We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not up to scratch....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez
Ranked #17 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Not up to scratch....”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Stayed here for a conference and was very disappointed. We were given a smallish room at the back of the hotel...and as no upgrade was available, were rewarded with a bottle of Champagne - pleasant surprise. Everything fell apart from there. The wash basin had no hot water and the bath water was lukewarm. An engineer arrived but could not fix the problem without working on it for half-an hour. We were on our way out and left it as it was but on our return made a further request for hot water. Nothing changed and we went to bed only to have the toilet flushing through all night. The following day we called reception and informed the maid but returned later to find nothing had been done. Eventually went to reception and requested hot water, a non-flushing toilet and heating. Returning later in the day we had hot water, a non-flushing toilet but no heating.
The carpet in the room appeared to have some white spillage beside the bed and the lights are on low voltage...so dark for some time before you could see anything - if you could locate the light switches. There was no bidet in the bathroom, the plastic toilet seat was yellowing and the room was cold with the marble flooring. The rooms are definitely faded and need renovation and on our last day we were treated to builders in the dusty corridor mixing concrete and smashing plaster off doorways. Comparing our experience to other conference-goers, we discovered that we weren't the only ones with problems of heating and hot water...and general run-down experience.
We were eating at the conference dining room and the food was very good. The hotel was cold in the main corridors. I would not choose this hotel if not on a conference visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Castelet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amvmartinez, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are very sorry to hear that you are disappointed with your stay. We have taken good note of all your comments and would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused.

Regarding the heating system, a general shutdown was realised by the electric company to operate some check-up which stopped the heating system for some time.

Kindly note that a refurbishment program is ongoing and started with our Prestige Sea View rooms. Others room categories will be done accordingly.

Please be assured that the comfort and the satisfaction of our guests are our first preoccupation. Thank you for your understanding and for helping us to improve the quality of our service.

With all our very best regards

The Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,684 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    728
    463
    272
    125
    96
See reviews for
299
734
51
331
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
579 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 460 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We reserved a suite and were upgraded to a super suite with two rooms and two bath rooms completely refurbished in the best possible art deco fashion. The service was impeccable and the location of the hotel makes it perfect. We will go back every time we are in Cannes.

Room Tip: Reserve a rtoom at the highest possible floor facing the sea. Sublime.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmLondon845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amvmartinez, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave a review and are extremely pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel Martinez.

Your satisfaction and your comments are an encouragement to us in the pursuit of making each stay a memorable one.


We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel Martinez.

With all our very best regards

The Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

We have been to Cannes many times and had always wondered what it was really like to stay at the Martinez, especially as we have dined there before, and had some lovely evenings in the Z Plage bar. The reviews on here are very mixed so its always worth reserving opinion until you stay yourself. The location, and the service at this hotel are perfect. The staff are courteous, friendly and efficient. The room service was prompt and the food of a good standard. Of course this is the Martinez and Cannes so you can expect to pay a hefty price for food drink and mini bar. Although our room was clean and of a reasonable size, the fixtures and fittings are in dire need of replacing as is the decor. (The ceiling, wallpaper and carpet were stained from what looked like a plumbing accident or leak) It really was like going back to the 70's! Despite the decor which I am informed will be renovated in time, I really think the hotel has no excuse not to add a few more 5 star touches to the room, like a Nespresso machine, ipod doc, better model of TV.with more English channels (not even BBC world!).the toiletries in bathroom were really poor quality too. The turn down service included a small bottle of still water each, in a plastic bottle! The balcony we had overlooked the side of the building although we could see the sea. There is an issue with noise in this hotel, which is the very close by railway, the trains, even with the balcony door closed, are very audible from early morning till night, so a rear facing room must be a nightmare. The bed was comfortable although consisted of a duvet not inside a proper cover but between two sheets which managed to work itself apart every night. Bottom line, would we stay again, yes probably, but in a renovated room.

Room Tip: Front facing or side room which has been renovated!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amvmartinez, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave a review and are extremely pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel Martinez.

Your satisfaction and your comments are an encouragement to us in the pursuit of making each stay a memorable one.


We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel Martinez.

With all our very best regards

The Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We spend very much time in this hotel during this summer. And what can I say.... They just have famous name and nice beach in Cannes, and that's all.... First when we arrive we need to wait very long in reception and sometimes staff they leave in front of you and they say nothing. If you need something during your stay, for ex. towels or shower gel, you will wait so long... almost one hour. Its not normal in 5 star hotel. We met just two nice person - Rafael and very nice blond girl one time, just I don't remember her name, sorry. Thanks for them. Breakfast its not good. If you will decide to spend time in Beach bar in the evening, you need to know that you will wait your drink for 30-40minutes and cocktails its not super. During the day you can spend nice time in the beach, staff is very nice and helpful. And food for lunch is very good in beach bar and in the hotel restaurant too. So we will come there again just to spend day by the beach in summer, but I'm not sure that we will stay in the hotel for the night.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amvmartinez, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are very sorry to hear that you are disappointed with your stay. We have taken good note of all your comments and would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused.

New instructions were given to our staff and we are working with our teams to improve their efficiency.


Please be assured that the comfort and the satisfaction of our guests are our first preoccupation. Thank you for your understanding and for helping us to improve the quality of our service.

With all our very best regards

The Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mazliah, HaMerkaz, Israel
1 review
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Greetings
My better half and I ….went on a vacation in Cannes France Riviera and we stay in the Martinez hotel .we stay there between the dates 28.9.12-3.10.12 and we were amazed at the quality of the hotel. The hotel strict about the highest comfortable in the room with the nice room service. The dining room organized a wonderful, the food was excellent and the hotel staff was very polite and very pleasant. The hotel location is very convenient and accessible to anywhere you want to go. The French Riviera- Cote d'Azur is full of Attractions, Views, Prestige and great Sites. We strongly recommend to spend more than a week and of course with appropriate budget.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gavriel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amvmartinez, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave a review and are extremely pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel Martinez.


Your satisfaction and your comments are an encouragement to us in the pursuit of making each stay a memorable one.


We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel Martinez.

With all our very best regards

The Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeTown
Level Contributor
104 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Spent the day at this hotel's beach club early October. Be prepared to pay big bucks for the pleasure of swimming and dining here and you'll have a great time. Staff are extremely professional - on arrival my credit card kept being rejected, which was quite embarassing for me, but the young lady at no time suggested it was my fault and was insistent that we take up our sunbeds and she would sort it out. It transpired that she had inadvertantly punched in the wrong code number and she was most apologetic. Sun-beds and towels all in good condition, beach staff friendly and efficient. We had reserved lunch at 2pm (having reserved the sun-beds for the morning session only). Had a drink at the bar while waiting for a table to become available. Even though the place was absolutely packed, service was smooth. Food was beautifully presented and delicious. My teen daughter had the "lipstick" promotion dessert which was stunning and tasty. A real luxurious day's treat.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaysjournal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amvmartinez, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave a review and are extremely pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Zplage.


Your satisfaction and your comments are an encouragement to us in the pursuit of making each stay a memorable one.


We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel Martinez.

With all our very best regards

The Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
155 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

This is the place to see, the place to be and the place to stay in Cannes.
Your experience on this fabulous hotel will be enhanced even further if you make sure you get a room facing the beach.

This is where its all happening in Cannes and you just walk across to enjoy the beach.

One of the best 3 hotels in Cannes no question.

Room Tip: Get a room in the tower facing the beach with a french balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DamianRoberts1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amvmartinez, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave a review and are extremely pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel Martinez.


Your satisfaction and your comments are an encouragement to us in the pursuit of making each stay a memorable one.


We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel Martinez.

With all our very best regards

The Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cannes hotels
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Carlton Cannes
0.6 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes
0.6 mi away
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
#2 of 126 in Cannes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Radisson Blu 1835 Hotel & Thalasso
0.3 mi away
JW Marriott Cannes
JW Marriott Cannes
#14 of 126 in Cannes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Grand Hotel
Le Grand Hotel
#16 of 126 in Cannes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez

Property: Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez
Address: 73 boulevard de la Croisette, 06400 Cannes, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Cannes
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Cannes
#15 Luxury Hotel in Cannes
#23 Business Hotel in Cannes
#30 Romantic Hotel in Cannes
#32 Family Hotel in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez 5*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the exclusive Boulevard de la Croisette, overlooking the Mediterranean Sea, the Grand Hyatt Cannes Hôtel Martinez is one of the most iconic hotels on the French Riviera. Built in 1929, this legendary Art Deco hotel has 409 elegant rooms and suites, including a 1 000sqm Penthouse suite with breathtaking views over the Bay of Cannes. Renowned for its exquisite gourmet cuisine, the Grand Hyatt Cannes Hôtel Martinez boasts a variety of restaurants including the only 2-Michelin star restaurant in Cannes. During summer, the iconic Zplage private beach offers a beach club with a large pier, a bar and a restaurant. Leisure and activities include a outdoor heated swimming pool, a spa and a fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TravelUp, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martinez Hotel Cannes
Hotel Martinez Cannes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing