We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true Cannes classic”
Review of Aux Bons Enfants

Aux Bons Enfants
Ranked #192 of 826 Restaurants in Cannes
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Cannes
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A true Cannes classic”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We were delighted to find this little gem the other day and it's delightful with a tasty delicious menu of tradition. Apparently it has been there since 1935 and just near the Marche Forville. My companion had pressed artichoke with foie gras and I tried the little piggy ears. (how daring!) for starters. For main course I had calves liver cooked softly in balsamic and a nice selection of vegetables incl pommes dauphinoise. Again the choice of dessert was good but I went for the chocolat fondant with icecream which measured up. I always try this dish if it's on the menu first time I go somewhere and this was a good one. Will be back...our menu was around 25 per head which is typical and the service was good. So glad I tried this place.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank cazzassss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    119
    55
    31
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vedbæk, Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Good food, good service - had to come back”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

A bit dark - a bit hidden - but this is a true gem amidst all the glory and the glitter in Cannes. After walking around in the great market - time for lunch and we entered this friendly place. We tried both lunch and dinner - the menu is pretty much the same - but so what - the food is simple, traditional and tasty. The menu consits of 3 courses (28 Eur.)- but you can pick just entree and main course or main course and dessert. We tried artichoke & foie gras, poulet w/rice & mushroom sauce, calamares frites, prunes in wine, pot au chocolat w/raspberries. The 2nd time it was stuffed veal breast, assorted cheeses and again 2 great desserts. We drank both rosé and red wine - good quality in half bottles. The service is fast and friendly - and all around us each guest seemed to be happy. I observed an elderly US couple - tired from walking and very grumpy about - well, I don't know - they didn't like the menu but decided to stay anyway. They shared an entree and had a glass of the local red wine and the magic worked - they started talking - they smiled and they complimented the waiter and said the food was great. The kitchen is traditional provencal - so you can also get kidney and blood sausage (boudin noir) - if you want to try this. Remember cash - no credit cards. The tiramisu was sold out - but if we get back to Cannes some other time - we'll drop by again - I'm sure it will be worth the trip.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lone H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east africa
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Small hidden restaurant with great food”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

It's in the back streets and well worth finding.

We tired Veal stew, very tasty , the sole well cooked , mixed vegetables,mash potato cooked with olive oil , artichoke starters and a stupendously good roasted apples with caramel dessert.
The place is not fancy , simple but good service and fine food.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kuwinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“the price is right!”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

at 26e for 3 courses the food here is ok very busy place could do with more service but i do feel they have priced themselves correctly for their far from amazed but decnt food

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank njdimond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Traditional French cafe with excellent reputation but unimpressed w/entrees.”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

My husband ordered swordfish and I ordered a stuffed, spinach and rice, veal breast. Portions were quite small,even by French standards, and neither were particularly well seasoned. The sides were fair though not hot. Service was good and the desserts were outstanding! Don't think we will return to this highly recommended cafe. Cash Only!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SandyBF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aux Bons Enfants also viewed

Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Aux Bons Enfants? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing