We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel ideal location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Le Canberra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Le Canberra
Ranked #7 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great hotel ideal location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

The hotel looks elegant and typically French from the outside, however, the inside is very designer boutique. The rooms are large clean and very nicely decorated, particularly the bathrooms, on arrival as it was my birthday we were greeted with a bottle of champagne which made a great start to the holiday.

The location although not sea front is but a minutes’ walk away from all of the attractions including the train station which can take you to Monaco etc. quite cheaply

In conclusion I would recommend this hotel

Room Tip: pre arranged airport transfer cost 100 euro, if possible take the train, Garden/pool view rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JackieBI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    224
    46
    16
    4
See reviews for
107
319
25
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
130 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

Just back from this Cool and Chic modern hotel in Classy Cannes.Hotel entrance on Rue d Antibes which happens to be a shoppers heaven Paul and Shark,Ralph Lauren Etc...Front desk check in very friendly with maps and local information on resturants etc.Rooms large and to very high standard with very comfy beds and the most Wow bathrooms...Pool nice and heated (28 degrees)and decking area very plesent for chilling\sunbathing.Beach is a short 5 min walk so location is perfect...Will defo return to this gem of a hotel ....Enjoy

Room Tip: Back rooms over look pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IRISHYIDDO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

In a business trip, I chose this hotel, and I found it snobbish. The reception staff were formally kind, but somewhat cold. As a matter of fact, in the whole hotel a cold atmosphere was evident. It is a pity, because the hotel location is excellent.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TasteandTravel_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

I love this boutique hotel. It´s situated in the center of Cannes on Rue 'antibes (shopping street). Just a few steps away from the Palais des festival.
Rooms are a good size and beautifully decorated in clean modern way.
Staff is very friendly and helpful.Most of the speak some english. The hotel has nice small sun deck and a heated pool 28C. There is also nice lounge area for relaxing and having drinks. Breakfast is 21 Euro which is quite much but than Cannes is quite an expensive city and if fell like having a full breakfast. It's a good choice I think.
If you are into great boutique hotel I really think you should try this one when in Cannes.

Room Tip: Rooms are more quiet when facing the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marge4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

First of all a very friendly staff, super helpful with my kids; excellent location at short walking distance from the center of the beach and waterfront, right in the shopping rue d'Antibes and a 5 minutes walk from restaurants on port and Suquet. ...... ............... .......... .......... .......... ........... ........... ....... .......... ."......... ........

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank JWGP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Outstanding place and very glamorous. It looked the part on the official website and it didn't disappoint. So many hotels in this part of France - even the high-end ones - have a dated look, but this was an ultra-modern, boutique place in the middle of Cannes.
It is located on the central shopping street, Rue d'Antibes (via a doorway that is easy to miss, as we did), less than 10 minutes walk from the train station and about 3-4 minutes walk to the main Croisette beach.
We arrived at the side entrance, which leads you in past a swimming pool with loungers on a terrace, plus chairs and tables, all surrounded by a screen of bamboo plants. It achieved the feel of a secluded, hidden garden in the centre of the town, with palm trees overhead.
We were warmly welcomed at reception and our room was small but stylish, with a little balcony overlooking Rue d'Antibes. The bathroom was extremely glamorous, with funky lighting, a great power-shower and a sink that I would have been tempted to pinch if it hadn't been firmly attached!!
Back downstairs, there is a fitness centre and spa area in the basement and although we didn't use it, we had a quick look and it seemed very plush, in keeping with the rest of the place. The glamour theme was enhanced over breakfast as a host of Hollywood types were buzzing around the terrace, while a famous actress was being photgraphed and interviewed by the pool. In the circumstances, the price of around EU130 per night B&B for two people was decent value.
One TINY negative point - but an isolated, bizarre one - was the mocking laugh from the breakfast staff when this English-speaker answered their question about room number in French. Poking fun at a foreigner trying to speak the language (without the benefit of a perfect accent) is not a great way to achieve customer satisfaction, but it was out of keeping with the overall experience and doesn't stop me giving this place top marks.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CFoy76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

Really lovely friendly, well designed, contemporary hotel in a great location on the main shopping street in Cannes. 5-10 minutes walk from the train station and you get to walk past some of the shops on the way so it's a nice walk too!

The rooms are spotless and the black bathroom is very funky with the bright pink lighting. Our hotel room was a little on the small side but it was perfectly formed. It feels like a 4 star hotel which I think is important as I have stayed in 4 stars that do not deserve that rating.

There is a lovely bar and lounge area and restaurant/breakfast area. There is also a lovely terrace outside with a pool. It was too early in the year and not quite warm enough to use it though.

The fitness area in the basement is adequate and modern with 2 treadmills, 2 exercise bikes and 2 cross trainers (step). There is also a sauna which I didn't use but it looked good. There are towels and showers available for use on the ground floor too which I thought was a great facility.

The staff are very friendly, a little slow on service at times but somehow it seemed to go well with the laid back feel of the place so it's not really a complaint.

The only complaint I do have is the price of the breakfast buffet. At 21 Euro a head, it's a bit on the steep side and it is self serve too. That said, it was a good spread. Prices for food and drink in Cannes is on the expensive side in general so get used to that! The prices in the mini bar are high too, expect to pay 5 Euro for a small bottle of water.

All in all though, a fantastic place to stay and more reasonable on the room rates than many hotels of a similar looking standard (from my research). I would definitely recommend this little gem to others.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eeebyeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cannes hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes
0.3 mi away
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
#2 of 126 in Cannes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu 1835 Hotel & Thalasso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion
0.0 mi away
Hotel de Provence
Hotel de Provence
#1 of 126 in Cannes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Carlton Cannes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Canberra

Property: Hotel Le Canberra
Address: 120 rue d Antibes, 06400 Cannes, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cannes
#16 Romantic Hotel in Cannes
#19 Family Hotel in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Canberra 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming 4 star Boutique Hotel, the Hotel Le Canberra offers a highly elegant environment. Unrivaled in their refinement, the rooms and suites overlook the prestigious rue d'Antibes or the garden with swimming pool. This very glamorous and resolutely modern decor was inspired by the style of the 1950s. The 'classic chic' style of decoration joins forces with the superior comfort of the accommodation. Share a few moments of relaxation in the Le Cafe Blanc lounge bar and restaurant (opened from April to October). On the patio or terrace, you'll find the very same on trend and glamorous atmosphere. Then, you can head to the hotel garden and the swimming pool surrounded by bamboo and bougainvillea, or else the gym to keep yourself in shape, before finishing off with a session in the sauna. Quiet and ideally located, the hotel offers top-of-the-range services for an incomparable stay. Close to the hotel, you'll find the famous Croisette, the prestigious rue d'Antibes and its luxury shops, the Palais des Festivals, the TGV train station and sandy beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Fastbooking, ACCOR, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Le Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Canberra Hotel
Le Canberra Cannes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing