We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant stay”
Review of Hotel Le Canberra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Le Canberra
Ranked #10 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 14, 2012

The hotel is very nice and reasonable price, pool is not so big but there's few hotel here has pool.
Room very clean, bed and bath room perfect, not as noisy as some comments mentioned.
Easy connection to all Cannes by walk, with friendly receptions, I made the right choice!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank Lynette0708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (676)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 676 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2012

Overall, we had an excellent stay at Hotel Canberra.

The location is amazing. Great boutique hotel!

The staff are very friendly and helpful. They will try to accommodate your requests if possible! If you are interested in renting chairs at one of the beach clubs, ask at the front desk. They will make a reservation for you and get you a better price!

We stayed in a suite. It was perfect for us because we were traveling with our daughter. She slept in a toddler bed in the living room area which was separate from the bedroom. Room is tastefully decorated but poorly laid out in terms of the location of the toilet!

My only complaint was that the 'restaurant' was always out of food. I use the word restaurant but it is more just for snacks and tapas...if they have any food.

I think this hotel could increase their 'nightlife' appeal more. The lounge area is very trendy an would be fun to hang out in if it were busier.

We would definitely return again if in Cannes.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarbek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Stayed in a junior suite in this hotel in early July. Staff were very friendly and accommodating. Three of us staying in junior suite so sofa bed and double bed but with doors in between so felt like two separate bedrooms, including separate flatscreen tvs. Room was modern with art deco styling. One negative would be the noise at night outside from the street but I have experienced the same in other hotels in the area.

Although located on the main shopping street it was realatively easy to drop off point for bags at the back of the hotel which has a lovely small pool and deck area. Very close to beach. Public underground car park less than 40 metres from hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank raymayDublinIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Just left Cannes from our 3 night stay at the Hotel Canberra and we were very pleased overall. Great location, nice amenities etc. We had a privilege room overlooking the beautiful pool and it had a large terrace that was perfect for sipping our wine and soaking up the atmosphere. Loved it!
This is not a grand 5 star hotel like Martinez or the Carleton, however you are also not paying that kind of price tag. So if you are looking for that kind of prestige, then don't stay here.
What this hotel offers is boutique style comfort with modern decor and lots of cool little touches (speakers in bathroom, yummy turndown treats, automated black out shutters). No pretentious attitude, just friendly service.

Room Tip: Our room was only one of 3 with a large terrace overlooking the pool, _room 103. Ask for a room on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

So I'll start off by saying that this is one of the coolest hotels I've ever stayed in and would LOVE the chance to stay again. It's decor is gorgeous, evoking 1950's Hollywood. The location was fabulous and the room was great (we booked a "privilege" room, which comes with a view of the pool and faces the sea) . In my review I'll try my best to point out all the things I loved and the things that could be improved upon at this hotel.

Things I loved:
-STYLE: Hands down, the style and functionality of the room and hotel was top-notch. We walked into all the high-end hotels in Cannes (the Carlton, the Martinez) and while they have grand foyers, they feel much more dated. This hotel feels modern and is very updated.
-LOCATION: Hotel le Canberra is perfectly located. It sits on Rue d'Antibes, a fabulous shopping street. It is about a 5 minute walk to the sea and an 8 minute walk to the train station. Basically everything we wanted was within a 10 minute walk. We never took a cab while in Cannes.
-ROOM: The "privilege" room was large. As you can see from my photos, we had a foyer with three different doors off of it: the first was the toilet (but no sink - weird); the second was the bathroom; the third was the bedroom, complete with a sitting area. The bathroom had a single sink and a combination shower/tub with one of those shower doors that only covers half the tub (I don't get Europe's fascination with these half doors!). It also had speakers so you could listen to the TV while in the bathroom. The bed was incredibly comfortable and the windows had blackout curtains.
-NOISE LEVEL: Because the bed was separated from the hallway from two doors, we never heard a peep. This was easily the quietest room I've ever stayed in.
-INTERNET: The hotel provides free wi-fi with good signal strength.
-AMENITIES: The pool is beautiful and is on the sea-side of the hotel. The have a number of mattresses/umbrellas (probably 10 or so) and provide towels. From my research, it appears that very few hotels in Cannes have their own pools, so this is a major plus. In the basement, the hotel has a small gym, mostly with cardio equipment, and a sauna.

Things to work on:
-INTERNET: While the hotel provides free wi-fi with good signal strength, it times out every 15 minutes and you have to re-login. Should be fairly easy for them to change this to a 24-hour pass. Also, only one device can use the login information they provide at at time, so my husband and I had to take turns using the internet on our iPhones. Like I said, this is an easy fix for the hotel, and one I recommend they look into.
-TOILET: I thought it was quite strange for the toilet in our room not to have a sink. Not a reason not to stay there by any means, but an odd design, nonetheless.
-ELECTRICAL OUTLETS: I am perpetually perplexed by the lack of electrical outlets in European bathrooms. Where do they expect women to dry/curl their hair? There was an outlet in the bedroom next to the floor length mirror, so again, not a big deal.

Tips:
-Book a room that faces the pool.

All in all, this hotel is top notch and you should absolutely put it at the top of your list. I really hope to return someday!

Room Tip: Choose a room that faces the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kylin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

We stayed at Le Canberra for two nights in the first week of June. It's a beautiful hotel, in the main shopping street. You can walk to the beach in less that two minutes. There are plenty of bars and restaurants around the corner. The location is top.

Loved the interior of the room. Ours faced the garden, it was a haven of peace and quiet.
Great design in the bathroom as well. Loved the heated mirror, no fog from the shower steam!

Very good bed as well. It's a great shame that we were woken up by a fire alarm at 3am. Everyone had to evacuate, which ruined that night for us. We did get a good nights sleep the next day.

Too bad the hotels restaurant doesn't provide a proper dinner service anymore (only snacks and some tapas). We had heard some good things about their menu.

What really makes this hotel stand out, is its fabulous service. The people at the reception desk will bend over backwards to help you out with anything you might need: restaurant reservation (great recommendations!), info about rental cars, etc.

I really recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank incrociate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night on a family holiday with our 9 and 11 year old daughters. girls slept very comfortably on the fold out sofa. My husband and I had an absolutely luxurious bed set into the corner balcony of the hotel. Bathrooms were spectacular... you could play in there forever... even had the radio piped in and a pink lit bathtub. The children enjoyed some English speaking tv for a break. Great location near restaurants, shops and the beach. Very helpful staff (we had booked that day and received a room at a significant discount but regardless the staff treated us like vip guests). Secure parking located close by. excellent free wifi in the rooms.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank superstidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cannes hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes
0.4 mi away
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
#3 of 126 in Cannes
582 reviews
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Carlton Cannes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu 1835 Hotel & Thalasso
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott Cannes
JW Marriott Cannes
#13 of 126 in Cannes
934 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Canberra

Address: 120 rue d Antibes, 06400 Cannes, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cannes
#16 Romantic Hotel in Cannes
#16 Family Hotel in Cannes
Price Range: $111 - $433 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Canberra 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming 4 star Boutique Hotel, the Hotel Le Canberra offers a highly elegant environment. Unrivaled in their refinement, the rooms and suites overlook the prestigious rue d'Antibes or the garden with swimming pool. This very glamorous and resolutely modern decor was inspired by the style of the 1950s. The 'classic chic' style of decoration joins forces with the superior comfort of the accommodation. Share a few moments of relaxation in the Le Cafe Blanc lounge bar and restaurant (opened from April to October). On the patio or terrace, you'll find the very same on trend and glamorous atmosphere. Then, you can head to the hotel garden and the swimming pool surrounded by bamboo and bougainvillea, or else the gym to keep yourself in shape, before finishing off with a session in the sauna. Quiet and ideally located, the hotel offers top-of-the-range services for an incomparable stay. Close to the hotel, you'll find the famous Croisette, the prestigious rue d'Antibes and its luxury shops, the Palais des Festivals, the TGV train station and sandy beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Fastbooking, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Le Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Canberra Hotel
Le Canberra Cannes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing