We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic staff, hotel and location.”
Review of Hotel America

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel America
Ranked #29 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Fantastic staff, hotel and location! Highly recommend as a great base to explore Cannes. Staff couldnt be more helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CandJontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (336)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 336 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2012

Basic hotel.
Very, Very Clean - The daily room service was Amazing, the maid deserves a pay rise!
The room was small, but sufficent, had TV with limited chanels, Air Con, Mini Bar etc.
The location is superb, one row back from the beach (La Croisette)
The staff spoke fantastic English and were so helpful.

We took a number 210 shuttle bus from Nice airport (€25 pp return) It took us too the main road, by the port, so a 5 minute walk to the hotel (Head for Hotel Majestic which is on the sea front, and Hotel America is behind it)
We travelled to Monaco via train from Cannes (€16 pp return) The train station is a 5 minute walk from the hotel.

Cannes itself is beautiful, lots of places to eat, drink and shop and stunning beaches both Private and public.
Overall a fab stay.
If I had one negative to say, I would say the decore in the hotel, especially the rooms and carpets are very dated - But that is just a personal opinion as I like the modern look!
Thank you Hotel America 10/10.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vikki123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

I stayed in Hote America with a friend who orgaised the whole trip, so I had little by way of expectation. However, I could not fault anything.

The staff were extremely friendly, and the hotel is fantastically central.

The rooms are not huge, but they are certainly a decent size. The beds were very comfy, the bathroom was decent, and everything was absolutely spotless.

While there was no iron/ironing board in the room, they provided one very promptly on request at reception.

We had to pay for WI-FI, but it wasnt too expensive, and there was no problem accessing it from the room

And best of all, the bus to the airport at Nice ran from a bus stop only across the road from the hotel!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SMCDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

for around 130 euros per day for room you get good spotless room( 2people) and more than adequate continental breakfast
Hotel is in a good positinion one row back from front.
5 minutes to train station and 2 minutes to cannes airport bus

Room Tip: express bus from Cannes airport a bit pricey but worth it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank noossas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

My husband and I spent two nights at the hotel last week and cannot fault it at all. The staff were very helpful and plesant, and always keen to assist with directions etc. The hotel is very central to everything.

The room was a good size, the bed comfy and very clean, what more do you want when you sepnd most of your time out!!

Would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Limpey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

This was our second trip to France and the staff was very helpful and friendly. The hotel's location is within easy walking distance to many stores, restaurants and beach. The accomodations were very clean and comfortable and I would highly recommend this hotel.We will come back

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 800Malaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2011

I stayed here in October 2011 as a single traveler and overall, it was a good hotel. On the positive side, there are three strengths this hotel has going for it that make it great:

1. Location: Right in the middle of town and close to everything.
2. Staff: Outstanding staff who were very helpful and spoke great English
3. Extremely convenient location for catching the 210 bus to the Nice airport (16.50 Euros - can't do better!)

On the other side, there wasn't anything horribly bad about the hotel, or at least not one item that made it bad, but there were a lot of little things caused me not to like it as much as the other hotels I had stayed in during this trip to France. For instance:

- Wifi: There was a charge to use the wifi of 8 euros a day, unlike the other hotels where this was gratis (though the hotel had a computer that was free to use)
- Breakfast: 15 Euros for what was essentially a 7-8 Euro breakfast elsewhere in France (even Paris)
- Room: Crowded by two singles put together as a double, but with no drawers or shelves to put clothes away.
- Street Noise: The side of the hotel where my room was located faced the rear of another hotel, whose staff would go out to smoke and chat on their breaks. This went on all day and all night.
- Heat/AC: there were individual controls for heat and AC. It was a bit warm in October, and I turned on the AC, but all I got was heat. Leaving the window open was not an option, due to the staff from the hotel across the street kibitzing all night (see above)

These are all nit-picky items, I realize, but compared to other hotels that I stayed in on this trip in France (that were all 2 star), I expected a bit more from a 3 star place. Still, it was a good, clean hotel, with a location that is very desirable.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jgm_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cannes hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Renoir
Hotel Renoir
#16 of 126 in Cannes
447 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#4 of 126 in Cannes
200 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Mondial
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#34 of 126 in Cannes
374 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel de Provence
Hotel de Provence
#1 of 126 in Cannes
809 reviews
0.1 mi away
Okko Hotel Cannes Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel America? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel America

Address: 16 rue Notre Dame, 06400 Cannes, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Cannes
#15 Business Hotel in Cannes
#16 Family Hotel in Cannes
#24 Luxury Hotel in Cannes
#28 Romantic Hotel in Cannes
Price Range: $85 - $377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel America 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a 1-mn walk from the Palais des Festivals and the Congress Centre, between the Croisette and rue d'Antibes, just a few steps from the beaches, the marina and the casinos, Hôtel AMERICA means memorable stays in the heart of Cannes, an "international village" on the French Riviera. Air-conditionning, Minibar, Satellite TV, free Wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel America reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
America Hotel Cannes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing