We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Placed in overflow apartment instead of hotel”
Review of Hotel de Provence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel de Provence
Ranked #1 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Brooklyn, New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Placed in overflow apartment instead of hotel”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We were so happy to arrive in Cannes after a long drive from Geneva. As we walked up to and into the hotel, we were very pleased, HOWEVER, for some reason, they put us in an apartment building around the corner from the actual hotel. It was grim, tired, and the bed was a Murphy bed that when folded out of the wall took up most of the room. Everything was tiled white, so the room felt like one big bathroom. My husband walked back over to the front desk to complain and the extremely unhelpful woman at the desk (who had sent us to the apartment without the exact room number, just "room at the end of the hallway", which included more than one) said we had requested this room so we had no choice but to stay there. This just wasn't true. We didn't put up a fight because we were so exhausted, but the next day we walked back over to the hotel and told them we were checking out early and would not pay. A different, far more amiable lady was at the desk and she apologized and explained that they had overbooked and our room had been given away to someone else. She offered us a room in the hotel for the next night, but we were already prepared to leave. She refunded us the next night's stay and we left. We were never given a refund for the night we stayed, which would have been nice. SO, our advice to travelers is to be sure you get a room in the actual hotel, which looked very nice. If they try to send you around the corner to the depressing apartment building, you must refuse! This was our delayed honeymoon, so it was quite a disappointment for us.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a room in the actual hotel, not the apartment building around the corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Island_Hopper_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duburcq, Propriétaire at Hotel de Provence, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Mr,

Thank you so much for your review,
we are very sorry because you didn t like your room ,
when you booked ,you booked the studio 70m,
on your confirmation, it was written the studio would be at 70 m of our hotel ,
you wanted a kitchen that's why you took the studio,
We proposed to change your studio for a room and you wasn't happy because in the hotel rooms did not get any kitchen that's why you prefered to leave the hotel ,
we were very kind with you because we accepted to cancell your reservation and we gave back your deposit !!!
Nevertheless, we hope to see you again ..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

795 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    620
    145
    20
    5
    5
See reviews for
121
364
56
112
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

I guess everything has already been said in other reviews but I would like to add that what makes this a really great hotel is the attention to detail and the great staff. Beach towels are provided on request, breakfast is excellent, help with restaurant recommendations and bookings are happily provided. Everyone one of the team in the hotel make you feel welcome and among family, we will definitely be back!

Room Tip: A room with a garden view at the front is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerryJuliedub, Propriétaire at Hotel de Provence, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Google Translation
Cher Paul ,

Nous vous remercions pour votre charmant commentaire mis sur Trip Advisor ,
nous recevons tous nos clients et nous mettons tout en oeuvre pour que vous vous sentiez comme chez vous ,
nous avons hate de vous accueillir encore encore et encore ,
amicalement ,
Jerry et Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Bayern, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

we loved Hotel de Provence during our stay in Cannes. it was a perfect choice for traveling on a budget, for it was quite luxurious for 3-star hotel, and just a couple blocks from La Croissett and right on the main shopping street! a bit of a walk to old city, and tough to find parking that does not cost, but all in all, we adored it!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kandyce G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerryJuliedub, Propriétaire at Hotel de Provence, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Google Translation
Chére Kandice ,

Nous vous remercions pour votre beau commentaire déposé sur Trip Advisor ,
nous sommes ravis d avoir pleinement répondu à vos attentes , tant sur l emplacement que sur la qualité d accueil de notre personnel ,
nous espérons vous accueillir prochainement ,
cordialement ,
Julie et Jerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Hills, California
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We recently stayed at the Hotel de Provence with our two teenage daughters. A newly renovated and clean hotel. Great location and the friendly staff can not do enough to help make your stay comfortable. We hope to return some day and will recommend this charming hotel to our friends. By the way, the cappuccinos are the best I have ever had!!! Thanks Jerry and staff for a great stay!!

Room Tip: I heard the top floor has a nice suite for four persons with a outdoor shower with sea view. Would h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gator544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerryJuliedub, Propriétaire at Hotel de Provence, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Google Translation
Chére madame ,

Nous vous remercions pour votre top commentaire mis sur Trip Advisor ,
nous vous remercions également pour vos tops recommandation ,
nous sommes ravis que tout vous ait plu et encore plus le capuccino ,
nous espérons vous revoir prochainement
car vous serez toujours les bienvenus ,
cordialement ,
Jerry et Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, CT
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed in Cannes in June 2012 and were so impressed with the owners who went our of their way to make us happy. The Hotel is perfect for our family. We had two connecting rooms and small terrace with a table a chairs for our lunch. They even gave us a knife and plates for our peaches, butter for our baguettes and the room has a refrigerator. On route to the beach, which is one block away, we were given large beach towels. We were centrally located to many restaurants and shops. The beds were comfortable and the place is quiet. The would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arc37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerryJuliedub, Propriétaire at Hotel de Provence, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Alban ,

We really thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.

We were very pleased to welcome you and that is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel de Provence, and more especially our nice renovation in a nice location ,

We hope we will get the chance to welcome you for your future stay on the French Riviera.
Because you are always welcome in our hotel !

Best regards,
Jerry and Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Just arrived from this nice place. Everything was perfect. The hotel is very close to the beaches and very close to the restaurants and shops. Would definitively come back again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ekaterina I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerryJuliedub, Propriétaire at Hotel de Provence, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Google Translation
Chére Katerina ,

Nous vous remercions pour votre charmant commentaire ,
nous éspérons aussi vous revoir prochainement ,
car vous serez toujours la bienvenue chez nous ,
cordialement ,
Jerry et Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel regularly for the last eight years and are delighted to say it just gets better.Firstly, the location is superb, minutes from the Croisette, beaches and good restaurants. The area is clean and very safe, even late at night! The rooms are delightful, small but impeccable and are airy and comfortable after a hard day at the beach. Juliet and Jerry, the directors, give you a warm and sincere welcome, nothing is too much trouble. This attitude is displayed by all the staff, who are friendly and "serviable"...... no French aloofness, or whatever people usually complain about! We regard this hotel as our pied-á-terre in Provence! For those of you out there familiar with Baudelaire, "luxe, calme et volupté" is a good phrase to sum up the appeal of this hotel. Enjoy it and take full advantage of its superb position in Cannes.

Room Tip: Try for a first floor room with terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Beryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerryJuliedub, Propriétaire at Hotel de Provence, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Google Translation
Chére Beryl ,

Nous vous remercions pour votre top commentaire mis sur Trip Advisor ,
en effet nous avons essayé de faire un hotel luxueux mais sans prétentions ,
nous voulons surtout etre simple et chaleureux ,
Nous vous remercions aussi pour vos excellentes recommandations ,
nous espérons vous revoir trés prochainement car vous serez toujours les bienvenus chez nous ,
amicalement ,
Jerry et Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cannes hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion
0.5 mi away
Hotel  Le Cavendish
Hotel Le Cavendish
#2 of 126 in Cannes
781 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
#3 of 126 in Cannes
520 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Suites Cannes Centre
0.0 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#7 of 126 in Cannes
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Provence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Provence

Property: Hotel de Provence
Address: 9 rue Moliere, 06400 Cannes, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de Provence 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel de Provence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing