We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK 5 Star Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes
Ranked #5 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“OK 5 Star Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

I stayed 1 night in April and found the hotel acceptable, however, just nothing that particularly blew my socks off. The staff were good, in particular on the Front Desk and the breakfast. We had a room on the higher floors and apparently it was one of the refurbished rooms. It wasn't large, however the beds and bedding fabulous and it was overall very comfortable and the back view of Cannes was just fine.

The shower was a bit silly. It was a bath tube with a shower in it, however, rather than the shower head being at the end of the bath which was covered by the 1/2 glass door, it was in the middle of the shower wall past the end of the where the 1/2 glass door finished....this meant lots of water on the floor. God know what the person that designed it was thinking!

The breakfast was fabulous ! and the complimentary Pommery Champagne made it even better.

Keep in mind that despite the large price you pay to stay at the hotel you still have to pay £26 euro to use the beds on their beach. I paid the £26 to use the sun bed on the beach, however, when I went into the water a piece of human excrement floated towards me..so I made a quick exit from the water and did not return to it.

The one thing I wish I had realised was the size of the hotel pool - it is very small with approx 20 beds...so with over 260 rooms...you do the math !!!! If I knew this I would not have booked this hotel.

Overall I would not look to stay in Cannes or any of their hotels. I found Nice, Cap Ferrat, Monaco..much nicer.

Also if you are looking for a fab little restaurant, try Chez Vincent et Nicholas in the old town. The food was fabulous and was only £160 for the two of us...for 3 course, a glass of wine or two and cognac.

Again, I am glad I stayed here, however, I will not be returning to Cannes.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sydney_AustraliaMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre Louis R, Directeur général at Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear guest,

On the first hand, we would like to thank you for your appreciation toward our Hotel. Our customer's feedback is essential for us.

We apologize if your experience did not fully satisfied you. However, it is a pleasure to read that you are glad you stayed with us.

If you decide to visit the city of Cannes again, we will be very happy to welcome you back.

Sincerely,

Pierre-Louis Renou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,899 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,241
    400
    151
    73
    34
See reviews for
312
893
62
359
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

Just a few words to say what a lovely hotel the Majestic Barriere is. We had a few days of luxury. The breakfasts were very good, especially the Pommerey champagne and fresh orange juice. The staff were very helpful with excellent customer service.

A special thank you to Isabelle on reception for changing our room so quickly and efficiently (initially we had a room above the air conditioning units which was noisy).

I would highly recommend this hotel and the resort of Cannes

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms at the back of the hotel near the air conditioning fans
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneyJaneEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre Louis R, Directeur général at Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing the hotel Majestic Barrière and for sharing with us this wonderful experience on the Trip Advisor website.

I am glad to know that enjoyed so much your stay with us and rest assured that I am going to share your comments with the whole team and especially with Isabelle.

Your positive impressions are our best reward and they strongly encourage us to uphold the level of excellence you are entitled to expect… Deserving your trust is essential.

Concerning our very good buffet breakfast, we offer champagne to all our guests because we think that every reason why guests come at the Majestic Barrière is important and deserve to be celebrated!

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in order to demonstrate the quality of service we take great pride in the near future.

With my very best regards,

Pierre-Louis RENOU
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

Took my daughter for spring break to Cannes for three days...after arriving at Majestic Barriere we asked to extend our stay for another three days! The place is exquisite! The hotel staff is extremely friendly and helpful and the hotel overall is beautiful. The breakfast buffet is one of the best I've experienced in Europe - loved the champagne and eggs made to order. We were fortunate to have a few days of sunny weather and spent some time at the private beach. Tony, our beach attendant was FABULOUS - very courteous, attentive, and friendly! We are already planning our return visit for this summer :-) LOVE, LOVE, LOVE, this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Deborah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre Louis R, Directeur général at Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing the hotel Majestic Barrière and for taking the time to share you comments with us and thank you for posting a glowing review of your recent stay at our property.

I am happy to know that your stay with us has been wonderful and I am charmed to read your passionate appreciation of the excellent facilities the hotel has to offer and the fabulous services.

Every day all our staff makes their the best in order to all our guests feel specially, so it will be a pleasure to forward them your kind comments in regards to the service and especially to Tony.

It’s a wonderful compliment for us to know the breakfast you tasted was the best you have experienced in Europe!

Your nice compliments are a great reward to our continuous efforts to meet our clients' expectations. Deserving your trust is essential.

As you said, the Majestic Barrière is the exquisite place to spend a nice time in Cannes !

Thank you again for the courtesy of your time and we all look forward to welcoming you again very soon at the Hotel Majestic Barrière for another wonderful stay.

Yours sincerely,

Pierre- Louis RENOU
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

From the moment we arrived into this hotel we were welcomed as if we were part of the family, the concierge were very attentive, polite and lead us to the reception area. From there Charles the front office manager took care of us, we were after a possible extra night and he did his best to help us in this area, and in the end his personal attention to my wife and I was brilliant. It doesn't end there... Sofia took us to our room personally and showed us our room and it's functionality, again what more can you ask for.

The main thing I will say is, that the hotel is one of the hotels that has the celebrities stay there during the Cannes Film Festival, and we were certainly treated as if we were celebrities, many hotels when they become mid to large hotels lose that personal touch and more to the point looking after people and the Majestic ticked every box for us, we would strongly recommended anyone going to Cannes is to stay at the Majestic... Thanks Charles and Sofia.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a balcony suite, it's a nice view of the sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre Louis R, Directeur général at Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing the Hotel Majestic Barriere and for taking the time to share your positive experience in such a lovely way.

It’s a real pleasure to know you found our hotel "fantastic" and we are all delighted to read that you enjoyed our celebrities’ treatments.

Every day all our staff makes sure that our guests feel at home, it will therefore be a pleasure to forward them your kind comments in regards to the service and especially to Sofia and Charles.
They are our best reward and they strongly encourage us to uphold the level of excellence you are entitled to expect… Deserving your trust is essential.

Again, we thank you for your time, and we are looking forward to welcoming you soon again for another fantastic stay with us.

Sincerely Yours,

Pierre-Louis RENOU
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

I recently stayed at The Majestic Hotel Cannes, the hotel totally speaks for itself. The art deco style is perfect, with the luxury, elegance, charm and finery you would expect. The staff are friendly and professional, with one of the best breakfasts I have experienced, and there has been many. The private beach has had a recent new design and is one of the best on the Croisette and is the nearest to the Palais festival hall. Overall a magical memorable stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre Louis R, Directeur général at Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing the hotel Majestic Barrière and for taking the time to share your comments concerning your recent at the Hotel Majestic Barrière.

We strive to provide exceptional service; therefore your feedback is exceedingly important as it acts as an indicator of how we are performing.

It’s a wonderful compliment for us to know you enjoyed at our property the best breakfast till now! I am very glad that you enjoyed our new sandy beach and we thank you again for finding it “one of the best on the Croisette” and I am charmed to read your appreciation of the hotel’s art deco style.
I am very happy to know that you left our hotel with pleasant memories.

Again, we appreciate you taking a moment to provide your feedback, as we know your time is valuable.

We look forward to welcoming you back the next time your travel plans include the French Riviera.

With best regards,

Pierre-Louis RENOU
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

To have a few days away in reasonable weather in Mid April we booked this trip via Voyage Prive.

The flight from Bristol and the Transfer from Nice were very satisfactory. We very beautifully looked after in reception. This included a tour of the hotel and the room inspection. I was found so that we were unpacked and touring the town bt 12 noon.

The location and facilities were very good. It has its own beach; and satisfactory pool on and bar within its grounds.

The buffet breakfast was excellent - with a full variety of all types of fayre.

A great place to stay to tour the coast. Easy to get to Monte Carlo/ Monaco by train. And to drive the delights of Southern Provence.

Room Tip: Go high to get the best view of the bay and Film Festival. Some rooms have a balcony edge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre Louis R, Directeur général at Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your positive opinion with us and all people visiting Trip advisor’s web site.

It’s a delight to read your appreciation for our great location “to stay to tour the coast”.
We are very lucky to enjoy such a good location at the Côte d’Azur; few steps away from Monaco-Monte Carlo, St Tropez, Grasse: therefore, we are so happy to see that you have taken advantage of it.

Thank you for bringing your positive comments about the breakfast to our attention and we are very happy you have found it excellent.

Our team is looking forward to welcoming you back soon for a new luxury stay in Cannes.

Yours sincerely,

Pierre-Louis RENOU
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

We had a wonderful 4 night stay at this hotel. We intended to eat only on the first evening but ended up eating at both their main restaurants and also having dinner on our terrace. Their restaurant staff are almost without equal in friendliness and efficiency. Concierge was below par on both occasions when we needed their assistance; good advice is to bring your own flowers and go to the restaurant manager directly if you need a late table. However, to rate this hotel as less than excellent would be very ungrateful.
Victor

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a bay view room; well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Victor T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre Louis R, Directeur général at Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Client,

Thank you very much for choosing the hotel Majestic Barrière and for taking the time to share your comments concerning your stay with us.

We strive to provide exceptional service; therefore your feedback is exceedingly important as it acts as an indicator of how we are performing.

It’s a real pleasure to know you spent 4 wonderful nights and you appreciated restaurant’s staff service. Every day all our staff makes sure that our guests feel at home, it will therefore be a pleasure to forward them your kind comments in regards to the service.

Thank you for bringing your concerns about the concierges’ service to our attention and we feel sorry for not meeting your expectations on this point. Hope next time their assistance will be “one of the key thing” you will remember!

Again, we thank you for your time, and we are looking forward to welcoming you soon again for, this tame really perfect stay with us.

Sincerely Yours,

Pierre-Louis RENOU
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cannes hotels
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Carlton Cannes
0.1 mi away
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
#2 of 126 in Cannes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu 1835 Hotel & Thalasso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez
0.1 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion
0.3 mi away
JW Marriott Cannes
JW Marriott Cannes
#13 of 126 in Cannes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes

Property: Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes
Address: 10, La Croisette, 06400 Cannes, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Cannes
#3 Spa Hotel in Cannes
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cannes
#4 Family Hotel in Cannes
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cannes
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes 5*
Number of rooms: 349
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Majestic Barriere, icon of elegance and luxury, welcomes you into a world of refinement offering all the comfort of a legendary luxury hotel. The Majestic Barriere has a new look. Fully refurbished this winter, the hotel lobby and all of its rooms, suites and corridors reflect the latest trends bringing together luxury, tradition and modernity. In the near future, the Majestic 2010 will open a new wing, an extension of the existing hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Barriere Cannes Hotel Cannes
Majestic Barriere Hotel Cannes
Cannes Majestic Barriere Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing