We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much warmer and more personal than the big 4* and 5* in La Croisette”
Review of Hotel de Provence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel de Provence
Ranked #1 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Excellent stay with our 2 years old son in the central 1st floor room with a nice and rather large private gardened patio where you could have breakfast or a meal (take-away). The hotel was recently refurbished and although our room was rather small, it is functional, cosy and furbished with taste and quality material. The main patio is also beautiful and the artificial lawn surprisingly very natural and classy. Service was great and family friendly. The complimentary Provence olive-based shower gel big bottle will be the last drop of bliss you will take away from your stay. Overall more than a 3* for a very good value for money, we will definetely stay here for our next trip to Cannes if any.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phil647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerryJuliedub, Propriétaire at Hotel de Provence, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013
Google Translation

Cher Phil ,

Nous vous remercions pour votre top commentaire mis sur trip Advisor ,

Nous sommes émus par toutes vos paroles ,
nous avons déjà hate de vous accueillir lors de votre prochain passage a cannes ,
car vous serez toujours les bienvenus chez nous ,
nous vous remercions également pour votre super recommandation ,
amicalement ,
Jerry et julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (830)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 830 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2013

Spent four nights in April in a twin room with balcony on the fourth floor. First impressions of room were that it was small, however very comfortable beds, loads of hanging space and drawers, T V on wall, nice basin and adjacent shower with tons of hot water. However slight hiccup with water one morning whilst my son was in the shower. Problem lasted maybe 15 minutes with no water! Shower gel/hairwash provided just fabulous, available to buy on checkout. Lobby and public areas very pretty in the now trendy provencal style shabby chic.
breakfast served wherever you want...in the garden , by the bar, or in your room. Breakfast is simple, coffee, orange juice, fruite compote,bread roll and mini croissants, jams, nutella etc.
Lift fits two people with small trolleys. Location is good, just round the corner from the shopping streets and 5 miutes to the Croisette by the Ritz Carlton. Lots of resturants to choose from nearby. Cannes was very quiet around the 25 th April and at night not a lot of people around. Everyone on the front desk was polite, helpful and corteous as were the staff attending to rooms. I like off season travelling and would stay there again when in Cannes.
Just a note, we did try to put the airconditioner on (27C outside) but in April it only functions as a heater. It was a little stuffy that day.

Room Tip: If you are travelling out of the "Cannes" high season get in touch with the hotel for rate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mila08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerryJuliedub, Propriétaire at Hotel de Provence, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013
Google Translation

Chére Mila ,

Nous vous remercions pour votre magnifique commentaire mis sur Trip Advisor ,
nous sommes ravis et émus par votre si sympathique commentaire ,
En effet c est soit chauffage soit climatisation pour tout l hotel et dés le 1er mai nous passons à la clim ,
nous vous remercions également pour vos belles recommandations ,
cordialement et amicalement ,
Jerry et julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We booked because of the good reviews on tripadvisor--and we were really pleased we did---this should be rated as a 4 star as everything about it is superior to a lot of 4 star hotels we've stayed in .The location is perfect one block from the Croisette and close to everything --the shops --the sea --the Rue D'Antibes--walking distance of the train station and the frequent buses to everywhere along the coast.
The room we had was at the front of the hotel with a balcony which was great for enjoying an al fresco lunch--the hotel provided us with plates and cutlery--so we were able to shop in one of the many great delis ---and to make it even better the Hotel has a bar and we could enjoy one of their own wines --from the family vineyard.
Some very nice touches --fresh flowers --lovely big beds-monsoon showers---and the staff were both friendly and efficient .
Will definitely stay here again and certainly recommend to other visitors to Cannes.
P.S. They also have a lovely garden to sit in for breakfast or an early evening drink-what more could you wish for.

Room Tip: choose a room on the front of the hotel for sunshine all day--either a balcony or terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank confused026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerryJuliedub, Propriétaire at Hotel de Provence, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013
Google Translation

Chers clients ,

Nous vous remercions pour votre top commentaire mis sur Trip advisor ,
nous sommes ravis et émus que tout vous ait plu ,
c est que nous avons réussi notre mission !!!
nous vous remercions également pour vos recommandations ,
Un Grand Merci et au plaisir de vous accueillir encore encore et encore ,
amicalement ,
Jerry et Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We emailed saying we would be there early, by lunch. Our room was ready when we arrived and because of the early hour they let us park the car in there one chech in space while we had lunch. Helped us with directions and trains, and no problem with English.
Room is small and so is the elevator, but we fit and had what we needed for our stay. Wine and cheese on the small balcony was nice. They would even bring breakfast to your room to eat on the balcony.

Room Tip: Five rooms per floor. Number 2,3,and 4 face the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobReno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerryJuliedub, Propriétaire at Hotel de Provence, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Dear Guest,

We really thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.

We were very pleased to welcome you and that is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel de Provence, and more especially our nice renovation in a nice location ,

We hope we will get the chance to welcome you for your future stay on the French Riviera.
Because you are always welcome in our hotel !

Best regards,
Julie and Jerry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Lovely hotel, with great service. Drinks in the mini bar are free, our room was upgraded. Staff couldn't be more helpful.

I would certainly recommend staying here. It has been newly refurbished, it's in the center of town.

Overall, great.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OJW_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerryJuliedub, Propriétaire at Hotel de Provence, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2013
Google Translation

Cher monsieur ,

Nous vous remercions pour votre charmant commentaire laissé sur Trip advisor ,
Nous sommes ravis que tout vous ait plu ,
nous avons déjà hate de vous accueillir prochainement
car vous étes et serez toujours le bienvenu à l hotel de provence ,
cordialement ,
Julie et Jerry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

I've just returned from a three night stay from Friday to Monday in a garden facing room at this lovely hotel. It was my third stay at this unequalled beautiful little hotel situated in the most convenient part of Cannes. It was my birthday weekend and the only place I wanted to spend it was Hotel de Provence! This time, I was taking a slight risk in going there with my husband, as he travels the world widely and can be very fussy so I usually reserve this special time and place to spend it with a friend instead. However, my husband was delighted by the ambience, staff and sheer calm which is exuded from this beautiful 30 room hotel. All the staff make it their mission to have happy guests and the little touches, which make it so very special, cry out from every corner and I have absolutely no hesitation in highly recommending it to all.

For those of you who are unfamiliar with this particular part of France, Cannes is unprecedented for shopping! It caters for all budgets, (not only designer shops) but High Street stores as well and the local market can be an amazing treasure trove too. The hotel is surrounded by a wealth of restaurants, shops, the seafront and beautiful harbour, All accessed within minutes on foot, so cars are not necessary. On this occasion, I wanted to visit Monaco, which was easily accomplished by a 10 minute walk to the train station where we took a direct train in just over an hour. It was all very straight forward.

I honestly cannot recommend anywhere else I would want to stay in Cannes so much so that I would rather change my dates than my accommodation. I have already booked to return later in the year (and might just squeeze in another little escape if I'm lucky!) Book it, enjoy it, I promise you won't regret it!

Room Tip: I always choose a front facing garden room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank crumblina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerryJuliedub, Propriétaire at Hotel de Provence, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2013

Dear Lindsey ,



We really thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.

We were very pleased to welcome you and that is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel de Provence, and more especially our nice renovation in a nice location ,

We hope we will get the chance to welcome you for your future stay on the French Riviera.
Because you are always welcome in our hotel !

Best regards,
Julie and Jerry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

It was time we returned to Cannes to spend a few days with our daughter...as if we needed an excuse. She recommended this hotel, having passed it on a few occasions whilst out jogging. We checked it online and booked it. How could we have possibly guessed how fortunate we would be in her choice?
This is the sort of small hotel that’s such a rare phenomenon these days, a small family run hotel where each guest (I know it’s a bit of cliche) is treated as though a popular member of the family.
The owner couple resemble the archetypal 'beau monde' and when he is on duty, he makes a point of engaging in conversation as many of the guests as possible. All very pleasant.
Set back from the road, the hotel is approached through the ‘designer’ garden beneath towering palm trees. White stones are a feature either side of the path, then whicker table and chairs beckon from a dais that backs onto the wall. Then more whicker furniture beneath parasols overlooked by a lemon tree, an area that becomes part of the bar/breakfast area when the doors are open in warmer weather.
Inside, the reception area metamorphoses seamlessly into the bar and lounging area. The hotel is on six floors and we were on the sixth. The room impressed us with its refined simplicity and its deference to energy saving opportunities...for example, the air-conditioning automatically switched off when the windows were opened. I had asked for a quiet room and so it was. The bed was firm and soooo comfortable, hence the good night’s sleep. The stylish bathroom looked as though it had never been used each time we returned!
On the first morning, I went out early to find a coffee but it was raining and there was nowhere open at 7.30. So I returned to the hotel for an espresso in the comfortable lounging area. Whilst awaiting my wife, I enjoyed myself with my coffee and my iPad, taking advantage of the free wi-fi.
Breakfast was all we could have wished. All we wanted was orange juice, the pot of apple puree, croissant, bread roles and tea. Simple but oh so good.
And so agreeably we enjoyed our three days here. On our final evening, while awaiting our daughter before going out for supper, we ordered a couple of glasses of the hotelier’s family wine produced by the family vineyard behind St Maxime. Very pleasant it was too...and my daughter’s glass was on the house! Guests who wish to visit the vineyard have only to alert the hotel and a warm welcome will be assured.
The owner was on duty when we checked out on the Sunday and whilst waiting for the lift to the airport, he gave my wife a truffle oil spray for salads; a simple but urbane and very much appreciated little gift.
I could waffle on indefinitely about Hotel de Provence, so suffice to say simply that we loved it...still do, and will return.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerryJuliedub, Propriétaire at Hotel de Provence, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2013

Dear Mike ,

Thanks you so much for your wonderfull review ,
it is a very nice present for us !!!
We are very happy to meet you
we hope to see you again ,
thanks you very much
best regards
Jerry and Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cannes hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes
0.3 mi away
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
#3 of 126 in Cannes
582 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Bastide De L'Oliveraie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Carlton Cannes
0.2 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu 1835 Hotel & Thalasso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Provence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Provence

Address: 9 rue Moliere, 06400 Cannes, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Price Range: $96 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de Provence 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel de Provence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing