We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good-basic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel De France Cannes
Ranked #72 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
istanbul
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“good-basic”
Reviewed April 19, 2012

good location. basic hotel and room, not so spacious. Helpfull staff.
but need to renovation particulary for bathroom.
regarding the price, like to stay again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aksekili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    38
    18
    5
    5
See reviews for
14
39
7
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Amman
Level Contributor
88 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2011

Ideally located, 10 minutes walk from Cannes congress centre. In the middle of the shopping area. In The back streets are many restaurants.
Room is basic, clean with WiFi. Breakfast restaurant is small, come early to find a place. Breakfast is ok for three star hotel. It took me 40 minutes to Nice airport.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AyyadAyyad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

The hotel is rather unassuming being little more than a doorway from the Rue d'Antibes. It is narrow but tall and has five floors plus a roof terrace. The staff are friendly and helpful - the desk staff speak good English but the other staff speak very little English - they are all however pleasant and try to make your stay good. The buffet breakfast is good. The location of the hotel is good being on one of the main streets in the centre of Cannes and just a short walk from the beach and main shopping areas. The only problem we had was that our room (on the first floor) opened directly into the breakfast area. The sound proofing from outside the hotel was excellent with secondary double glazing cutting out most of the street noise. However, the door from the dining area was not sound proofed at all so we were woken every morning by guests having breakfast (especially one morning when a particularly loud group of Italians were in the hotel). To be fair the hotel staff did bring us some complimentary wine on our last night (unprompted) - but if you are a light sleeper, or plan to sleep beyond 6.00am on any day, I would strongly advise you not to take any rooms on the first floor. I assume that rooms on the other floors are not as effected. We enjoyed our stay and would not find any fault other than the noise issue - hich is why the score is slightly lower.

Room Tip: Don't have one on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grahamclowes04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2010

I'm just wrapping up my trip here in Cannes, and I've got to say, I'm really happy I stayed here. It's a quick walk to the Palais, centralized location for just about anything, and it's very clean. Service is great as well, everyone here was very friendly and helpful with my misuse of their wonderful language.

Rooms are very European (small-ish, no surprise) but clean and perfectly functional. Free wifi is a nice touch, but it's a bit hit-or-miss with the connection near the upper floors. Terrace on the roof is a deal-maker all by itself. Very cool. Mini bar, flat screen TV, heater in bathroom, room lights at arm's reach from bed. Nice.

Breakfast is short and sweet - great coffee, croissants and baguettes, with options for cereal, fruit, yogurt, assorted sweet breads and sliced meats (?). The ladies here are super pleasant, and make early mornings very tolerable, even with jet-lag.

Having only been to Cannes once, I can't speak to the other hotels in the area, but having traveled enough I must say - this is a great place, if you want the best quality in location, price and services. Loved it.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hedral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 4, 2008

We travel to Cannes by Eurostar/TGV as my husband does not like flying - found this hotel on Booking.com. This was our second visit to Cannes but the previous hotel being over the station side so to find this hotel in the centre of everything was a bonus and just a five minute walk from the station. The room was spacious, clean and the air conditioning was great. The flat screen t.v. was not useful for us as only one channel being appropriate. The bed was very comfortable with good quality bed sheets. The sun terrace was a plus of which we used to its full extent, it has chairs, tables, sunbeds and a very good shaded area along with a cold drinks machine. Great for sitting last thing at night and taking in the full view of all of Cannes by night. Will definitely stay again next year.

  • Liked — large room and sun terrace
  • Disliked — bar was not quite up to expectations as advertised
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank esbdorisWhitton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2008

I stayed at Hotel de France for an exhibition and it was a very basic hotel. I had a room in the top floor. The walls are very thin indeed, I could hear the person next door snore away all night long. The air conditioning was not on yet, as it was still winter,but I was hot, as the weather had been quite good.

The breakfast is very basic and expensive. The breakfast area is very small as is the bar.

Location wise it was good near to the restaurants/night life/beach/shopping.

But we had paid full price which meant not very good value for money, infact ripped off!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — rooms
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ajax64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2007

The hotel location is good but not the room. The hotel gave us the room on the 1st floor which is right outside of the breakfast, bar area. We were waken up by the hotel staff early in the morning when they were setting up the breakfast area and then guests were looking right at you when you exiting from your room. This was a such bad experience for us. This is just a reminder- please double check with the hotel to see what kind of room will you be getting prior booking with Expedia.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The room on the first floor, right in the breakfast and bar area
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mitch12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cannes hotels
0.0 mi away
Best Western Mondial
Best Western Mondial
#21 of 126 in Cannes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Festival
Hotel Festival
#44 of 126 in Cannes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.1 mi away
Azurene Royal Hotel
Azurene Royal Hotel
#80 of 126 in Cannes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel des Congres et Festivals
0.1 mi away
Hotel Athenee Cannes
Hotel Athenee Cannes
#48 of 126 in Cannes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
0.0 mi away
Appia Hotel
Appia Hotel
#84 of 126 in Cannes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De France Cannes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De France Cannes

Property: Hotel De France Cannes
Address: 85 rue d Antibes, 06400 Cannes, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel De France Cannes 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel de France enjoys an exceptional position, in the center of Cannes and the Rue d'Antibes. The hotel is situated 300 meters from the sea and the Palais des Festivals and Congresses and only 5 minutes from Gare Beautiful fully renovated hotel composed of 32 rooms and a panoramic terrace overlooking the bay of Cannes and the Esterel. The hotel is completely non smoking. Smoking area on the terrace. All rooms are air conditioned and include: -bathroom with shower or bath and toilet -TV Satellite -Telephone -Safe -Free Mini Bar A breakfast buffet is served in our breakfast room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel De France Cannes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing