actions will be taken where appropriate.

Kindly note that a refurbishment program is ongoing and with Hyatt being now managing the hotel further renovation is to come.

Please rest assured that the comfort and the satisfaction of our guests are our first preoccupation. We thank you for your understanding and for helping us to improve the quality of our service.

Once again, let us express to you our most sincere regret for not having met your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Not what I would expect from a five star room. Shabby wc, paint not matching, dirty balcony, shower door did not fit. Prime location and I imagine the suites are stunning, I hope so as the standard rooms are not.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jwr1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amvmartinez, Responsable relations clients at Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2013

We are sorry to hear about your disappointment. Please accept our most sincere apologies for not having fulfilled your expectations.


Kindly note that a refurbishment program is ongoing and with Hyatt being now managing the hotel further renovation is to come.

Please rest assured that the comfort and the satisfaction of our guests are our first preoccupation. We thank you for your understanding and for helping us to improve the quality of our service.

Once again, let us express to you our most sincere regret for not having met your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I like the hotel very much. but, it is expensive. You pay for internet, beach, and everything. You need to catch it Off Season. I went in October. It was not good weather in Cannes. However, I love the location, it will nice to go in summer.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nninoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amvmartinez, Responsable relations clients at Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2013

We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave a review and are extremely pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel Martinez.

Kindly note that the internet is always free in the hotel.

Your satisfaction and your comments are an encouragement to us in the pursuit of making each stay a memorable one.


We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel Martinez.

With all our very best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I stayed here the week after the festival finished, when Cannes was rebuilding and replacing pretty much everything.

I went in a number of rooms and saw the difference between the refurbished rooms and the old rooms. Most seem to be refurbished and they are lovely. Great bathroom and very comfy beds. The view's out the back of the hotel to the hills are ok, but the car park down below is not so great.

The hotel location itself is perfect.

If money matters to you I would maybe suggest other areas on the Riviera. A small bottle of beer was EUR 11. Two salads at lunch with water (while lovely) were came to EUR 90. If it is not an issue, which I suspect would be the case for many visitors in Cannes, then you will certainly have a nice stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boston_Gall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amvmartinez, Responsable relations clients at Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2013

We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave a review and are extremely pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel Martinez.


Your satisfaction and your comments are an encouragement to us in the pursuit of making each stay a memorable one.


We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel Martinez.

With all our very best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cannes hotels
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Carlton Cannes
0.6 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes
0.3 mi away
JW Marriott Cannes
JW Marriott Cannes
#14 of 126 in Cannes
933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Radisson Blu 1835 Hotel & Thalasso
0.6 mi away
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
#3 of 126 in Cannes
582 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez

Address: 73 Boulevard de la Croisette, 06400 Cannes, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Cannes
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Cannes
#15 Luxury Hotel in Cannes
#23 Business Hotel in Cannes
#26 Family Hotel in Cannes
#30 Romantic Hotel in Cannes
Price Range: $225 - $935 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez 5*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Martinez, which opened in 1929, is the very embodiment of the carefree spirit of the french Riviera during the same period. Then and now, it was and is the ultimate place to see and be seen on the Croisette, where personalities of every realm come together in a warm and friendly atmosphere filled with joie de vivre. Inspired by the landmark’s art deco style paired with the colors of the Cote d’Azur, interior designer Pierre-Yves Rochon, is breathing a new energy and life into this iconic establishment, translating the harmony between mother nature and the Mediterranean lifestyle. From the beach, to the new garden with its cafe ambiance, or the legendary bar La Palme d’Or (the two-Michelin-star restaurant) with chef Christian Sinicropi at the helm, Hotel Martinez invites guests to savour and share the riviera’s simple pleasures in a chic yet relaxed atmosphere. Re-opening on March 5, 2018. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martinez Hotel Cannes
Hotel Martinez Cannes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing