We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Le Canberra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Le Canberra
Ranked #7 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Certificate of Excellence
Albenga, Italy
Level Contributor
198 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2009

We stayed at the Canberra Hotel for just one night. The hotel is centrally located, on the Rue d'Antibes, the main shopping street of Cannes. On the back of the hotel you will find a little garden with a small charming pool. The hotel is very new and the design is modern and classy. The room was a bit small but everything was well appoinyed. The receptionist told us the hotel had reopened some months earlier after an extensive renovation....Unfortunately the furniture were already marked in some parts. I guess they will have to spend a lot of money to maintain them! For the moment, in any case, if you can get a good deal as we did, it one of the most interesting hotels in Cannes.
If you need a modern place, perfectly comfortable and near everything, this is the place to book!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank luxuryhotelsdreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    226
    48
    16
    4
See reviews for
110
325
27
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2008

This hotel is great. It is centrally located on Rue d'Antibes which is the main shopping street and is about 2 minutes walk from the sea.

The rooms were modern and very comfortable. The room had a plasma TV, a balcony overlooking the small swimming pool and a very luxurious bathroom.

The people at the reception desk were very friendly and helpful.

As it was November we did not take advantage of the swimming pool but there is a fairly small pool at the back of the hotel surrounded by a beautiful wooden terrace - we can see how great it would be to have drinks on a summer evening there.

All in all, a fabulous boutique hotel!

  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FH_BLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2008

I booked this hotel as a surprise trip for my boyfriend's 40th birthday after reading the reviews here on Tripadvisor. Neither of us had visited Cannes before and I wanted something a bit different and exclusive. We were not disappointed. The hotel was beautifully presented with a gorgeous bar, modern room and glamourous black bathroom. We arrived early (11am) and checked into our room with no problem. The pool and garden were a welcome bonus as many hotels I had looked at did not have this facility. The hotel is centrally situated on the Rue d'Antibes with its huge array of shops and cafes along the many side streets branching off it. It is about a 5 minute walk to the beach but with so much to see on the way it often took us a bit longer after we'd stopped off to buy some pastries and grab a coffee. My boyfriend is very fussy about the hotels we stay in so I knew I had to do something special for this landmark birthday - he agreed he could not have chosen a better place himself!

  • Liked — Cool & modern design, location
  • Disliked — Nothing at all!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaVW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2008

I recommend this hotel unreservedly.
Recently redecorated and renovated it is a very nicely presented hotel. The room was generous in size and most comfortable and the bathroom very well appointed. The hotel breakfast was typical european continental and served with a touch of class in the lovely dining room. The hotel has a lovely (small) green area which adds to the ambience of the dining area. In an expensive destination such as Cannes this hotel is value for money in a very handy location. Parking in the nearby public carpark. You will not be dissapointed.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank GR1NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2008

Before I went to Cannes, I had read much review at tripadvisor.com and finally booked the Canberra.

This hotel is located almost at the end of Antibes, which is the main commercai streat. Its postion is ok but not next to the beach. This is small supermarket nearby, where you can buy the water and fruits.

Prons:
1) Everything is new.
2) Quiet
3) Free WiFi

Cons:
1) Too Expensive!!!
2) Small room
3) Small bed

If you do not pay much attention to its high price, it could be your choice for your trip.

  • Liked — WiFi
  • Disliked — price
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tiddybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2008

My boyfriend and I were looking for somewhere nice to stay while in Cannes and did a lot of research to find somewhere suitable. We saw the hotel advertised on lastminute.com and after having a look through some reviews, we decided to give it a go.

We stayed 3 nights in a street facing room that was comfortable, clean and reasonably quiet. Not the largest of rooms we've stayed in, but well equipped with all the mod cons. The hotel refurb has given the place a modern, stylish look and the location is fabulous for the price. It is only one block back from the Croisette and backs directly onto Rue d'Antibes where all of the stores are located.

The pool is small though good enough for a cool down on a hot day. Food and drinks are standard hotel prices, but you'd get better value going to one of the local restaurants.

All up, a great hotel and well worth recommending for couples.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LondonMandM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
megeve
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2008

Stayed here some years ago and it was always pretty good, and now the re-fit has taken place it's even better!
They have lost some parking space to build the pool etc which is a shame as it was one of the few hotels in Cannes to have proper on-site parking. But the pool is a bonus! The downside of the re-fit is the prices have predictably shot up and we reckon they are alittle on the high side now; probably about 20% too high for what the hotel is able to offer.
Try to get a room with a garden facing balcony, it's worth the extra. And go to Rue Hoche area for breakfast, it's better, cheaper, and more fun!
Good hotel overall.

  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank julesmcray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cannes hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes
0.4 mi away
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
#2 of 126 in Cannes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel de Provence
Hotel de Provence
#1 of 126 in Cannes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu 1835 Hotel & Thalasso
0.5 mi away
Hotel  Le Cavendish
Hotel Le Cavendish
#3 of 126 in Cannes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Canberra

Property: Hotel Le Canberra
Address: 120 rue d Antibes, 06400 Cannes, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cannes
#16 Romantic Hotel in Cannes
#19 Family Hotel in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Canberra 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming 4 star Boutique Hotel, the Hotel Le Canberra offers a highly elegant environment. Unrivaled in their refinement, the rooms and suites overlook the prestigious rue d'Antibes or the garden with swimming pool. This very glamorous and resolutely modern decor was inspired by the style of the 1950s. The 'classic chic' style of decoration joins forces with the superior comfort of the accommodation. Share a few moments of relaxation in the Le Cafe Blanc lounge bar and restaurant (opened from April to October). On the patio or terrace, you'll find the very same on trend and glamorous atmosphere. Then, you can head to the hotel garden and the swimming pool surrounded by bamboo and bougainvillea, or else the gym to keep yourself in shape, before finishing off with a session in the sauna. Quiet and ideally located, the hotel offers top-of-the-range services for an incomparable stay. Close to the hotel, you'll find the famous Croisette, the prestigious rue d'Antibes and its luxury shops, the Palais des Festivals, the TGV train station and sandy beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Fastbooking, Travelocity, Hotwire, ACCOR, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Le Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Canberra Hotel
Le Canberra Cannes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing