We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Dessert Ever Made” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cocoon - CLOSED

Cocoon
Price range: $16 - $34
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean, European, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: The Cocoon offers to discover everyday a menu that changes along the chef's mood. From French specialties to more typical dishes for reasonable prices, your taste buds will be delighted by our 100% home made food.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Dessert Ever Made”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

The food at Cocoon is always delicious, and I make a point of stopping at least once for a meal during the Cannes Film Festival. But their chocolate cake is the best thing I've ever put in my mouth. With just a touch of flour, it's warm and gooey (is there a French equivalent of that word?) and the Nutella frosting adds the extra decadence necessary to make it truly memorable. Don't miss it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie E, Gérant at Cocoon, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Hi Judy,
Thank you so much for your review. I remember you loved the chocolate cake, so here is the receipe (you will need to convert the gr to pounds) :
8 eggs
400 gr of dark chocolate
300 gr of brown sugar
200 gr of salted butter
100 gr of flour

Melt the chocolate with the butter until they are fully mixed
Mix the eggs with the sugar until they form a foam
Add the chocolate mix (still warm) to the eggs and sugar
Add the flour in one go

Cook in the pre-heated oven at 180°C during 15-20 mintutes.

Once the cake is cooked and cooled, top it with 3 big spoons of Nutella and ENJOY !!!

See you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    57
    9
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious home made food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We went for brunch and arrived early around 1130am, having been drawn in by the fresh baked goods (fruit tart, chocolate cake, fruit salad, tarte tartin) sitting on the window bench. This meant they were not ready as the menu changes daily and is handwritten. We waited a long time for service and finally a very nice waiter came out to the terrace to explain. We decided to wait and were not disappointed with the food. We had house style moussaka and salmon tart with salad, both of which were delicious. The service was a little off - the waiter forgot the bread basket so our French neighbours offered theirs to us! The staff seemed more interested in talking among themselves than to guests but this was perhaps a function of them gearing up for lunchtime service. Go for the food though.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AmandaFromSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
“What a great find! Friendly, home cooked french cuisine, chic and bijoux!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Delicious goat's cheese warm salad with tarte tatin en plus! Exactly what I came back to France for. Highly recommend this place. All the meals served around me looked brilliant too.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EmelyneUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“MIPIM 2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Together with colleagues I hosted two lunches for clients at this conference...our collective anxieties were around speed of service and quality of food. We should not have worried-as we were superbly well looked after by Stefani, her Mum, and the rest of the team. The food, freshly prepared each morning, was really excellent.
I will certainly return and am sure many of our guests will too.

Thanks Stefani!

Chris Dougray

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dougers-007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
france
Level Contributor
211 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Not what we expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Tiny place for lunch where we went with 4! We would have preferred more choice!
2 of us went for the " salade au chèvre". and the men "La Ruche de Cocoon".
Salad was good, big and tasty but underneath the salad the plate was full with water. When you finish the first part of the salad it's fine but the second half with all the water no good at all.
La Ruche de Cocoon, 21 Euro looked a bit like the leftovers because we were late. Also the presentation looked like putting the leftovers on a plate.
Wine was very good as was the cake! It's always a pity to get "Tarte Tatin" heated in a Microwave. It should not happen in a good restaurant.
Service very friendly! Maybe we have to try again and we prefer the terrace or downstairs.
,

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FranceMartine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cocoon also viewed

Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing